To the courageous spirit of "The Original Seven" and the other pioneers who established Masonic principles in the Rocky Mountain area, this voLume is gratefully dedicated.
LEON H. SNYDER
Grand Master 1961
My Dear Brethren:
This is a history of the first one hundred years of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons of Colorado. It has been dedicated to the sincere and faithful pioneer Masons so influential in bringing law and order to the gold mining camps of the Rockies based upon the principles of truth and justice practiced at the altars of Freemasonry. Let us also pay honor to all the good men and true who saw the light of Masonry through these one hundred years, faithfully following the course charted by our pioneer Masonic leaders.
We pay special tribute to George B. Clark, who, as our Grand Lodge Historian and diligent student of our Colorado Masonic Heritage, has preserved the records and much of the source material on which this narrative is based. We also extend our grateful appreciation for the dedicated, faithful and untiring efforts of the Centennial Committee in the preparation of this history.
We are proud of the great record made by our Brothers since the founding of the Grand Lodge, proud of their courage and strength of character, their devotion to the cause of Freemasonry, synonymous with liberty, justice and freedom.
May we and our successors, who follow in their footsteps, be worthy heirs to a great tradition, our Masonic Heritage.
Leon H. Snyder
Grand Lodge Officers
Centennial Year 1961
OFFICERS OF THE MOST WORSHIPFUL GRAND LODGE OF ANCIENT FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS OF COLORADO 1961
LEON H. SNYDEH, EI Paso No. 13, Colorado Springs - Grand Master
ELLIS LATIMER, Mount Lamborn No. 102, Hotchkiss - Deputy Grand Master
CLARENCE L. BARTHOLIC, Highlands No. 86, Denver - Senior Grand Warden
CHARLES L. THOMSON, Salida No .57, Salida - Junior Grand Warden
THOMAS F. VARDIE, Palestine No. 151, Denver - Grand Treasurer
HARRY W. BUNDY, Denver No. 5, Denver - Grand Secretary
ALBERT E. JAMESON, La Veta No. 59, La Veta - Grand Lecturer
JOHN H. WESCH, Cortez No. 133, Cortez - Senior Grand Deacon
JEAN S. BREITENSTEIN, Columbia No. 14, Boulder - Grand Orator
IRVING M. CANNON, Occidental No. 20, Greeley - Grand Marshal
CHARLES T. GORE, Paul Revere No. 162, Denver - Junior Grand Deacon
STEWART A. SHAFER, Denver No.5, Denver - Senior Grand Steward
WILLIAM L. GOBIN, St. Johns No. 75, Rocky Ford - Junior Grand Steward
ERIC SMITH, Paonia No. 121, Paonia - Grand Chaplain
JOEL C. WALLACE, Jr., El Paso No. 13, Colorado Springs - Grand Tiler
CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION COMMITTEE
STEWART A. SHAFER, Chairman Denver No.5, Denver
CHARLES J. SEEBURGER Golden City No. 1, Golden
JOE E. KERR Lamar No. 90, Lamar
D. AUBREY SPANN, PGM Gunnison No. 39, Gunnison
CARLTON M. RAY, PGM Oriental No. 87, Denver
CLIFFORD J. GOBBLE, PGM Brighton No. 78, Brighton
GLENN B. VAN FLEET, PGM Albert Pike No. 117, Denver
GLENN E. MONROE, Chairman Union No.7, Denver
DOM P. VENDITTI Silver State No. 95. Pueblo
GORDON R. MERRICK Collins No. 19, Fort Collins
JESS W. GERN Gunnison No. 39, Gunnison
BURTON D. HAMER Park Hill No. 148, Denver
ALBERT E. JAMESON La Veta No. 59, La Veta
All District Lecturers
FELIX JONES, Chairman Arapahoe No. 130, Denver
NUMA L. JAMES Mount Moriah No.1 5, Canon City
BERNARD A. FALLER St. Vrain No. 23, Longmont
Turn we our thoughts to early days, when o'er the stretching plains
The long procession wound its way of white-topped wagon trains.
Bearing brave souls to this new land, the mecca of their hopes,
Where wealtlh was found along the streams and on tile mountain slopes,
An army vast, together drawn, by God's all-potent spell
Which stirs such fever in tile blood; its quest alone may quell.
Their settlements in valleys and on many a mountain side -
All types and classes of mankind, 'mong whom e'er long was had
The struggle for supremacy between the good and bad.
'Twas then each Mason knew his place, although as such unknown,
Nor rested till the right prevailed and wrong was overthrown.
No Lodge was here, but Brethren true were leaders in the van
Of each forced march of progress for the betterment of man.
For Order out of Chaos and from darkness into light
Hath ever been the teaching that a Mason cannot slight,
And where a voice must needs be raised, his lips can ne'er be dumb
Whose course is ever guided by the lesson of the Plumb.
Though well they served the common weal, the world may never know
Tile silent force of Masonry those many years ago.
From the 50th Anniversary Poem by P.G.M. Lawrence N. Greenleaf
Long ago Tacitus remarked that the principal office of history is to prevent virtuous actions from being forgotten.
This volume has been assembled to preserve some of the romance of the founding of Masonry in Colorado - of the organization and development of its Grand Lodge and constituent Lodges during its first century.
The personalities, the happenings, the spirit and the atmosphere of the Lodges of today are the history to be cherished tomorrow! Many brothers have labored diligently through the years to record the happenings in their Lodges. To all of these we express heartfelt appreciation.
Yet the narrative is not complete. Historians have been lacking in some Lodges. In such cases, willing brethren have labored to glean in for mation to provide those Lodges with representation in this book.
The Centennial Committee
MASONRY COMES TO THE ROCKIES
The Gold Rush fever of the Pikes Peak region in 1858 was intoxicating. It entranced men of all descriptions, fortune-hunters, prospectors, and rovers, eager for quick wealth and excitement. Its hurriedly-formed wagon trains departing from Missouri river outposts threw together for 700-mile, month-long journeys, men of every ilk, many of them fleeing from the rigidity of law and order and civilization.
But its lure was irresistible to Masons, too. Many members of the craft responded to the sudden challenge of the frontier. And having been forced to associate with adventurers of dubious backgrounds during the tedious overland journey, upon arrival in the new country they quickly sought the company of their brethren. Within ten days after the founding of the first permanent settlement at Auraria, at the junction of Cherry Creek and the Platte, the first informal assemblage of seven Masons was held in what was to be the Territory and then the State of Colorado.
Andrew Sagendorf, one of the group, told the Grand Lodge in 1912:
"The first meeting of Masonry in Denver was held in W. G. Russell's cabin on Perry street, near the site of the first bridge, early in November, 1858. The exact date I cannot give.
"Bro. (Jim) Winchester presided. . . but as he was absent much of the time, Bro. Henry Allen generally occupied the Worshipful Master's station. No stated time or place of meeting was observed; it was generally once a week and at the most secure and convenient cabin.
"These meetings were kept up quite frequently during the winter of 1858-59 and the spring of the latter year. In the summer but few meetings, if any, were held, until the Dispensation for Auraria was received.
"All of the safeguards of the Fraternity were as vigilantly guarded as they are today."
J. D. Ramage, one of the "Original Seven," differs slightly in his remembrance of the meeting which he says was on November 3rd, 1858. After being accosted by the salutation "Ho, that tent over there," from a man (Henry Allen) who at the same time made use of a Masonic expression, he narrates:
"I accompanied Brother Allen to his abode, and there found Bros. W. M. Slaughter, Dr. Russell, Andrew Sagendorf, and I think, Oscar Lehow. These brethren together with Brother Allen and myself, made the first seven :Masons, according to my knowledge and belief, who ever met in Colorado, having in contemplation the application for a charter, and a seven who stuck together, as Masons should do. through thick and thin."
"We agreed to meet every Saturday night and as our object in locating in Colorado was to get gold (we were supposed to be out prospecting during the week) we decided that any ideas conccrning the country we were in which might come to us, news of any mines we might discover, or any information which might be beneficial to the brethren, MasonicalIy or financially, would at the next meeting, be given to the Masons there assembled. We had some ecry pleasant meetings."
It has been said that in every pioneer settlement of the West first came the church, then a school, and then the Masonic Lodge but in Colorado this order was reversed. Years ago, the Rev. John M. Chivington, first presiding elder of the Methodist Church in this area and first Grand Master of Colorado, wrote: "On May 8, 1860 I arrived in Denver, published an appointment, and preached the following Sunday in the Masonic Hall. Henry Allen founded a Masonic Lodge in Colorado long before there was a church or school"
Allen was thus acknowledged the father of Masonry in Colorado. He became Master of Auraria Lodge under dispensation.
THE ORIGINAL SEVEN
The life of Henry Allen, father of Colorado Masonry, is replete with accomplishment in fraternal and business circles. He was a pioneer in Masonry in Iowa, Colorado, Idaho, and Montana.
In Auraria and Colorado he organized many constructive projects. An owner of stock in the Auraria Town Co., in 1859 he was the organizer of the Minnehah Town and Marble Co., and became its president. The next year he developed the Capitol Hydraulic Co., which constructed Platte Water Company's ditch, later the City Ditch of Denver.
He was a pioneer banker, associated with two other prominent Masons, W. M. Slaughter and R. Sopris. An early advertisement read "Allen, Slaughter & Co. Buy and Sell all kinds of real estate, mining claims and mining stock, collect debts, receive deposits, and in a short time will be prepared to sell exchange on the East."
Politically, he was Auraria's first Postmaster. In April of 1859 he presided over a meeting he had called to consider the advisability of a new Territory. He was a delegate to the first Constitutional Convention in 1859, having in view the formation of the State of Jefferson. He presided over this group as well as being chairman of its judiciary committee.
Allen was the first Senior Warden and second Master of Idaho Lodge No. 1 at Bannock (Idaho City). In 1866 or '67 he was admitted to Helena No.3 of Montana and became its Master in 1869. He had been electcd an honorary member of the Grand Lodge of Montana in 1867. That body upon his death in Los Angeles in 1871 inscribed a page in its proccedings to his memory: "A man of large and warm heart, of generous and active sympathies, a true and tried Mason who loved the institution and lived its principles. . . . An active and efficient promoter of peace and harmony in every community and institution in which he moved."
DR. LEVI J. RUSSELL
Doctor Levi J. Russell was one of three brothers in the Russell prospecting party who first found gold in the Upper Reaches of Cherry Creek in 1857. They arrived at Cherry Creek and the Platte in October, 1853, naming the camp Auraria, after their hometown in Georgia.
Dr. Levi Russell
As they were Southern sympathizers, the three fled to the South in 1862 after the Civil War started but were arrested enroute by Union troops. Denver friends obtained their release. The other two brothers left Denver in May, 1863, for the South but "the Doctor" journeyed to the new mining camps of Montana. After giving up prospecting he resumed the practice of medicine in Bell County, Texas.
WM. M. SLAUGHTER
Wm. M. Slaughter was not only one of "the Original Seven" but also was prominently associated with the erection of the first Masonic Temple at Gregory Gulch. His name has been preserved for posterity in the monument erected to that first Temple by the Grand Lodge. The inscription reads: "On this site there was erected in the Month of June, A. D., 1859, the first Masonic building in the State of Colorado. The Act of Pre-emption as shown by the Gregory Mining District Records:
WM. M. Slaughter
'Know all men by these presents that WM. M. Slaughter, John Hughes, and Joseph Castro, a building committee appointed by the Free and Accepted Masons, do this day Pre-Empt one block for the purpose of erecting a Masonic Temple June 12, 1859.
WM. M. Slaughter
"'Erected by the Grand Lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons of Colorado. AD 1932 AL 5932'"
OSCAR E. LEHOW
After the panic of 1857, Oscar E. Lehow a carpenter and joiner left Charleston, S. C., and came to Belleview, Neb., where he contracted until the fall of '58 when he crossed the plains in search of better promises.
Oscar E. Lehow
When he arrived at Cherry Creek encampment or Auraria, now West Denver, there was but one cabin, that of old John Smith, the Indian guide and trader. He began prospecting for the yellow metal but was disappointed in the results.
However, after John Gregory and George A. Jackson proclaimed their discoveries of large deposits in the mountains, he went up to Vasquez fork and examined Jackson's diggings on Clear Creek, but soon passed on to Spanish Bar, a mile above, where he and Andrew Sagendorf staked out and worked one of the better claims. In May, 1859, he sold his interest for $4,000, taking pay in cattle, horses, etc.
After acquiring land on Plum Creek, at the mouth of Platte Canon, and in thc San Luis valley, he again pioneered in the mining development near Silver Cliff in 1878 when there were only two cabins in that town.
Andrew Sagendorf, born in 1828 in New York State, came to Nebraska in 1856 and then to Colorado in 1858 on account of tuberculosis. He and his associate, Oscar Lehow, built a double cabin, half of it on each partner's lot, to comply with Auraria townsite regulations. Besides its size, it was noted for having a window with the settlement's only pane of glass and a door made of boards.
Sagendorf, expressing surprise to see the boards in the bottom of their wagon upon arrival, was told by Lehow, "Partner, I never thought you'd make it here (they had walked the entire distance from Omaha) and these boards would have made your coffin if you didn't."
He became secretary of the Auraria City Town Company and was a prime mover in merging the competing towns of Auraria and Denver. He also was secretary to Gov. John Evans, Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue, and Postmaster at Denver, resigning the latter position to go to Colorado Springs for his health.
Treasurer of Auraria Lodge U.D., he became Worshipful Master of two Lodges, Denver No.5 in 1864 and El Paso No. 13 in 1880. He was electeced Grand Master in 1883 when 55 years old and died at 83, the last survivor of the "Original Seven."
J. D. RAMAGE
J. D. Ramage was one of the founders of Canon City and president of the Canon City company for two terms. He reported by letter in 1899: "My advent to Colorado was about Nov. 3rd, 1858.
I have had my share of the various trials we have to pass through in this world-amongst others, of having both feet cut off in front of the ankles-the consequence of freezing in the lumber regions of Canada and Maine, which makes it very hard for me to get around; otherwise I would have been in Colorado long ago, as I have very kindly remembrances of it."
CHARLES H. BLAKE
Charles H. Blake became the third Worshipful Master of Auraria U. D. Blake Street in Denver was named after him. He and his partner Andrew J. Williams came from Omaha, arriving on October 29th, 1858 with four wagons of merchandise, each wagon drawn by four span of oxen.
Charles H. Blake
They first sold direct from the wagons and were the first to open business in a log cabin on Cherry Creek in January, 1859. Disposing of the merchandise in four months, Blake purchased Denver's first hotel, the Denver House, in May, 1859. He then engaged in the real estate business.
The Lehow - Sagendorf Double Cabin
Picture Courtesy of the Colorado State Historical Society
COLORADO'S FIRST MASONIC "TEMPLE"
The gatherings of the Brethren at Auraria were interrupted in the spring of 1859 by news of the gold strike in Gregory Gulch, forty miles northwest in the High Rockies. Thousands of prospectors hurried there and again Masons sought their kind. Here the first Masonic "Temple" in Colorado was soon constructed.
W. M. Slaughter, one of the three who pre-empted a block of site, recalled that nearly one hundred Masons leveled the ground dragging in logs for the "Temple." He wrote:
"Word had been passed about among the Masons of the several camps that a Masonic meeting would be held that night at dusk and as the hour arrived the trails and paths leading toward the 'Temple' began to be lined with Masons gathering together to meet each other from distant states and countries for the first time in this wild place amid the pine woods on a lone mountain side.
"Four men (Masons) armed with rifles and revolvers stood on guard, one at each corner of the Temple and one at the outer door also. . . If he desired examination as to his standing as a Mason he was at once placed in charge of an examining committee, of whom there were not less than ten or more appointed to wait on visiting brethren who were unknown to any known Mason. There were over 200 visiting brethren whose names were entered upon the 'Journal' or 'Roll of Visitors' as it was called at that first meeting. A meeting was held once each week for over three months."
Each summer the Grand Lodge of Colorado visits the monument erected here, and also the monument erected at the site of Lodge No.2, Summit, at Parkville (near Breckenridge) and this year (1961) instituted an annual visit to thc monument at Gold Hill No.3 (near Boulder).
ORGANIZATION OF THE GRAND LODGE
The area later to be Colorado was in 1858 part of four Territories. Auraria was in Kansas Territory and so it was to the Grand Lodge of Kansas that the Brethren in Auraria applied for a dispensation for regular Masonic authority. This was granted and M. W. Bro. Rees of Kansas enthused to his grand session:
"Auraria Lodge is the first advance of Masonry thus far west into the confines of the Rocky Mountains, and it is located within the newly discovered Gold regions of the West and literally amidst the highest hills and lowest valleys, where the sun, reflecting from perpetual snow, warms the rich vale in its constant verdure. Truly, this is an age of penetration and progression, and the genial influence of Masonry, cementing and warming the hearts of its members, keeps pace with the march of civilization.
"To the care of R. W. Bro. D. P. Wallingford of Missouri, I committed this Dispensation, and he has doubtless set the brethren to work in AMPLE FORM in that far-distant land; and we will earnestly pray that they may quarry no stone unfitted for the building, but perform their work in peace and harmony."
Over forty brethren attended the first regular communication October 1st, 1859. The meeting place was the upper floor of a two-story building just completed on Ferry street by a member of the Lodge, Abraham Jacobs.
Ferry Street Building
The Lodge went to work immediately. At the second meeting, six petitions were presented. The first initiation in Colorado was Dee. 10th, 1859. The first Fellow Craft degree was conferred Jan. 7th, 1860. The first Master Mason was raised Feb. 6th, 1860.
Ferry St. Bldg., Auraria's First Home The desire for other Lodges spread rapidly. On Nov. 26th, 1859 Auraria U. D. recommended granting of a dispensation for a Lodge at Golden City, twelve miles northwest. M. W. Bro. Rees of Kansas granted this request to Bro. J. E. Hardy and fellow petitioners on Jan. 21st, 1860.
Less than four months later John Milton Chivington, destined to be first Grand Master of Colorado, arrived as presiding elder of the Methodist Church. Grand Chaplain of Nebraska at the time, he supposedly brought blank dispensations for Lodges with him. Dispensations from Nebraska resulted to Summit Lodge at Parkville (near Breckenridge) and Rocky Mountain Lodge at Gold Hill (near Boulder).
The first charter granted was to Golden as No. 34 under Kansas at the latter's annual communication in October or 1860. As the representatives of Auraria Lodge did not arrive in time to present its charter application, its dispensation was continued for another year. Richard Sopris was named the new Master.
The hardy pioneers who remained for the winter at Nevadaville near Gregory Gulch received a dispensation from Kansas to form U. D. on December 22nd, 1860. Andrew Mason was Master. in the diggings Nevada Lodge.
At the Nebraska Grand Communication June 5th, 1861, charters were issued to Summit Lodge as No.7 and Rocky Mountain as No.8.
Following the recognition of the "Territory of Colorado" by the federal government in February, 1861, sentiment for a local Grand Lodge developed. The three chartered Lodges, Golden City No. 34 of Kansas Jurisdiction; Summit No.7 of Nebraska, and Rocky Mountain No. 8 of Nebraska formed the Grand Lodge of Colorado on August 2nd, 1861.
The officers elected were John M. Chivington, Gold Hill, Grand Master; S. M. Robbins, Parkville, Deputy Grand Master; James Ewing, Parkville, Senior Grand Warden; J. M. Hart, Gold Hill, Junior Grand Warden; Eli Carter, Golden City, Grand Treasurer; and C. A. Whittemore, Parkville, Grand Secretary.
Appointees were C. F. Holly, GoJd Hill, Grand Orator; J. IVl. Ferril, Golden City, Grand Marshal; Joshua Miller, Summit, Senior Grand Deacon; C. W. Smith, Gold Hill, Junior Grand Deacon; D. T. Robley, Summit, Grand Tiler; E. S. Glotfelder, Gold Hill, Grand Steward; J. A. Moore, Golden City, Grand Sword Bearer.
The Grand Lodge of Kansas, seemingly unaware of the formation of the new Colorado grand body due to the slow communications of the time, issued charter No. 36 to Nevada Lodge U. D. and charter No. 37 to Auraria U. D. on October 15th, 1861. Auraria surrendered its charter to Kansas and received a Colorado dispensation from M. W. Bro. Chivington.
At Colorado's first annual communication December 10th, 1861, Nevada Lodge surrendered its Kansas charter and asked for a Colorado charter which was issued as Nevada Lodge No.4. The Nevada brethren are said to have delayed until this time to satisfy themselves about jurisdictional regularity.
During this same session Auraria U. D. was chartered as No. U. D. at Central City as Chivington No. 6. The latter lodge later to Central No.6.
Monument Hardly was the Grand Lodge organized until one constituent Lodge had to be dropped from the rolls. At the second annual communication Rocky Mountain No.3, located on shallow and soon worked-out diggings at Gold Hill, surrendered its charter. Secretary John A. Moore reported: "The secretary was in the states the past winter and summer and upon his return found himself all alone in the district, all other members having removed to different sections of the country from which they could not well come here for Masonic labors ... Thc Lodge has necessarily slept the past year."
Gold Hill No. 3
Denver Brethren survived the bitter strife and controversies of the by an unusual procedure -- chartering a Lodge during the Grand Lodge 1863 without it having been tested under dispensation.
The Masons of the Territorial Governor's staff and the Army were naturally partisan to the North. They found it difficult to fraternize with some members of Denver No.5 who were Southern sympathizers. There was no question of their Masonic abilities so overnight at the third annual communication the idea was conceived to charter their group directly without the formality of a dispensation.
The Lodge was aptly named Union No.7 and S. H. Elbert, Jater governor of the state, became Master.
The two Lodges used the same hall, furniture, and jewels for several years and dwelt together in peace and harmony by meeting on opposite Saturday nights.
Summit Lodge No.2 at Parkville charter in 1865 as the profitable gold estimated 10,000 inhabitants had left.
But three charters were issued that year: to Empire No.8 in Empire, Clear Creek County, Colorado; and two to Lodges outside the territory, Montana Lodge No.9 at Virginia City, Montana and to Helena City No. 10 at Helena City, Montana.
Many of the gold seekers migrated to Montana with the news of the big strikes there and were prominent in establishing Masonry in that area. L. W. Frary, Golden City's Senior Warden in 1861 and Master in 1865, and Colorado's Grand Treasurer in 1863, became the first Senior Warden of Montana Lodge No.9 in Virginia City and Grand Master of Montana in 1867.
Grand Jurisdiction of Colorado 1873
James R. Boyce, former treasurer of Union No.7 also transferred to this Lodge. He installed the first Grand Lodge officers of Montana and became Montana's Grand Master in 1872.
The famed Vigilantes, responsible for discouraging lawlessness, are said to have been formed principally from No. 9's membership. Paris S. Pfouts, first Master of Denver No.5 and Senior Grand Warden in Colorado in 1801, moved to Virginia City, was elected Mayor, and President of the Vigilantes.
Dispensation for the third lodge in the gold regions of Gilpin county was granted by M. W. Bro. Andrew Mason on Feb. 15, 1866. This was to Blackhawk Lodge. It was chartered October 1st, 1866.
Chase Withrow, the Worshipful Master of the new group, was on the same day elected and installed Grand Master of Masons of Colorado.
The Senior Warden was Harper M. Orahood, who in 1876 likewise became Grand Master. Both Withrow and Orahood served as Grand Lecturer for several terms during the next 20 years.
Blackhawk reported 38 Master Masons and two Entered Apprentice affiliates. I t had initiated 17, passed 15, raised 16, and rejected 17.
The chartering of the first lodge south of Denver and to the east of the Rockies was delayed one year when the dispensation for El Paso Lodge at Colorado City was, in 1866, "continued at the Grand Master's discretion." While the lodge reported 17 Master Masons, two Fellowcrafts and five Entered Apprentices and that it had initiated 11, passed six and raised five, still the minutes failed to show a constitutional number had been present at any communication. It was approved as No. 13 in 1867.
The second lodge to be chartered from the floor of the Grand Lodge without a period of dispensation was Washington Lodge No. 12 at Georgetown in 1867. The 14 petitioners named Andrew Mason, recently Grand Master, to be the new Worshipful Master. Their application was recommended by Empire Lodge No. 8, Mason's former lodge.
M. W. Bro. Chase Withrow had at first refused a request from Columbia City for a dispensation as it had nominated Past Grand Master Archibald J. Van Deren as Master. He told Withrow he could not and would not serve and besides Columbia City had "no room suitable to the practice of Masonic rites."
Later the difficulties were removed and the dispensation granted. The lodge had 25 Master Masons, two Fellowcrafts, and five Entered Apprentices. It initiated 19, passed 12, raised 12, and rejected four previous to its chartering October 8th, 1867 as Columbia, No. 14.
In January, 1868, fifteen Valmont brethren likewise obtained a dispensation for a new lodge. The Worshipful Master visited Grand Lecturer Orahood in Blackhawk for two days to receive instruction and later the Grand Lecturer visited Valmont for four days to teach the ritual. He reported to Grand Lodge: "I left them very proficient in the work."
Their dispensation was surrendered in October of that year when Columbia No. 14 moved from the mountain town of Columbia City to Boulder City in the foothills and they consolidated with Columbia.
A dispensation was issued to G. 13. Frazier and 10 other Masons for a lodge at Canon City, Fremont County in December, 1867 by Grand Master Teller. Though the county had few inhabitants and a very few Masons the dispensation was granted because of the intense interest. Frazier, his two sons, and others were so eager to attend lodge that they traveled 55 miles on hourse back to El Paso Lodge at Colorado City, slept overnight on the lodge floor, and returned to Canon City the next day.
Three dispensations were issued by R. W. Bro. O. A. Whittemore, Deputy Grand Master, during the absence of Grand Master Teller. These were to brethren in Cheyenne, Dakota Territory; Pueblo, Colo.; and Denver, where a third lodge was to be called Germania.
That the spread of Masonry in the Rocky Mountain area was influenced greatly by Colorado Masonry is shown by the naming of W. Bro. James Scott, Past Master of Golden City No.1, to be Worshipful Master of the lodge under dispensation in Cheyenne. It was chartered in October, 1868.
Cornelius J. Hart, later Grand Master, was instrumental in forming Pueblo No. 17, a lodge which was to be instrumental in the rapid spread of Masonry in the southern part of the state. It also received a charter in October, 1868.
The charter application of Denver brethren of Germania Lodge U. D. was refused after M. W. Teller questioned the wisdom of the action "as the memberships of the lodges already chartered there are not large and I fear another lodge will weaken those already established. I would prefer to see a few strong lodges in the jurisdiction rather than to see a large number of feeble ones." (At that time Chivington Lodge No.6 to which Teller belonged had 123 members, Denver Lodge No.5 had 116, and Union Lodge No.7, 73 members.)
The following year he refused a dispensation to brethren at Granite, Lake county. Among the reasons was a considerable debt incurred by the members. "If there is not sufficient interest to see that the lodge starts out of debt, I think it well to Jet them wait."
Also, dispensations ,were refused to brethren at Idaho, Clear Creek county, because of the sparseness of population and to brethren at South Park City because the application was received in the month prior to Grand Lodge.
The Masons at Cheyenne lost no time in recommending a dispensation for a lodge at Laramie City, Wyoming. This was granted on January 31st, 1870. Chartering followed at the tenth annual communication on September 27th, 1870 to the Lodge as Laramie No. 16.
Concurrently a charter was issued to Collins Lodge No. 19 at Fort Collins to the lodge known under dispensation as Fidelity. Henry Clay Peterson was the first and several times Master. He was another promoter of Masonry wherever he journeyed. Later he became the organizer and stalwart member of Rio Blanco Lodge No. 80 at Meeker.
Collins No. 19 immediately recommended a dispensation for Occidental Lodge at Greeley as it had 44 petitioners. It was chartered as No. 20 September 26th, 1871.
During this year, a group of Masons at Salt Lake City received dispensation and charter as Argenta No. 21, thus making Utah the fourth state to receive Masonic light from our Grand Lodge. First the mother state of Colorado, then Montana, Wyoming, and Utah.
THE EARLY GRAND MASTERS WERE A YOUTHFUL GROUP
That the frontier is a young man's country was proved by the age of the early Grand Masters at the time they occupied the Grand East.
Chivington, the first Grand Master was forty. Only two others of the first nineteen were older: Greenleaf who was forty-one and Sagendorf who was fifty-five.
Youngest was Chase Withrow, Grand Master at the ripe old age of twenty-six! Incidentally Withrow was a Mason for over seventy years, lived to be ninety-one one! in the Jast year of his life conferred the Third degree "in a perfect manner."
Next youngest was Albert H. Branch, thirty years and nine months of age when he mounted the three steps to the East.
Ages of the first nineteen Grand Masters follow, except for Andrew Mason whose life record is unavailable:
Van Deren, 33
JOHN MILTON CHIVINGTON
Rev. John Milton Chivington came to Colorado as the first presiding elder of the Methodist church. Biographer Reginald S. Craig in "The Fighting Parson" tells of his interest in Masonry. "Early in his career the new parson was impressed with the fact that, in many communities, the members of the Masonic order were the largest group which was working to establish law, order, and morality. These were his kind of people, and in 1846 he became a member of the order, joining the newly organized lodge in Butlerville, Ohio.
John Milton Chivington
"As John and his wife, Martha, moved to new locations (in their church circuit riding endeavors) they left a series of revitalized parishes behind them. They never stayed more than two years in anyone community. New assignments were always in locations where congregations were weak and the lawless element in charge. Rev. Chivington always left it solvent and with a Royal congregation. The community could also count on the benefits of an energetic Masonic Jodge, improved schools, and a good library, largely due to his efforts. He was a leader in the fight for right and leadership."
Chivington was the first Master of a Lodge under dispensation in Kansas, Wyandotte at Kansas City, and was the first Grand Chaplain of the Grand Lodge of Nebraska.
The Civil War broke out during Chivington's term as Grand Master. He was offered the position of Chaplain of the first Colorado regiment by Governor Gilpin. Chivington forcefully replied: "Governor, I have been praying for these disunionists for years, but without avail. They are now in arms against my government; the time calls for action and not for words. I will accept a commission from you, but it must be a fighting commission." He became Major, third in command.
The fighting skill and bravery of Chivington's troops at the Battle of Glorietta Pass is credited with saving the gold fields and the West for the Union.
The later Sand Creek Battle is one of the most controversial episodes in American history. However, two great forces for good - the church and the Masonic fraternity - rallied to his support. He returned to the ministry of Methodism in 1867, and both Denver Lodge No.5 and Union Lodge No.7 endorsed his efforts to make the state safe from the Indians with the following resolution:
"Whereas, there have been the most exaggerated and erroneous reports sent to the authorities at Washington, D. C. of the character of the battle between Col J. M. Chivington, the troops under his command, and the Cheyenne Indians...
"Whereas, we live in Colorado and are presumed to know the facts as they exist, and
"Whereas, CoL Chivington and many of his officers and men of his command are well known to us and members of our order,
"Resolved these Indians were hostile and had committed many acts of barbarity on the commerce of the plains and the outer settlements of the territory and deserved the severest chastisement. . . in our judgment no more women and children were killed than would necessarily follow the attack of a village of Indians, a city or town inhabited by white people,
"Resolved that we express the sentiments of the entire population of Colorado when we endorse the conduct of Col. Chivington and his command in the Sand Creek affair, "Resolved that the command of Col. Chivington has our warmest gratitude and that we urge the Military authorities to repeat the chastisement. . . until the Indians of the plains sue for peace and give evidence of their sincerity.
Allyn Weston, Second Grand Master from Chivington Lodge No.6, was responsible for Colorado's "work." He brought the Barney "work" from Michigan where he had been editor of the Masonic magazine "The Ashlar."
Weston's attributes were vividly portrayed in 1910 by M. W. Bro. Henry M. Teller, a fellow resident of Central City:
"Bro. Weston was a remarkable man - a man of fine education, good ability, and dignified presence; he traveled extensively in Europe, Asia, and in other parts of the world, and was a most earnest and zealous Mason, and thoroughly versed in Masonic law; and it is no exaggeration to say that he had great influence on the organization, upbuilding, and general character of Masonry in Colorado.
"He believed firmly in the tenets of the craft, in the maintenance of strict order, and was devoted to the great principles that underlie the Masonic institution. During his term as Grand Master he impressed himself upon the Lodges of Colorado as perhaps no other has since done."
HENRY M. TELLER
Henry M. Teller was Grand Master of Masons seven terms - serving as the third Grand Master in 1863 and then again from 1867 to 1872 inclusive.
"He stood upon the heights, one of the really great men of the nation. .. a statesman in the highest sense. . . gifted with prophetic vision. .. wise in counsel, cool, calm, and skillful in debate, tolerant always of the opinions of others, ever ready to give credit for good intentions, but slow to criticize or censure."
Henry M. Teller
These were the attributes of this Mason of Chivington Lodge No.6 which brought him the honors and dignity of being Governor of his state, United States Senator, and Secretary of the Interior in the Cabinet.
"His influence on Masonry in the formative years of the Craft in Colorado and as a conservative, uplifting force at nearly every Grand Communication for over fifty years, will be felt more and more strongly with the passing years."
He became first Grand Commander of the Grand Commandery of Knights Templar when it was organized in 1876. He was Sovereign Grand Inspector General of the Scottish Rite in Colorado for nearly thirty-two years, being crowned an active member of the Supreme Council in 1882.
ARCHIBALD J. VAN DEREN
Archibald J. Van Deren of Nevada Lodge No.4 was fourth Grand Master.
It was reported to the Grand Lodge:
"When territorial government was established for Colorado he was appointed one of the commissioners to organize and put into operation a county government of Gilpin County. In 1863 he served as a member of the territorial council from Gilpin Co. and was identified in the county and territorial affairs during the exciting times of the civil war.
"Of late years has taken no active part in Masonic affairs, but at all times has been greatly interested in all matters pertaining to its welfare, being content to rest from active labor and permit the younger members of the craft to carryon the grand and glorious work. Nor will he hesitate to remind them of any departure made from the ancient landmarks."
The unusual or dramatic must have appealed to Chase Withrow of Nevada Lodge No.4. In 1867 he concurrentlv served his Lodge as Master and his Grand Lodge as Grand Master. He was twenty-six year's of age at the time. Then fifty years later he returned to the East of Nevada Lodge.
Chase Withrow 1867 and 1917
Possessed of a retentive mind until his death at the age of ninety-one, he was an important source of information about early CoJorado Masonic thinking and happenings.
The restless seeking for gold and movement from camp to camp was personified by Andrew Mason, second Deputy Grand Master and fifth Grand Master. Previously Master of William B. Warren Lodge No. 211 in Chicago, Illinois, he became first Master of three Colorado Lodges, Nevada No. 36 chartered by Kansas and now Nevada No.4 of Colorado, Empire No.8 at Empire, and Washington No. 12 at Georgetown.
He later went to Utah where he assisted in formation of the Grand Lodge of Utah and "was a constant visitor and advisor of our city (Salt Lake) Lodges. A more charitable 'Mason' never stood before the altar of a Masonic Lodge, and a more genial miner never prospected the Wasatch and Oquirrh mountains in Utah or superintended a mine."
WEBSTER D. ANTHONY
First Grand Master from Union Lodge No.7 was Webster D. Anthony who served two terms, 1873 and 1874. He was private secretary to the first Territorial Governor, first Speaker of the House of Representatives in Colorado, and secretary of the convention which met to frame a constitution for the organization of the state government.
OREN H. HENRY
Our eighth Grand Master, Oren H. Henry, was both a miner and a railroad man. He came to Central City from Vermont in July, 1860. In the fall of '61 he enlisted in the Colorado Volunteers and served until 1864 when he returned to Central City. He mined there and at Ward for five years. He was a director of the Colorado Central Railroad when it was built to Boulder and later became its superintendent. He organized the North American Mining Co. in Leadville in 1881 and was one of the first Coloradans to go to Montana during the Coeur d'Alene mining excitement. He returned to Denver in 1885 and made three mining expeditions to Mexico. Receiving his Masonic degrees in Nevada Lodge No.4, in 1867 he became a charter member of Columbia Lodge No. 14.
HARPER M. ORAHOOD
Harper M. Orahood, law partner of Henry M. Teller, was Grand Master of Colorado Masons in 1876 and Grand Commander of Colorado Knights Templar in 1879 and 1880. For thirty-seven years he headed the committee on correspondence in the Grand Commandery and attended every triennial conclave of the Grand Encampment from 1877 until his death in 1914.
In 1861 he joined the Colorado National Guard and helped recruit the first militia company, named after Ex-Governor Samuel H. Elbert, first Master of Union No.7. As Captain of Company B of the Third Colorado Cavalry, Orahood had charge of guarding the mails, stages and wagon trains on the pJains from desperadoes and Indians. He was Captain of the Second Division under Col. John M. Chivington in the famous Sand Creek battle, winning plaudits for his coolness and bravery.
His casket was draped with a worn American flag presented to him by the women of Colorado for his militant efforts in preserving the Union.
CORNELIUS J. HART
Cornelius J. Hart, tenth Grand Master, organized Pueblo Lodge No. 17. He served as its Master under dispensation, for the first six years after chartering in 1868, and again in 1876, 1881, and 1882, a total of ten years. On April 18th, 1918, wearing the Master's jewel he had worn fifty years before, he presided over his Lodge's fiftieth anniversary with a dignity characteristic of over five decades of Masonic thinking. He was the powerful figure of the first half-century of Masonry in Southern Colorado.
ROGER W. WOODBURY
Roger W. Woodbury, the 1878 Grand Master, was the organizer and first president of the Denver Chamber of Commerce and was re-elected as long as he would consent. He was president of and the most active worker in the Denver Public Library. His greatest Masonic memories are in connection with his suggestions for the George Washington Centennial, though he was active in the General Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons.
OUTSTANDING GRAND MASTERS
All LIVING PAST GRAND MASTERS (1903)
Including James R. Killian, the 1903 Grand Master and Oliver A. Whittemare, Past Deputy Grand Master and First Grand Secretary.)
Back row: Horace T. Delong, 1898; Alphonse A. Burnand, 1899: John M. Max. well, 1891; William D. Wright, 1892; James R. Killian, 1903; George D. Kennedy, 1901; Andrew Sagendorf, 1883: William D. Pierce, 1895; Ernest leNeve Foster, 1890; Cromwell Tucker, 1897.
Middle row: George W. Rose, 1896; Oliver A. Whittemore, 1861-65-67; lawrence N. Greenleaf, 1880; Chase Withrow, 1866; Henry M. Teller, 1861, 1867-72; Archibald J. Van Deren, 1864; Harper M. Orahood, 1876: Cornelius J. Hart, 1877; Frank Church, 1882.
Bottom row: George K. Kimball, 1887; Joseph M. Milsom, 1900; William D. Todd, 1888; James H. Peabody, 1884; William T. Bridwell, 1890; Marshall H. Dean, 1902.
Inserts: Jethro C. Sanford, 1893; Albert H. Branch, 1886; William l. Bush, 1894.
LAWRENCE N. GREENLEAF
The Grand Master of 1880) Lawrence N. Greenleaf of Denver, No.5 was the founder of the "Square and Compass" magazine and was hailed as the poet laureate of Freemasonry. His most famous work was "The Lodge Room Over Simpkins Store" which has appeared in every copy of the Colorado Craftsman. It was the inspiration for the re-creation and furnishing of "Friendship Lodge" in the reconstructed pioneer South Park City adjacent to Fairplay, Colo.
Lawrence N. Greenleaf
Greenleaf was respected throughout the Masonic world for his illuminating correspondence reports, the first of which appeared in 1870, the last in 1917. He was a close friend of Albert G. Mackey, Albert Pike, Robert Freke Gould, Henry M. Teller, Henry P. H. Bromwell and was in touch with all the great Masonic thinkers of his time.
WILLIAM D. TODD
William David Todd, Grand Master in 1888, came to Denver in 1868 as confidential secretary to Schuyler Colfax, Territorial Governor. He was elected to the state legislature in 1879 and because he was an accomplished parliamentarian he was often asked to preside in the Legislative hall. He introduced the bill for the creation of the State Historical and Natural History Society and was its treasurer for over thirty years. He belonged to Union Lodge No.7.
JETHRO C. SANFORD
Jethro c. Sanford of Durango, No. 46, Grand Master in 1893 attended fifty-five of the fifty-seven annual communications between 1883 and 1939. After moving to California, he made nineteen special trips to meet with his brethren. He knew personally each of the first seventy-five Grand Masters of Colorado with the exception of Chivington.
Sanford headed all four of the Grand Lodge York Rite bodies in the state: Grand Lodge, Grand Chapter, Grand Council, and Grand Commandery.
L D CRAIN
The spacious Temple at Fort Collins is a monument to L D Crain, Grand Master in 1917 and Secretary of the Fort Collins bodies from 1912 through 1941. The principal Lodge room has the greatest seating capacity of any Symbolic hall in the state - 550 persons. Crain gave distinctive service as chairman of the Washington National Memorial and Masonic Soldiers and Sailors WeIfare Fund and as a trustee of the Benevolent Fund.
HAZLETT P. BURKE
Hazlett P. Burke of Sterling, No. 54, Grand Master, 1920-21, was honored by Sertoma International as Colorado's leading citizen in 1954. For over 30 years a member of the Grand Lodge Jurisprudence Committee he told the 90th Annual Communication that of all the honors he had received in many fields, he wanted to be remembered as the author of Colorado's current "Book of Constitutions." Sovereign Grand Inspector General of the Scottish Rite in Colorado from 1941 to 1957, at the time of his death he was Venerable Lieutenant Grand Commander of the Supreme Council Thirty-Third Degree, of the Southern Jurisdiction, U.S.A.
Hazlett P. Burke
DR. HARRY L. BAUM
A man of varied accomplishments was Dr. Harry L. Baum, Grand Master in 1937. In Masonry he was particularly distinguished for his authorship and production of several Masonic dramas, for his astute comments as head of the correspondence committee of the Grand Lodge, and for his proficiency in the ritualism of the Red Cross of Constantine.
"The Lion's Paw" was an historical Masonic play performed during the Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Celebration of the Grand Lodge and at five other Annual Communications. It was presented many times in Colorado and the larger cities of thc country.
Another popular favorite was "An 18th Century Lodge." "John Brent," a Masonic play of the Revolution, emphasized the connection of George Washington with the fraternity, and "Brother Service", the immortal Washington at Valley Forge. "Vigilante" was a Masonic play of the great western frontier.
He was Worshipful Master of Emulation Lodge U.D. and at chartering.
GROVER C. OLINGER
Grover C. Olinger of Park Hill, No. 148, Grand Master in 1946, was noted for his kindness and benefactions, his assistance to youth organizations, his abilities as a ritualist.
M. W. Bro. Olinger offered his time, his home, his automobile for the service of many Brethren so they could enjoy Masonic gatherings and fellowship.
He devoted his intelligence, his energy, and his money to the Order of DeMolay for Boys and to the Highlander Boys.
He organized the Thespians, the ritualistic divan of El Jebel Shrine Temple, and thrilled thousands as its Orator and Ceremonial Potentate. Over the years he exemplified many of the important ritualistic parts of the Scottish Rite degrees.
LIVING GRAND MASTERS
CASPER S. DESCH
Because of the Depression, the Grand Lodge in 1932 authorized Grand Master Casper S. Desch to transfer as much as $5,000 from the General Fund to the Benevolent Fund for the relief of needy brethren.
It being the year of the George Washington Bi-Centennial Celebration, the Grand Master read a letter from the Grand Secretary of Virginia giving credit to the Grand Lodge of Colorado for originating the Washington Centennial observance in 1899, out of which came the development of the plan to build the Washington Masonic Memorial on Shooters Hill in Alexandria, Va. He belonged to Mesa, No. 55. (M.W. Bro, Desch passed away August 12, 1961, while this volume was in production.)
WILLIAM R. "POP" ARTHUR
William R. Arthur of Columbia, No. 14, Boulder, Grand Master in 1936, traveled 36,000 miles by auto to visit all of the 147 Lodges of that time. A student of history and all facets of Masonry, he founded the William R. Arthur Museum and Library in the Boulder Masonic Temple. Over 250 Masons gathered to honor him two decades later on a "Pop" Arthur night.
T. HARVEY COX
A joint communication of sixteen Western Colorado Lodges was held in 1939 to honor Grand Master T. Harvey Cox, a Western Slope resident of Olathe, No. 157.
The Educational Masonic Association in Northwestern Colorado was formed during the year by six Lodges on the Moffat railroad. Grand Lecturer Charles L. Young who attended the year's last meeting with the Grand Master, exulted:
"The meeting closed at one hour past low twelve, and some of the members who had come from nearly 200 miles distant, did not reach home until after sunrise. Frequently a lament is heard that the 'gold ojd days' when Masons came on horses and in wagons to their communications, and returned to their homes just in time to start their morning chores, are a thing of the past. They are not; the only change being that the Brethren can now travel farther."
FRANCIS J. KNAUSS
All but three of the 147 constituent Lodges in 1941 were visited by Grand Master Francis J. Knauss, a member of Temple, No. 84, Denver.
Three visits were in connection with Fifty-Year anniversaries: at his own Lodge, Temple at Brighton, No. 78; and Carbondale, No. 82.
But the crowning celebration was the combined communication No.4, and Central, No.6, both eighty years old, and Black Hawk, seventy-five years old.
Representatives from sixty-three Colorado Lodges and members of the craft from seventeen other states and two foreign countries made up the large attendance at the gathering. . . in the historic cradle of Masonry in Colorado.
M.W. Bro. Knauss also dedicated the monument to mark the site of the Lodge Hall at Summit Lodge No.2.
GEORGE C. TWOMBLY
Masonic service to our Brethren in the Armed Forces was the principal discussion at the Grand Session in 1943. M. W. Bro. George C. Twombly of Oasis, No. 67 requested a voluntary contribution of one dollar per member to be collected by the constituent Lodges and forwarded to a fund for service to our military Brethren. Occidental, No. 20 was the first one hundred percent contributor.
After Grand Lodge discussion it was decided that the funds should not be used for purely entertainment purposes. Its dispersal to meet need and want was entrusted to the Trustees of the Colorado Masons Benevolent Fund.
FRANK D. ALLEN
Following his visit to Breckenridge, No. 47 in 1946 Grand Master Frank D. Allen furnished a bronze plaque to adorn a stone monument marking the cemetery near Parkville, site of Summit, No.2.
The Lodge records of 1862 show a Mrs. Dillon was allowed $1.50 for making a shroud for a Bro. Green, who was buried in the cemetery.
While M.W. Bro. Allen presided, Arthur Ponsford, Chairman of the Trustees of the Benevolent Fund, was elected a Permanent Member of the Grand Lodge in appreciation of his service.
M.W. Bro. Allen's mother Lodge is Akron, No. 74.
S. STUART KREBS
S. Stuart Krebs of Montrose, No. 63 presided over two Grand Communications. The first was in 1948 following the death of Grand Master John R. Swinton. The second was in 1949 at the close of his own term as head of Colorado Masons.
The latter year he started a custom of making an official visit and being officially received in the Scottish Rite.
The current system of District Lecturers was put into operation during 1949.
EDWIN J. WHITTELSHOFER
The 1950 term of M. Wor. Bro. Edwin J. Wittelshofer was one of building.
He announced the completion of new Lodge structures in the nine communities with "more in contemplation."
In appreciation of their first year of excellent service, he invited the 23 District Lecturers to be guests at the annual communication.
M.W. Bro. Whittelshofer is a Past Master of Columbine, No. 147.
C. WHEELER BARNES
C. Wheeler Barnes of Berkeley, No. 134 served the longest single term of any Grand Master, the sixteen months from September, 1950 to January, 1952 because of a change in the Grand Lodge year. He visited each one of the 150 chartered Lodges, made at least one trip to each of five Lodges Under Dispensation, visited 260 Lodges and other Masonic groups in Colorado and addressed a total of 315 Lodges and Masonic groups. He traveled over 45,000 miles.
Due to the change of the Grand Lodge year, no Grand Lodge communication was scheduled during the terms of the Constituent Lodge Masters of 1951 so M.W. Bro. Barnes had them as special guests at a 90th Anniversary celebration August 4th. This was held in the new hall of Golden City Lodge No.1 with the Chivington Chair and other relics of the pioneers removed from their display cases and used for the anniversary ceremonies.
Possessed of a marvelous memory for names, faces, and events, "Barney" since starting through the Grand Lodge line has been called upon to be master of ceremonies at thousands of meetings.
M.W. Bro. Barnes bccame the first Master of The Research Lodge of Colorado when it was approved by the Grand Lodge in 1953.
Presently as an active member of the Supreme Council, Thirty-Third Degree of the Southern Jurisdiction, U.S.A. of the Scottish Rite he is Sovereign Grand Inspector General for CoJorado.
OLIN P. LEE
One of the most scholarly Grand Masters was Olin P. Lee of Tejon, No. 104 who filled the post in 1952. It is fltting that two events of an educational nature should have been started during his term-the formation of The Research Lodge of Colorado and the Rocky Mountain Masonic conference. The latter group is composed of the Grand Lodge officers and education committee chairmen of Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, Utah and Idaho. Thus are brought together, to stimulate Masonic study and development, the parent Rocky Mountain grand lodge, Colorado, and the others to whom it furnished early authority and leadership.
Hubert Glover of Silver State, No. 95 personified W. Bro. Amos Andrews, Master of Doric Lodge, in all but one of 74 performances of the famous Carl H. Claudy play, "The Rose Upon the Altar," presented by Pueblo Council No.6.
The most notable performance was during the Grand Communication in 1953 when M.W. Bro. Glover was Grand Master and M.W. Bro. Claudy was in attendance. The author heaped lavish praise upon the cast.
In behalf of Harry S. Truman, then President of the United States and formerly Grand Master of Missouri, M.W. Bro. Claudy presented a stone bearing a Masonic mark from the original White House to the Grand Lodge. The letter accompanying it was framed in wood taken from the White House during its remodeling and was marked with a brass plate attesting to that fact.
CHARLES A. MANTZ
Undoubtedly the greatest world-traveler of all Colorado Grand Masters is the erudite Charles Armstrong Mantz of Emulation, No. 154.
During his term in 1955 he was invited to speak on behalf of the Grand Masters of North America and Anglo-Saxon Masonry at the festival dedication of the Grand National Masonic Temple in Havana. His efforts to help several of the Grand Lodges of Mexico have won him wide personal acclaim.
As Grand Master he attended the Grand Sessions of Kansas, Louisiana, Cuba, New Mexico, Nebraska, Iowa, Montana, Wyoming, Missouri, lllinois, and California.
He was responsible for the remodeling of the Grand Lodge quarters to provide an office for the Grand Master which had been lacking for 95 years. He contributed an oil painting of the San Juan mountains to decorate the new office.
Mantz is the grandson of Andrew Armstrong, Grand Chaplain for many years before the turn of the century.
He made the original recommendation for a small annual per capita assessment to meet the expenses of the 1961 Centennial of the Grand Lodge.
MILLARD E. RYAN
To afford officers of Constituent Lodges opportunity to express opinions or ask questions about Masonic policies, M. W. Bro. Millard E. Ryan of St. Johns, No. 75, Rocky Ford, devoted an evening at Grand Lodge in 1957 for such purposes.
In rccognition of their services, increased travel allowances for the District Lecturers were approved at this session.
During this communication an assessment of twenty-five cents per member was authorized for the first time to defray expenses of the 1961 Centennial of the Grand Lodge.
The Grand Master ruled that all groups, rather than officers, desiring to confer degrees should first stand examination on their proficiency and that examination not be waived in any instance.
D. AUBREY SPANN
Finding nothing suitable in the" Book of Forms and Ceremonies" for dedication of thc monument on Gold Hill commemorating Rocky Mountain Lodge No.3, M. W. Bro. D. Aubrey Spann in 1956 prepred a ceremony for the occasion.
An extra touch came when he, a cattleman from Gunnison Lodge No. 39, chiseled his "mark" or cattle brand on the reverse side of the monument.
At the Grand Session he reported : "Your Grand Master had an experience never before coming to a Grand Master in Colorado in that it was my duty to meet with my own Lodge today the corner-stone and then later to dedicate our new Temple for Gunnison Lodge No. 39."
The importance of DeMolay, Rainbow Girls, and other youth groups was stressed in his address.
THE VAN FLEETS
Outstanding service of Father and Son - both Grand Masters - will make the name of Van Fleet a lasting rememurance in Colorado Masonry. Marshasl H. Van FJeet headed the Grand Lodge in 1921; his son, Glenn B. Van Fleet, in 1958.
The elder Van Fleet visited all 136 constituent Lodges and thirty-eight and a half pcrcent of the membership turned out to greet him! He passed away in 1934.
The fraternal accomplishments are many and varied. Both received the honorary Thirty-Third in the Scottish Rite. The father headed all four of the Grand York Rite bodies. The son is currently Grand High Priest of Royal Arch Masons of Colorado and Intendant General of the Red Cross of Constantine for the state, and a member of the Royal Order of Scotland.
The younger Van Fleet has given distinctive service to the Washington National Memorial and to Public Schools Week. His is a true Masonic family as he married the daughter of R. W. Bro. W. W. Cooper, Past Grand Lecturer-Secretary.
CLIFFORD J. GOBBLE
M. W. Bro. Clifford J. Gobble of Brighton, No. 78 had the pleasure in 1959 of dedicating "The Lodge Room over Simpkins Store", as a memorial to its author, Lawrence N. Greenleaf, Past Grand Master, Past Master of Denver, No.5, and the Poet Laureate of Masonry late in the nineteenth century.
This restoration is part of the historical project known adjacent to Fairplay, Colorado, a project of the South Park as "South Park City" Historical Association,largely sponsored by our present Grand Master Leon H. Snyder. Grand Secretary Harry W. Bundy suggested that the lodgeroom be included in the historical reproduction of this pioneer gold mining town. The lodgeroom and many other authentic buildings are now open to the public.
Over twenty lodges participated by presenting carly day Masonic relics and equipment to furnish the Lodge Room. An authentic copy of the Chivington Chairthe chair the first Grand Master occupied at the first annual Grand Communication - is there. A homemade, unique tiler's sword, original equipment of one Lodge, was donated, as well as many early day treasures.
CARLTON M. RAY
As M. W. Bro. Carlton M. Ray presided over the One Hundredth Communication, three important decisions were made. The Memorial Lodge was established to confer Masonic burial, a special committee on Public Relations was authorized, and application procedures for initiation were amended so that only one of those recommending the applicant need be a member of the Lodge receiving the petition. The other signer may be a member of that or any other regular Lodge.
Four Lodges were constituted and one instituted during his term.
The Grand Lodge gave endorsement to the move to investigate a "Masonic Manor" to provide pleasant housing for Masons and their families under the United States Housing Act of 1959. The Grand Lodge would assume no financial responsibility in such a project.
M. W. Bro. Ray is a Past Master of Oriental Lodge No. 87.
COLORADO'S GRAND SECRETARIES
The Grand Lodge has had just seven Grand Secretaries in one hundred years. Oliver A. Whittemore of Summit, No.2 was the first, from 1861 through 1865. He became a charter member of Union, No.7 and its first Secretary. After serving the Lodge as Master in 1866 he was Deputy Grand Master of Colorado in 1867.
Edward C. Parmalee of Chivington, No.6 (later Central, No.6), second Grand Secretary, was among the first arrivals in the early settlement of the Clear Creek valley. In 1864 he was Engrossing Clerk in the Upper House of the Territorial Legislature and in 1867 became Secretary of the Upper House. In 1872 he was elected a member of that body.
He was first elected Grand Lodge Sccretary in 1866 and annually thereafter for thirty-four years. He served in a similar capacity for the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons for its first twenty-six years and as Recorder of the Grand Commandery for its first twenty-five years.
William D. Todd of Union, No.7, Grand Master in 1888, was Grand Secretary from 1901 through 1903.
He was succeeded by Charles F. Jacobson of Albert Pike, No. 117, who had been the first Senior Warden of Washington Lodge No. 12 at Georgetown. Jacobson was one of the most gifted orators of the first century of Colorado Masonry. Upon his death in 1920 the Jacobson Educational Fund was established in his name. lts principal source of revenue has been from the sale of his book "Gavel Strokes."
W. W. Cooper, who had been Grand Lecturer since 1910, became Grand Secretary in 1921. Of him it was said: "He never removed his Masonic apron. . . . In his mind and in his practice of the ideals and tenets of Freemasonry, his apron was always girded about his loins."
R. W. Bro. Cooper's death was probably the most dramatic in Colorado Masonic history. Called to preside in the Second section of the Third degree on Past Masters night in 1935 in his home Lodge, Pueblo No. 17, he conducted the work in his customary effective manner, offered the prayer and addressed the Senior Warden, closing with the words "never fails." At that point the "word from the darkness" came to him. Slowly he sank to the floor and his voice was stilled forever.
He was the author of "The Plan, A Brief Outline of Masonry."
Charles A. Patton of Sterling, No. 54, Grand Master in 1934, then served until 1943 when the present Secretary, Harry W. Bundy of Denver Lodge No.5, was drafted from the Grand Lodge appointee line to these important responsibilities. Bro. Bundy has served with such distinction that he was unanimously elected Honorary Grand Master in 1951. He is a foremost authority on Grand Lodge recognition and Masonic jurisprudence and has been honored with national offices in several of the organizations appendant to Freemasonry. Particularly is he noted for his long-time service to the Order of DeMolay for Boys.
Harry W. Bundy
LEADERS OF ALL FOUR GRAND YORK RITE BODIES
Seven Grand Masters have also headed the other three Grand York Rite bodies, the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters, and the Grand Commandery of Knights Templar. The seven, and their years as Grand Master, were:
James H. Peabody, 1884
Jethro C. Sanford, 1893
George W. Roe, 1896
Marshall H. Dean, 1902
H. Ward Woodward, 1911
Marshall H. Van Fleet, 1921
Will D. Grisard Marshall, 1902
M. W. Bro. Peabody was also elected Governor of Colorado in 1902.
During the Centennial year of Colorado Masonry, the heads of the four grand bodies are: Leon H. Snyder, El Paso, No. 11, Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Colorado; Glenn ll. Van Fleet, Most Excellent Grand High Priest of the Most Excellent Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Colorado; Harry L. Palmer, Grand lllustrious Master of the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters of Colorado; and Leo H. Edwards, Right Eminent Grand Commander of the Grand Commandery of Knights Templar of Colorado.
SOVEREIGN GRAND INSPECTORS GENERAL OF THE SCOTTISH RITE
Five distinguished Masons have been Sovereign Grand Inspectors General for Colorado in the eighty-two years of the Southern Jurisdiction of the Scottish Rite in the state.
The first of these active Thirty-third degree members was Henry M. Teller, seven times Grand Master, Governor, Senator, and Secretary of the Interior. He served for 32 years and attended all sessions of the Supreme Council from 1886 to 1911 except four. He rose to be Grand Prior.
Alva Adams, three times Governor of Colorado, was next and served from 1917 to 1922.
Stanley Warner, next SGIG, was one of the few men to be elected a Permanent Member of the Grand Lodge without serving either as Grand Master or Deputy Grand Master. For twenty-two years he was head of the Grand Lodge Foreign Correspondence committee. He was also on the Finance and Appeals and Grievances committees.
His successor was M. W. Bro. Hazlett P. Burke, for over four decades a powerful figure in Colorado Masonry. As head of the important Jurisprudence committee, his consent was needed before any proposal could achieve success. He rose to be Venerable Lieutenant Grand Commander of the Supreme Council.
The affable C. Wheeler Barnes, Past Grand Master, was elected as an active member of Supreme Council in October, 1959. As its youngest member he will at the Supreme Session in October, 1961, deliver the traditional eulogy to Albert Pike.
GRAND LECTURER'S OFFICE
The extent of the responsibilities of the Grand Lecturer and District Lecturers are indicated by the 1961 report of R. W. Bro. Albert E. Jameson, Grand Lecturer.
Brother "Al" traveled 21,107 miles to make 153 visitations within the state:
To Chartered Lodges - 97
To Masonic Clubs contemplating formation of new Lodges - 16
To Lodges Under Dispensation - 10
To Grand Lodge Functions - 6
To Schools of Instruction - 24
He attcnded thirty-four other meetings of recognizcd Masonic bodies and youth groups, the Grand Lodge of Oregon whcre he was designated official representative by M. W. Bro. Carlton M. Ray, the Grand Lodge of New Mexico, and the Rocky Mountain Masonic Conference in Casper, Wyoming.
In making 356 visitations to 137 separate Lodges the thirty-seven District Lecturers traveled 10,553 miles. They submitted reports of Lodge offIcer proficiency and in general the condition of the Lodges.
Information was gathered on Lodge attendance, funeral attendance, waivers of jurisdiction, and many other matters of interest.
As chairman of the Custodians of the Work, the Grand Lecturer reported that the 1958 Grand Lodge recommendation to Masters, suggesting that they should-at the proper time-read aloud a certain admonition regarding the need for dignity and impressiveness, is being generally used and well-received.
With members hailing from many and scattered jurisdictions and travel between lodges slow and difficult, there were many variations in early Colorado ritual.
An early trial of District Lecturers did not succeed due to the time and expense required for travel in pioneer days.
The Grand Lecturer's office was filled by year-to-year appointment, principally of Past Grand Masters, until about the end of the century. Then Ernest LeNeve Foster, Past Grand Master and outstanding Masonic worker, undertook its duties for several years in succession.
Albert E. Jameson
In 1909, William W. Cooper of Pueblo, No. 17, probably Colorado's most thorough student of the ritual, assumed the responsibilities of Grand Lecturer. Under his direction, the wording was purified by Grand Lodge action in 1911.
When R. W. Bro. Cooper became Grand Secretary in 1921 he was succeeded by Charles L. Young of Durango, No. 46 who endeared himself to Colorado Masons during 29 years of devoted service.
William W. Cooper
The current successful system of District Lecturers, authorized, in 1949, was developed during the 1950-56 term of Giles N. Alkire, Occidental, No. 20, and the term of incumbent, Albert E. Jameson, La Veta, No. 59.
Museum at 1614 Welton Street
OUR MUSEUM CURATOR
W. Bro. George B. Clark of Pueblo, No. 17, curator of the Grand Lodge Museum in the Masonic Temple at 1614 Welton Street, Denver, has been a member of the Grand Lodge History committee since 1920. His voluminous collections of research material gathered since that time have never been published due to limitations of Grand Lodge funds. Bro. Clark's abilities were recognized in the proceedings of 1954 by M. W. Bro. Harry W. Bundy, Grand Secretary and Grand Librarian:
George B. Clark
"The one who does the work of the office (Librarian) is War. Bro. George B. Clark whose tireless energy has gained recognition throughout the Masonic world. He serves without remuneration, at his own request, and to the benefit and profit of all Grand Lodge officers and members of the Craft from the Grand Master of Masons to the youngest Entered Apprentice. A difficult problem, a forgotten ruling, a statistical record or the historical significance of Masonic artifacts, all are the sources of challenging work, and Brother Clark has yet to be deprived of his ultimate success in securing the necessary information all of which is to the benefit and furthering of Freemasonry."
W. Bro. Clark in his own words "knelt at the knee of Cornelius J. Hart, tenth Grand Master," receiving not only Masonic inspiration from him but also authentic knowledge of early Colorado Masonry.
Known locally as author of "Our Masonic Heritage," W. Bro. Clark achieved national stature for his "Genealogy of the Masonic Grand Lodges of the United States," a chart distributed by the Masonic Service Association of the United States.
He has recently compiled "Decisions by Grand Masters, Deputy Grand Masters, and by the Grand Lodge" from 1874 to the present.
Dedicatory Exercies, Masonic Temple, 16th & Welton, Denver, 1890
Many Lodges had two early projects, to obtain proper Masonic meeting halls and places to bury their dead. In the case of the Denver Masonic bodies, the cemetery helped to obtain the hall!
In 1866 a 40-acre tract was purchased for a cemetery "on the slopes of the hill on the west side of the Platte river for the sum of $1200." This land, Acacia Cemetery, roughly bounded by West 29th, Zuni, West 32nd, and Tejon, was to be held and owned jointly by the various Masonic bodies.
Because of increasing property values, the remains interred therein were moved to an old cemetery now embraced in Cheesman Park. The Acacia property was then sub-divided and sold as lots. Money from these sales constituted the major part of the holdings that eventually made possible the present Masonic Temple at Sixteenth and Welton streets.
When Cheesman park was developed, the remains were again moved and interred in Riverside or Fairmount Cemeteries. Thus, many of the early Masons were buried three times.
THE BENEVOLENT FUND - THE BRIGHTEST STAR IN MASONRY'S CROWN
A donation of $60, the entire salary of the Grand Lecturer in 1900, was the start of the Grand Lodge Benevolent Fund.
Later during his tenure as head of the fund, the administration cost averaged Jess than $300 per year. And upon his death this man contributed $1000 to the fund provided that the Grand Lodge did likewise. Naturally, the Grand Lodge did.
The man was Ernest LeNeve Foster, secretary of Washington, No. 12 at Georgetown for many years and Grand Master in 1890. He officiated at the constituting of Temple Lodge No. 84 and later became a member of it.
The Colorado Masons Benevolent Fund was incorporated in 1912 to administer the charitable and benevolent funds of the Grand Lodge. It is managed by five trustees who serve without salary.
Each of its five funds constitutes a trust which can be administered only in accordance with the purpose for which it was created. Some may be used for charitable purposes only. Others are limited to educational purposes. Some allow the use of income only, others of both principal and income.
The Colorado Masons Benevolent Fund with book assets of $1,338,204.72 had income of $55,320.13 the last fiscal year. It is an endowment fund to aid needy Masons or their families. Last year seventy-one beneficiaries rcceived assistance, sixteen of whom were children. Of the fifty-five adults, thirty-three were younger than sixty-five, victims of illness or accident before retirement age. Payments are generally made through Lodges. Last year forty-seven Lodges were concerned, thirty-seven of which were out-state.
The Robert Russell Foundation Fund bas assets of $937,603.04. This fund supplements the Benevolent Fund under Grand Lodge authority.
The Colorado Soldiers War Relief Fund, of World War I origin, is for benefit of maimed, wounded, or disabled Brethren, their widows and orphans. Its book value is $42,495.43.
The Jacobson Memorial Education Fund, in honor of Past Grand Secretary Jacobson, is to assist sons and daughters of Masons by loans during their junior and senior years of college. Its assets are $9,891.26, obtained principally through the sale of Jacobson's speeches.
The Charles L. Young Memorial Scholarship Fund, originated by the widow and daughters of our late Grand Lecturer, annually helps a student of Durango High School with a $200 scholarship. Its balance is now reduced to $619.
GOOD MEN AND TRUE
The responsibilities of the ballot were carefully considercd by the early Masons of Colorado. Grand Master Henry M. Teller at the Fourth Annual Communication admonished: "Admit no one because you can find nothing bad in him; make it a rule that no man shall be admitted who does not possess some trait of character which recommends him for admission."
Grand Master Archie J. Van Deren in 1865 elaborated further: "The doors of our Lodges are thronged by persons anxious to be admittcd to our mysteries. . . . We cannot be too vigilant in guarding the doors of our Lodges or too careful in the use of the ballot. In this lies our safety. Allow none to pass the threshold except the worthy. Advance none who have not sufficient zcal to learn the lectures of the several degrees. . . . Avoid the blighting defect of filling your Lodges with inefficient and inactive members to become drones in the hive of Masonry, consuming it's, vitality."
In 1865, the Lodges rejected more applicants than they approved is a table showing their concern for the ballot:
|Golden City No. 1||59||5||6|
|Nevada No. 4||61||8||7|
|Denver No. 5||99||11||22|
|Chivington No. 6||131||23||16|
|Union No. 7||52||10||19|
|Empire No. 8||28||11||12|
M. W. Brother Teller cautioned further in 1869:
"The demands of the Lodge for money to meet the current expenses, such as rent, lights, and fuel have become so pressing that when a petition is presented, the brethren think more of the advantage to be derived by the candidate's election in a pecuniary view than of the qualifications which should recommend him to be made a Mason. It is impossible for a small Lodge, embarrassed with debts, to to do justice to the fraternity at large."
Joseph A. Davis, Grand Master in 1907 observed that the temperate character of the Masonic fraternity had impressed him most during his 5,000 miles of travel. "God has not written on the faces of the membership of the Craft the signs of dissipation and licentiousness and wrong living. They were good husbands, loving fathers, sympathetic neighbors and loyal citizens."
In 1934 the Grand Lodge started the presentation of Gold 50-year pins to all members of the Jurisdiction who had completed 5O full years of Masonic membership. M. W. Bro. Howard T. Vaille recommended the practice in these words:
"For many years it has been the custom in many jurisdictions to give a medal to every member who completes 50 years of Masonic life. Every jurisdiction that has tried it is very enthusiastic about it. Several Grand Masters have heartily approved of it; as one of them expresses it 'considering the pleasure they give, the cost is small.'
"I have met several such Brethren and have been impressed with the pride they take in wearing them and the pleasure it gives them in their declining years. Most of their old Masonic Brethren have passed away. They sometimes feel that new actors on life's stage have crowded them off and that they have no part in the play but these medals give them tangible proof that they are not forgotten; that the active young Masons of today love and respect them, and the thoughts cheer them.
"The Lodge in honoring them honors itself for they give dignity to Masonry. One happy feature is that in many cases they will be given to Brethren who in their long Masonic careers have received no preferment from the craft."
The 1949 Grand Master, M. W. Bro. Whittleshofer added another touch which has increased the sentiment of the presentation. He started a custom which has been continued by each Grand Master since, that of a personal letter of congratulations from the Grand Master to each recipient. A total of 2126 of these medals have been presented.
Study of Masonry beyond the ritual, Masonic fellowship, and cooperative solving of mutual problems have been the objectives of several voluntary groups in the last half-century since travel has become easier.
The San Luis Valley Masonic Association held annual gatherings before and after the turn of the century. It was composed of seven Lodges: Saguache No. 32, Alamosa No. 44, Monte Vista No. 73, Creede No. 94, Vulcan No. 103 of Hooper, Del Norte No. 105, and Center No. 128. They maintained a park where members had summer homes and recreational facilities. George E. Simonton, Grand Master in 1913, reported that over 400 Masons and families were in attendance when he visited there.
A Northeastern Colorado Masonic association was organized shortly after the influx of new members following World War 1. Eight Lodges comprised the group.
The Denver Association of Masonic Officers was started by M. W. Bro. Albert G. McGaffey and still functions actively.
Lodges on the Moffat Railroad formed the Northwestern Educational Masonic Association in 1940. The Research Lodge of Colorado received Grand Lodge Approval in 1952. It has 260 members in this and other states, including several Masonic organizations.
The Southern Colorado Masonic Symposium, sponsored by Silver State Lodge No. 95 in Pueblo each spring, is an outgrowth of a Masonic Lodge celebration started in 1952. A program of original Masonic papers by outstanding Masonic scholars of the state is preceded by degree exemplification involving representatives of not less than 15 and as many as 35 lodges of southeastern Colorado.
ON THE HIGHEST MASONIC HILL
Corinthian, No. 42 of Kokomo not only can boast of being the highest Lodge in the United States, elevation 10,618 feet, but also of having had a Master with one of the longest services on record.
Benjamin F. Rich refused to let the Lodge die though the area was depopulated and the membership dropped to as low as twelve. W. Bro. Rich enlisted the cooperation of the Grand Lodge so that an annual meeting could be held to maintain the charter. When he was presented with a 5O-year pin and Colorado Certificate in 1942, Grand Secretary Patton noted that W. Bro. Rich had been Master for 24 of the 50 years.
Charles L. Young, Grand Lecturer, was impressed with the surroundings and effort. In 1936 he said: "The hall was lighted by old oil lamps, the Temple was built of logs, the furniture was several generations old, and without any stretch of the imagination, we were taken back to the early days in this jurisdiction.
"We speak off-hand of the antiquity of our Craft but to have these facts brought home, it is necessary to attend a meeting of this type. Statistics are dry reading, historical dates are easily forgotten, but a contact with the past through personal touch stays long in the memory. We sincerely hope that the little Lodge at Kokomo, headed by its beloved Master, W. Bro. Ben F. Rich, may continue to keep the torch lighted on the highest hill that we in the lowest valleys may take heart."
Charles L. Young
Again in 1955 he commented: "This Lodge has only one resident member. It owns its own Masonic Temple which has been reconstructed inside by their own manual labor. The officers have to drive many miles in order to get together and learn their work. They know and perform their work exceedingly well. When I made an official visit to this Lodge there were 24 members of the Lodge present who had driven from as far as Salida on the west to Olney Springs on the east and they had 22 visitors who likewise had driven many, many miles. This year they raised five of their own candidates."
SUNDAY COMMUNICATIONS FORBIDDEN
At the third Annual Communication, Sunday Lodge meetings were forbidden except for funerals.
NO NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICE
In 1867 the Grand Lodge declared it to be in variance with the spirit of Masonry to make nominations for office in either Grand or Constituent Lodge and the practice was prohibited.
WEARING JEWELS AT GRAND LODGE
Masters and Wardens representing constituent Lodges were instructed to wear their jewels of office in all future attendance at Grand Lodge at the 1868 session.
The system of Grand Representatives was adopted at the Ninth Annual Communication in 1869. We now exchange Representatives with one hundred nineteen Grand Jurisdictions.
GRAND OFFICERS' JEWELS
At the ninth annual communication in 1869 a committee was appointed to procure a set of jewels for the Grand Lodge to cost not more than $300.
PERMANENT MEETING PLACE
Denver was selected as the permanent meeting place of the Grand Lodge at the Eleventh Annual Communication.
PROFICIENCY ON THIRD DEGREE
Webster D. Anthony, then R.W.D.G.M., at the Grand Session of 1872, offered the following, which was adopted: "Resolved, That it is earnestly recommended by this Grand Lodge that all Masters of Lodges in this jurisdiction, require every Master Mason raised in his Lodge, to stand an examination in open Lodge within three months from the date of his taking the degree; said examination to be upon the proficiency of said member."
GRAND COMMUNICATION OUTSIDE COLORADO
On January 22nd, 1873 M. W. Bro. Webster D. Anthony, at the invitation of Cheyenne Lodge No. 16 of Cheyenne (then a member of the Grand Jurisdiction of Colorado) convened the Colorado Grand Lodge in the Wyoming capital city and dedicated its new Masonic hall.
The Centennial of the United States saw Union Lodge No. 7 and Central Lodge No. 6 appearing in open lodge in public procession on July 4th, 1876 in the cities of Denver and Central, under special dispensations from M. W. Bro. Oren H. Henry. While adverse to public appearance, he issued his dispensation on account of the peculiar dignity of the Centennial celebration and did not wish his act to be construed into a precedent for ordinary occasions. Eight years Jater, M. W. Bro. James H. Peabody forbade two lodges to appear in public procession on the occasion of General Grant's funeral.
GERMAN LANGUAGE LODGE
In 1881, Grand Master Greenleaf issued a dispensation to Schiller Lodge U. D. to work in the German language, the ritual to be a literal translation as far as possible.
Chartered as No. 41, Schiller was asked in 1914 to confer the Master Mason degree for Grand Lodge and did so in "an earnest and dignified manner." World War I brought an end to the use of the foreign language.
GRAND MASTER EXPENSES
In 1888, after Grand Master George K. Kimball, Union Lodge No. 7, told the Grand Lodge "Until some arrangements are made whereby a Grand Master's expenses are paid, none but those possessed of ample means can satisfactorily fill the Grand East", the Brethren voted to allow actual traveling expenses.
GRAND MASTER'S JEWEL
An appropriate jewel for the Grand Master "to cost not less than $100" was authorized by Grand Lodge action in 1891. It was to "be of gold and properly engraved."
GRAND LODGE APRONS
Jewels for Past Grand Masters were adopted by the Grand Lodge in 1893, with the emblems within the wreath taken from those in use by the Mother Grand Lodge, the Grand Lodge, F. and A. M. of England. When Past Grand Master Aprons were approved in 1926, bearing in mind that the key-note of Colorado regalia is simplicity, the Custodians of the Work recommended Past Grand Masters' Aprons "in keeping with those now worn by the Grand Officers, that is of plain, white lambskin, without binding, and that the jewel embroidered upon the flap be that described by the Grand Lodge of England for Past Grand Masters, that is the compasses extended to 45 degrees with the segment of a circle at the points, and that the emblem be surrounded by the wreath now used on the jewels of the Grand Lodge officers of this jurisdiction."
Life Membership in Colorado Lodges was prohibited by a by-law adopted by the Grand Lodge in 1894.
Uniformity in the way the Masonic Apron should be worn in this jurisdiction was achieved after a report of Grand Lecturer Cromwell Tucker in 1894. The apron should be worn over and tied around the coat.
In 1895, Grand Master William L. Bush recommended that Lodges be prohibited from contracting an indebtedness above a certain amount per capita. The current limitation is $10 per member.
In 1899, Lodges which had voted funds to sponsor hose races on Fourth of July, were informed that sports or a celebration have nothing in common with the objects of Masonry and that all Lodge funds are sacred for Masonic purposes.
Whether or not to grant special dispensations for public installation of officers plagued the grand officers just before the turn of the century. Grand Master James H. Peabody refused eight requests in 1884, but M. W. Bro. Bridwell allowed six open installations in 1889. M. W. Bro. Foster granted another six dispensations the following year "and excuses his conduct on the ground that it had been customary with his predecessors." M. W. Bro. Wright followed along with six dispensations in 1892 and M. W. Bro. Sanford with three in 1893. When Grand Master Burnanel in 1899 allowed Rob Morris No. 92 to install publicly, Deputy Grand Master Joseph W. Milsom wanted to be relieved of responsibility prior to becoming Grand Master and brought the matter to the floor of the Grand Lodge for action. The jurisprudence committee reported that public installations were "not desirable and not beneficial to the order" and Grand Masters were "requested" not to issue the prerequisite dispensations. None have been issued since.
CLASS SIZE LIMITED
That no lodge shall confer degrees upon more than five candidates in anyone day was a decision of the Grand Lodge in 1902. (Previously as high as twelve candidates had been members of a class.)
GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
In 1877 and 1878 it was ordered by the M. W. Grand Master that "these proceedings be read in each Lodge immediately after receipt of same". As the twentieth century dawned there was great opposition to the rule that Grand Lodge Proceedings should be read in full at each constituent Lodge. To bring the matter to a head, one Lodge invited the Grand Officers to attend a regular communication. When reading of the proceedings was announced, all the local members, except the officers, evidently in accordance with a preconceived plan having the Master's approval, obtained his consent to their leaving the room.
This resulted in Grand Master Benjamin L. James, a member of Union Lodge No.7, recommending in 1905 that as but a few of the Lodges were complying (or reporting compliance) with the regulation, the rule be changed to provide every officer should read the Constitution and By-Laws within two months after election.
Cataloging all members and their Masonic history was started in 1914. Now the files in the Grand Lodge office morgue consist of about 130,000 cards in two groups, present and former members.
DEGREE DRESS RESTRICTED
An edict in 1917 by M. W. Bro. Guy V. Sternberg, Mesa Lodge No. 55, advised it was not proper to confer degrees by Brethren wearing costume or dress peculiar to any society or vocation.
RECEPTION OF MASONIC DIGNITARIES
Legislation in 1929 provided that all presiding officers of the Grand Jurisdiction recognized as Masonic, shall be received with the same ceremony and honors accorded visiting Grand Masters.
CENTRAL CITY PAINTNGS
That the colorings of the paintings on the walls of Central Lodge No. 6 at Central City might not be lost in case of fire or other destruction, the Grand Lodge in 1930 appropriated $200 for coloring of the photographs taken of these symbols of Masonry. These reproductions are now preserved in the Grand Lodge museum.
GRAND LODGE MEETING PLACE
In 1938, the Grand Lodge began meeting in Colorado Consistory, having out grown quarters in the Temple at Sixteenth and Welton.
HOLDS SUMMER MEETINGS
Estes Park Lodge No. 183, constituted in 1959, is located adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park which attracts millions of visitors every year. The Lodge holds regular communications throughout the summer so Brethren from other states and countries may see Colorado Masonry in action. Its vacation is observed in the winter.
The largest funeral in the first forty years of Colorado Masonry was for Uncle Tom Linton, Grand Tiler of the four Grand Bodies of the State and most of the Denver Lodges from 1873 to 1900. Brethren came from all over the state. Over 1000 were in attendance. In 1921 over 1500 paid their respects at the last rites for Charles H. Jacobson. He had been Secretary of the Grand Lodge and the Grand Chapter and Recorder of the Grand Commandery from 1904 until 1921; Recorder of the Grand Council from 1906 until 1921; Secretary of the Colorado Consistory No.1 bodies for 17 years; and was Intendant General of the Red Cross of Constantine for Colorado.
DIED IN OFFICE
Two Grand Masters entered the Celestial Lodge above while presiding over the Colorado Grand Lodge. They were Horace H. Mitchell in 1930 and John R. Swinton in 1948.
NOTE WORTHY DISPENSATIONS
Grand Master Harry L. Baum of Emulation No. 154 issued three unusual dispensations for the annual visit to the cradle of Colorado Masonry in Gilpin County. Under the dispensation Blackhawk No. 11, Nevadaville No. 4 and Central No. 6 met in joint communication in the hall of each lodge. They conferred a portion of the first degree in each hall, stopping between work for a brief stop at the monument on the site of the first Masonic temple in the state.
DELAY IN COMMUNICATIONS
Pioneer Masons had difficulty obtaining proceedings of other jurisdictions caused, Grand Secretary Whittemore surmised in 1866, by "our correspondents not being aware of the law requiring letter postage on all printed matter, west of Kansas." The mail was held at St. Joseph, Mo., and St.Louis, Mo., until proper postage was received.
In 1868, Grand Secretary Parmalee rejoiced: "The Act of Congress repealing the obnoxious law went into effect October 1, inst., and herafter we may reasonably expect to receive the proceedings of our Sister Grand Lodges as well as many of the proceedings of former years now wanting to complete our files."
When the cornerstone of Flagler High School was laid in 1915, Kit Carson Lodge No. 127 had a membership of 52, one-third of whom lived in other parts of the country. Yet there were 76 Masons present, some coming 75 miles and more.
Because attendance at many functions exceeded the supply of aprons and difficulty often arose to clothe the brethren in suitable Masonic fashion, the Grand Lodge in 1949 made arrangements to provide paper aprons for use on extraordinary occasions. The cost of these was approximately the cost of one laundering of cloth aprons.
INSTALLED ONE HUNDRED FIFTY-ONE TIMES AS TILER!
Luther Van Buskirk has one of the finest service records of the first century of Colorado Masonry. As guardian of the door for five lodges, he has been installed as tiler a total of 151 times. He was Grand Tiler in 1955 under M. W. Bro. Charles A. Mantz. Brother "Van", one of the state's foremost students of symbolism and history, is also noted for his comprehensive Masonic stamp collection.
"YOUR MASONIC HERITAGE" DISTRIBUTED
An educational project during the 1930's was the furnishing of Clark's "Your Masonic Heritage" to all newly-raised brethren that they might easily absorb more of the character of the Masonic institution.
GOLDEN CITY LODGE NO.1, A.F. & A.M.
Late in the year 1858, George A. Jackson with Tom Golden established winter quarters at the base of the mountains near Clear Creek. During the following winter more prospectors moved into this location and thus started the settlement which developed into the Town of Golden. In this group of men there were some Master Masons and quite naturally these became closely associated. They had a feeling of mutual faith, very necessary in the community in which they were situated.
They became leaders in organizing the City of Golden and in the early fall of 1859, some twenty-three of the brethren made an application for a dispensation to form a lodge and presented it to Auraria Lodge D.D. for recommendation, which was given and forwarded to the Grand Lodge of Kansas Territory in Leavenworth for consideration.
The Grand Master of Masons in Kansas Territory issued a dispensation to Golden City Lodge U.D. in January, 1860, and Auraria Lodge U.D. was invited to institute and install the officers on Feb. 18, 1860, wirh Brother John Hughes officiating at the installation. On that date the Lodge was instituted and the officers installed as follows: Isaac E. Hardy, Worshipful Master; Eli Carter, Senior Warden; James A. Dawson, Junior Warden; Thomas H. Simmons, Secretary; John M. Ferrell, Treasurer; and Isham Hardy, Tiler.
The first candidate, Samuel F. Shaffer was duly elected, initiated, passed and raised and the Grand Master of Kansas Territory issued a Charter to Golden City Lodge No. 34, Kansas Territory, on Oct. 17, 1860. This document reached Golden City in due time and on Jan. 8, 1861, the officers elected and appointed were installed by Right Worshipful Brother L. L. Bowen, Past Deputy Grand Master of Nebraska.
A State organization meeting was held in Masonic Hall, Aug. 7, 1860, with W. M. Hardy acting as Chairman and W. L. Rothrock, Lodge Secretary, acting as Secretary. With few exceptions those attending the meeting were members of the Lodge and were largely responsible for the action taken by Congress in Feb., 1861, when that body set aside the western portion of Kansas Territory and designated it as Colorado Territory.
It is reported that Golden City Lodge first met in a log cabin on Ford Street, which was later destroyed by fire. Later a few meetings were held in the old Overland Hotel on Washington Ave. A building was erected by W. A. H. Loveland who owned the lower floor and the Lodge owned the second floor. After several years the Lodge sold their interest in the building to Loveland but leased the hall for a meeting place. The next meeting place was a much larger hall over the Linder Building and finally in the I.O.O.F. hall over the Kelly Building on the West side of Washington Street, directly across the street from the original Loveland Hall.
Golden City Lodge moved into its new Masonic Temple located at 400 10th Street in 1951. This is a beautiful building which is not only a credit to the Masonic Fraternity, but a valuable asset to the community as well.
No story of Golden Lodge would be complete without mention of the Chivington chair which is owned by the Golden Lodge No.1, and in which Major Chivington sat when presiding over the lodge.
SUMMIT LODGE NO.2, A.F. & A.M.
Summit Lodge No.2 was one of the lodges which formed the Grand Lodge of Colorado. It had been chartered originally by the Grand Lodge of Nebraska June 5th, 1861 as No.8 in that jurisdiction.
It furnished five of the first Grand Officers when the Grand Lodge of Colorado was organized August 2nd, 1861. These were S. M. Robbins, Deputy Grand Master; James Ewing, Senior Grand Warden; C. A. Whittemore, Grand Secretary; Joshua Miller, Senior Grand Deacon; and D. T. Robley, Grand Tiler.
The Lodge met at Seven and a Half O'clock Saturday nights after each full moon. The 14 by 16-ft. Temple was a story and a half high, five rounds of logs being laid above the second floor before the roof was built.
Summit County then consisted of about the northwest quarter of our present State. The earliest minute book of the Summit County Commissioners gives details of an agreement to rent the Masonic Hall. They were to pay $1.00 per day for their meetings, $1.00 per day for county court, and $1.50 for district court.
Summit, No.2 was a busy Lodge during its early days. It had 17 initiations the first year and 13 initiations the second. The third year nine members had moved outside the Territory and twelve had dimitted. Others left for the winter. The Charter was left with the Grand Secretary for two years as they hoped for a new influx of miners but was finallv surrendered in 1865.
There is a monument at Parkville to which the Grand Lodge makes a pilgrimage every summer.
ROCKY MOUNTAIN LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO.3,
GOLD HILL, COLORADO
Rocky Mountain Lodge No.3 at Gold Hill, a few miles from Boulder, received its dispensation from the Grand Lodge of Nebraska May 21st, 1861 and its charter June 5th, 1861.
It was one of the lodges which formed the Grand Lodge of Colorado on August 2nd, 1861. One of its members, John M. Chivington, became first Grand Master of Masons of Colorado.
Other original Grand Lodge officers from this lodge included J. M. Hart, Junior Grand Warden; C. F. Holly, Grand Orator; C. W. Smith, Junior Grand Deacon; E. S. Glotfelder, Grand Steward.
The shallow deposits on Gold Hill were soon exhausted so the lodge was very short-lived.
The Grand Lodge of Colorado through the efforts of M. W. Bro. William R. Arthur, Past Grand Master, obtained title to the mining claim upon which the original lodge home was erected. A monument was erected in 1957 and in 1961 Grand Lodge started what is expected to be a series of annual visitations to this shrine.
NEVADA LODGE NO.4, A.F. & A.M.
Nevada Lodge U. D. was instituted on December 22, 1860 by the Grand Lodge of Kansas and was also chartered by same. At the Decembcr 1861 Grand Lodge of Colorado Communication a Colorado Charter was given in place of the Kansas Charter. The following served as Officers under dispensation; Worshipful. Master Andrew Mason; Senior Warden Ira H. Morton; Junior Warden James Dyke; Secretary Asa L. Miller; Treasurer John M. Van Deren; Senior Deacon William L. Sawtell; Junior Deacon Joel Newton; Tyler John Oster, Jr. A Special communication was held on the 12th day of January, 1861. Regular communications were on the 2nd and 4th Saturday nights from the 20th of September to the 20th of March at 7:00 P.M. from the 20th of March to the 20th of September at 7:30 o'clock P.M.
The Colorado Grand Lodge granted Nevada Lodge its charter on November 16, 1861. Worshipful Brother J. H. Gest, Deputy Grand Master by authority of the Grand Lodge of Kansas installed thc following officers, Brothers Andrew Mason, Worshipful Master; A. J. Van Deren, proxy for Brother J. H. Morton; S. W. Chase, Junior Warden; J. M. Van Deren, Treasurer; A. L. Miller, Secretary; J. L. Prichard as proxy for W. L. Sawtell, Senior Deacon; J. c. Russel as proxy for W. T. Potter, Junior Deacon. On April 11, 1863 a petition was received from Empire City to form a new lodge called St. Johns Lodge with names of Andrew Mason, Worshipful Master; A. R. Ellis, Senior Warden; and L. Sawtell, Junior Warden. The petition was unanimously granted. The original fee for Petitioners was Thirty-five dollars, $15.00 for Entered Apprentice, $10.00 for Fellow Craft and $10.00 for Master Mason. Two years later they were raised $5.00 on each degree.
Membership at institution 22
Membership 1960 118
DENVER LODGE NO.5, A.F. & A.M.
The first recorded informal meeting of Masons in what is now Colorado was held on November 3, 1858 and was attended by 7 men. This group included Henry Allen, Charles Blake and Andrew Sagendorf, who became Masters of Auraria Lodge U. D., J. D. Ramage, the first Junior Deacon of that lodge, and W. M. Slaughter, Dr. Levi Russell and George Lehow.
The first regular meeting of Masons in Colorado was held on October 1, 1859, when a dispensation from the Grand Lodge of Kansas was delivered by R. W. Bro. D. P. Wallingford, Past Deputy Grand Master of Missouri. This lodge, Auraria Lodge U. D., was an immediate success and on November 26, 1859 the minutes showed: "Petition of J. E. Hardy and others of Golden City K. T., praying a recommendation of this lodge to the M. W. Grand Lodge of Kansas for a dispensation authorizing and empowering them to work, was presented and recommended by the lodge."
On August 2, 1861, the Grand Lodge of Colorado was organized. On December 11, 1861 the Grand Lodge of Colorado chartered the lodge under the name of Denver Lodge No.5.
The records indicate that in 1863 a majority of the members of Denver No.5 believed the cause of the Southern Confederacy to be a just one. When those espousing the Union cause decided to form a new lodge, Union Lodge No. 7 was born.
The lodge has had many meeting places, from the Russell and Sagendorf log cabins to the present building at 1614 Welton Street, which also houses the Grand Lodge offices, the Grand Secretary, Grand Lecturer and Grand Master, as well as the Grand Lodge Museum and Library.
Andrew Sagendorf, Lawrence N. Greenleaf, Frank Church, Cromwell Tucker and Frank L. Bishop, all Past Masters of the lodge, are also Past Grand Masters of the Grand Lodge of Colorado. Harry W. Bundy, present Grand Secretary, is an Honorary Past Grand Master, the only Colorado Mason to be so honored. M. W. Bro. Bundy's other Masonic honors are so numerous as to defy cataloguing. Stewart A. Shafer is the present Senior Grand Steward of the Grand Lodge. Nearly 40 other members of the lodge have been honored by the Grand Lodge in various positions.
The lodge celebrated its 100th anniversary with a dinner and meeting at Colorado Consistory Cathedral on October 3, 1959. The main speaker of the evening was Bro. Gordon Allott,U. S. Senator from Colorado.
On November 30,1960 the lodge's membership was 799.
CENTRAL LODGE NO.6, A.F. & A.M.
CENTRAL CITY, COLORADO
The first meetings of Masons who were later to become members of the Lodge were held in a building, the site of which is now marked by the historical Monument on Gregory Street. These meetings continued for about a year and then a dispensation was granted by Grand Master Armstrong of the Grand Lodge of Nebraska. On October 5, 1861, this dispensation was cancelled and a dispensation was granted by the newly formed Grand Lodge of Colorado Territory. This Lodge was chartered as Chivington Lodge No.6, December 19, 1861 in honor of Grand Master John M. Chivington. March 6, 1862 a Committee was appointed to look into the matter of building a Masonic Hall on top of a contemplated Methodist Church but the matter was filed. A Brother Collier offered the use of the walls of a building he was erecting for a third story, if they would keep a proper roof on the building. Funds were raised and the building completed. The expense on the upkeep of the roof was so great, thought was given to selling the hall and buying the Opera House. Instead the entire building was purchased, the walls reinforced, the roof repaired, a new front added.
Any mention of Central Lodge would not be complete without an account of the beautiful murals on the walls. These were done by a Brother John T. Glendenin and some finished by Brother George W. Brewer. These were completed in 1871 and have not been changed to this date. The absence of sunlight has preserved their original beauty.
Although many lodges have pictures of George Washington, the full length portrait owned by Central Lodge is among the most valuable. It also was painted by Brother Glendenin in 1865 on a damask table cloth.
Among the visitors from all of the 50 United States and the 10 foreign countries who have visited Central Lodge, have been many art critics who have valued these art treasures at fantastic sums.
The early lighting of the hall was by candles, later by coal oil lamps which were replaced by 12 oil lamps in 1875. These lamps are unique in that they have a clock spring to drive a fan which forces air around the wick burner giving a clear white flame. In 1889 these were replaced by electric lights.
The furnishings and the equipment of Central Lodge will interest any Mason.
The first Masonic Temple in the Territory was a log house about thirty feet square with an ante-room about 12 feet square on the west side near the northwest corner. The proposal to erect a monument on the site of the first Masonic Temple was initiated by W. Bro. Rae L. Laird of Central Lodge No.6, who told the Grand Lodge on September 18, 1929: "We have located the exact spot." The committee, named to investigate, consisted of a member each from Central No.6, Golden City No.1, Nevada No.4, and Black Hawk No. 11.
Membership, November 30, 1960 103
UNION LODGE NO.7, A.F. & A.M.
The Great Fire, a severe drought and an early winter made 1863 a trying year in Denver. Especially was this true for a group of Masons, northern sympathizers, who desired to attend Lodge but who did not enjoy the atmosphere of Denver Lodge No.5 where a majority of members were friendly to the Confederacy.
During Grand Lodge in 1863 the idea was conceived to start a second lodge in Denver. A petition was hurriedly presented and the Grand Lodge approved the issuing of a charter without formality of dispensation.
A few days later, November 30th, 1863, Union Lodge No.7 was constituted with 14 members. (In 1928 it was discovered that the Grand Lodge records did not contain a record of this action. M. W. Bro. Chase Withrow, who was Grand Lecturer at the constitution, testified to the authenticity of the constitution and the Grand Lodge records were completed.)
Samuel H. Elbert, Territorial Governor, was the first Master of the Lodge. He also presided in 1864 and 1869. Webster D. Anthony also served three terms as Master and two terms as Grand Master. Roger W. Woodbury was Master two terms and Grand Master one term.
Other Past Masters of Union, No.7 who were elected Grand Master are William D. Todd, William D. Pierce, Benjamin L. James and Howard T. Vaille (after whom Vaille Pass was named).
First Grand Master John M. Chivington was one of the charter members of Union, No.7 as Rocky Mountain, No.3 at Gold Hill, his original Colorado Lodge, had suspended when the gold camp was abandoned. M. W. Bro. Chivington was the Colonel in charge of troops at the Battle of Sand Creek. After the resulting furor in the East, Colonel Chivington was cleared. Union, No.7 spread upon its minutes a resolution absolving Chivington of any blame.
On November 4th, 1884, Union, No.7 had its first class of four Fellowcrafts being raised to the Sublime Degree of Master lVlason. Two of these became Masters and one, W. D. Pierce, Grand Master.
A major activity of Union Lodge, is its St. John's fund, started in 1889, and after which the Grand Lodge Benevolent Fund is patterned.
Most Worshipful Grand Master William D. Todd, a Past Master of Union Lodge, officiated at the laying of the cornerstone of the present Masonic Temple located at 16th and Welton.
The Golden Anniversary of Union Lodge, was celebrated November 20, 1913 by a sumptuous dinner and program held at 1770 Sherman, the Shrine Temple at that time. Howard T. Vaille was Worshipful Master. On the 75th Anniversary celebration Worshipful Brother William B. Killey was Master. It should be noted that Brother Hannum served the lodge faithfully as secretary for 35 years and another good and faithful secretary then began his term which was to last 25 years, namely William R. Shaw, Past Master.
Membership 1960 587.
EMPIRE LODGE NO.8, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation for the organization of Empire Lodge at Empire City, Clear Creek County was issued November 28th, 1864 by M. W. Bro. Archie J. Van Deren.
Its charter was granted at the Fifth Annual Communication on November 6th, 1865. The officers elected were installed in Grand Lodge by Past Grand Master Henry M. Teller. They were Andrew Mason, Worshipful Master; H. A. Haskins, Senior Warden; and John S. Jones as proxy for J. Mullen.
At this Grand Lodge session, Bro. Mason, who had been elected Right Worshipful Deputy Grand Master in December, 1861, was also elected and installed as Grand Master of Masons of Colorado.
Fifteeen Master Masons and three Fellowcrafts were reported as members. The lodge had initiated five, passed six, raised three, and had rejected one.
The following year it reported it had admitted two, initiated 11, passed 11, raised 12, and rejected two. Its membership had risen to 28, all of whom but one lived in Colorado Territory despite the shifting living habits of the miners.
MONTANA LODGE NO.9, A.F. & A.M.
VIRGINIA CITY, MONTANA
First extension of Masonry outside the present boundaries of Colorado was on April 4th, 1867 when Deputy Grand Master O. B. Brown granted a dispensation to brethren at Virginia City, Montana for formation of a second lodge there. The first active lodge in Montana had been granted a dispensation by the Grand Lodge of Kansas on Dec. 7th, 1863 and chartered as Virginia City, No. 43, under Kansas, on Dec. 20th, 1864.
H. L. Hosmer was appointed first Master of Montana Lodge U. D.; L. W. Frary, first Senior Warden; and William Gray, first Junior Warden.
The petition was recommended by Virginia City, No. 43 and also by Union Lodge No.7.
L. W. Frary, Past Master of Golden City, No.1, had been Grand Sword Bearer of the Grand Lodge of Colorado in 1863. He had attended the first installation of the officers of Union Lodge No.7 and was a friend of several of its members.
While under dispensation the lodge initiated five, passed two and raised one. Its records were correct and so it was chartered on November 7th, 1865. Its membership consisted of 17 Master Masons, one Fellowcraft, and three Entered Apprentices.
In 1866, Grand Secretary Whittemore reported "We have been informed by the W. M. of Montana Lodge No.9 of the organization of a Grand Lodge of Montana but nothing has been received from the officers of the new Grand Lodge."
It had been organized on Jan. 24th, 1866 with Montana, No.9 of Colorado becoming No. 2 in the new grand body.
HELENA CITY LODGE NO. 10, A.F. & A.M.
HELENA CITY, MONTANA
Dispensation for brethren at Helena, Adgerton County, Montana Territory, was issued in 1865 by M. W. Bro. Archibald J. Van Deren. The fee for dispensation was $40 and was received by Grand Secretary Whittemore on July 10th, 1865.
The application for charter, with its fee of $20, was received on October 25th, 1865.
The charter was granted to Helena City as No. 10 on November 7th, 1865. The lodge had 15 Master Mason affiliates, one Fellowcraft, and one Entered Apprentice. It had initiated three and passed two but "for the want of time" had not conferred the third degree. However, the committee reported it was satisfied the brethren of Helena City were competent to confer the third degree in due form and therefore recommended the suspension of Article 14 of the bylaws and that charter be granted.
M. W. Bro. Andrew Mason reported in 1866 that he had received a letter from Bro. Cornelius Hedges, W. M. of Helena City, No. 10 "informing me of the organization of a Grand Lodge for that Territory, and asking permission to retain the charter granted to them by this Grand Body at its last communication, which permission was not granted."
At that same session, the Grand Lodge extended fraternal greetings to the new Grand Lodge and it was welcomed into the sisterhood of Grand Lodges.
Helena City No. 10 of Colorado became No.3 of Montana.
BLACKHAWK LODGE NO. 11, A.F. & A.M.
BLACK HAWK, COLORADO
The first meeting of record of Black Hawk Lodge U. D. was held February 17, 1866 by virtue of dispensation issued by Grand Master of Masons for the Territory of Colorado, Andrew Mason. He appointed Brother Chase Withrow, Worshipful Master; Brother H. M. Orahood, Senior Warden; and Brother J. W. Nesmith, Junior Warden. The following Brethren were appointed officers, J. W. Currier, Treasurer; J. S. Taylor, Secretary; John Baylon, Senior Deacon; E. W. Wurtzbach, Junior Deacon; G. W. Fairhurst, Senior Steward; Zepha Myers, Junior Steward; Alonzo Smith, Tyler. At this first meeting three petitions for membership were received, namely: Mr. J. W. Ritchie, Mr. F. B. Hurlburt and Mr. F. A. Rudolph. The lodge was named after the city of Black Hawk. On October 1, 1866, Black Hawk Lodge was granted a Charter by the Grand Lodge. The Worshipful Master was H. M. Orahood.
Two of our Grand Masters have come from the ranks of Black Hawk Lodge, M. W. Brother Chase Withrow and M. W. Brother Harper Orahood. M. W. Brother Chase Withrow was serving the Grand Lodge as Senior Grand Warden and Grand Master at the same time he was Master of Black Hawk Lodge No. 11. He was elected and served as Master of Black Hawk Lodge, fifty years later. There were twenty-two signers for dispensation.
Black Hawk Lodge, November 30th, 1960 had 62 members.
GEORGETOWN LODGE NO. 12, A.F. & A.M.
Georgetown Lodge No. 12, originally Washington Lodge No. 12, was chartered without the lodge operating under dispensation. It was granted a charter October 7, 1867 and this charter was granted to three Master Masons, namely: Andrew Mason, Worshipful Master; Jairus Hall, Senior Warden; and Dubois Tucker, Junior Warden. The first communication of Washington Lodge was held on October 22, 1867 at the Masonic Hall which was a room above the Dagleish Photograph Gallery. Lodge was opened by the three officers named in the charter and Most Worshipful Brother Henry M. Teller, Grand Master, and all Grand Lodge Officers present for the purpose dedicated and consecrated Washington Lodge No. 12. The Grand Master presented the Lodge with a large Bible which was used on the altar many years but is now in the archives.
This lodge met in several different halls until finally in December, 1890, Most Worshipful Grand Master Ernest LeNeve Foster gave permission to move to the present location. January 24, 1891, Most Worshipful Grand Master Ernest LeNeve Foster made his official visit and presented three gavels to the lodge. They had ebony handles and ivory heads. A vote of thanks was extended to Georgetown Chapter No.4, Royal Arch Masons in April 1893 for a $600.00 contribution towards expenses of moving into the new Temple and buying Furniture.
A group of seventeen Masons petitioned for a dispensation to form a new lodge but were turned down by Washington Lodge, on June 5, 1881. Later in the year on October 8, 1881, a petition was again presented and at this time the prayer of the petitioners was granted. On September 20, 1882 the Lodge was chartered as Georgetown Lodge No. 48.
In the year 1900 the question of consolidating the two lodges came up and a committee was appointed from No. 12 to investigate the feasibility of this move. They met with a like committee from No. 48 and later had a joint meeting which proposed a resolution to the effect that action be taken to consolidate under Grand Lodge By-law 135. The Worshipful Master presented the resolution but since Georgetown No. 48 had already taken action against the resolution it was laid on the table. Again in 1912 it was tried but failed. However, in March of 1916 both lodges agreed to consolidate. The charters were sent to the Most Worshipful Grand Master at Denver by William H. Bullock, P. M., and the two lodges became one to be known as Georgetown No. 12.
EL PASO LODGE NO. 13, A.F. & A.M.
COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO
The name El Paso means "pass" in Spanish and it is fitting that the lodge at the foot of the Pass, now Ute Pass, be known by that name.
First meetings of EI Paso Lodge were held in the old El Paso Hotel early in 1866 at Colorado City, now west Colorado Springs. The first meeting U. D. was on October 20, 1866. Eleven charter members were present and a resolution was passed asking the Grand Lodge to grant them a charter. Last meeting Under Dispensation was held on September 28, 1867. Until Mount Moriah Lodge in Canon City was placed Under Dispensation several Brethren would ride horseback from Canon City, fifty-five miles, to attend Lodge. They slept on the Lodge floor and rode home the next day. The charter is dated October 8, 1867 and signed by Chase Withrow, Grand Master, and the Lodge was constituted by Grand Master Henry M. Teller on November 7, 1867.
The Lodge met in many buildings until it moved into the building it now occupies at 9 North Nevada Avenue. The Cornerstone for this building was laid on May 4, 1908 by Most Worshipful Brother Joseph A. Davis, Grand Master. The building was completed the same year and dedicated with a three day celebration November 30th, December 1st & 2nd. The building is one of the most beautiful and interesting Lodges in the Country. The style of architecture is Egyptian and the Architect was Worshipful Brother Charles E. Thomas of Tejon Lodge No. 104.
In 1917 the 50th Anniversary of the Lodge was celebrated and in 1942 the 75th Anniversary. The Temple was dear of all indebtedness in 1926. El Paso Lodge, has sponsored several other Lodges namely: - Mount Moriah, No. 15, Canon City; Pueblo, No. 17, Pueblo; Manitou, No. 68, Manitou Springs; Colorado Springs, No. 76, Colorado Springs; Tejon, No. 104, Colorado Springs and Ramah, No. 165, Ramah.
EI Paso Lodge is one of the larger lodges in Colorado, having almost 1000 members. Past Masters of El Paso Lodge, who served as Grand Masters are Andrew Sagendorf, who dimitted from Denver Lodge No.5; George D. Kennedy and George W. Musser. Most Worshipful Grand Master Leon H. Snyder is serving the Grand Lodge during its Centennial Celebration. He was Worshipful Master of El Paso Lodge, in 1946. Most Worshipful Brother Snyder holds many Masonic Titles, being a 330 Honorary of the Scottish Rite. He has also distinguished himself as County, State and National Committeeman of the Rupublican Party
Other Brothers active in other Masonic Bodies: Worshipful Brother William A. Campbell, Grand High Priest in 1915, Brother James B. Barnes, Grand Commander of the Grand Commandery, 1921-1922; Worshipful Brother Eugene L. Anderson, Grand High Priest, 1958-1959; and many other Brothers who were prominent citizens and active in the affairs of the Lodge, City and State.
COLUMBIA LODGE NO. 14, A.F. & A.M.
Columbia Lodge No. 14 was granted dispensation on December 17, 1866 being sponsored by Black Hawk Lodge No.11. The dispensation was granted to twelve pioneer gold miners of Columbia City who thereby became our Masonic fathers, and to A. ]. Van Deren, fourth Grand Master (1864) of Masons of Colorado, who was designated Master of the Lodge Under Dispensation but who served as Master only at the opening meeting on January 3, 1867. The other original members were: Theo. Haswell, Senior Warden (who acted as Master throughout 1867 and was Worshipful Master throughout 1868); T. J. Johns, Junior Warden; A. Mills, Treasurer; G. W. Carter, Secretary; O. H. Henry, Senior Deacon (who was to become Master for 1870 and 1871 and, in 1875 Grand Master); E. A. Hupper, Junior Deacon; John Richardson, Tiler; ]. W. Horner; ]. W. Pomeroy; W. T. Potter; M. G. Smith (later to donate 25.5 acres of land to form the original campus of the University of Colorado at Boulder); J. F. Spaulding.
During their eight months Under Dispensation at Columbia City before their charter as Columbia Lodge No. 14 was granted on October 8, 1867, these twelve original brethren fully initiated the following twelve brethren: A. E. Berger; W. A. Corson; Bart Esmond; Henry Green; Troy McCleary; Henry Paul; Thomas Ryalls; W. C. Slater; Wilhelm Sommer; J. A. Stanton; O. H. Tubbs (later changed to E. F. Mason) ; J. W. Wigginton.
The town of Columbia City was short lived and the lodge asked permission to move to Boulder which was granted on October 7, 1868 one year after receiving its charter. Valmont Lodge had been working under dispensation and affiliated with Columbia.
M. W. Bro. Teller reported to the Grand Lodge:
"The brethren of Columbia Lodge desire to change the place of holding their meetings. The most of the members residing in and about 'Ward have removed to other sections of the country, leaving the brethren in the vicinity of Boulder City to keep up the organization. This they cannot do without considerable trouble and expense, and therefore, they desire to move the lodge to Boulder City where they have made preparations by procuring suitable rooms for lodge purposes. If this change is made it will bring Columbia within seven miles of Valmont and I do not believe both lodges can be well supported so close together. . . I cannot recommend the granting of a charter to them if Columbia lodge is allowed to meet at Boulder City."
In 1899, thirty-one years after Columbia Lodge No. 14 left its birthplace in Columbia City to survive a depressed economic situation, sufficient prosperity returned to that place to enable another group of miners to form another Masonic Lodge there in a revived town then called Ward. But after 25 years mining again became so depressed that the second Lodge, Mount Audubon, No. 107, felt unable to continue. So in 1924 it was permitted to move to Boulder and consolidate, just as Columbia, had done 54 years before.
The Lodge had the experience of moving from one town to another, absorbing two other lodges and also meeting in nine different halls. The last home of Columbia, had its cornerstone laying on September 10, 1949.
It is notable that four Grand Masters have served as Master of Columbia Lodge No. 14. It has been mentioned that A. J. Van Deren, Grand Master in 1864, was appointed Master of Columbia, U. D.; and that O. H. Henry, an original member of the Lodge U. D., was Grand Master in 1875. Two more were produced by Columbia Lodge No. 14: J. A. Davis, who was Grand Master in 1906; and Professor Wm. R. Arthur, who was Grand Master in 1936.
MOUNT MORIAH LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 15,
CANON CITY, COLORADO
Mount Moriah Lodge was first born in the minds of five men riding home from a meeting of El Paso Lodge No. 13 in Colorado Springs. These men were Stephen Frazier and his two sons, Gideon and Reuben, Charles Pauls and Mills Craig. There were only eleven Brethren in Canon City but Henry M. Teller, Grand Master, gave them a dispensation on December 11, 1867, naming Gideon Frazier as Worshipful Master, Benjamin F. Smith, Senior Warden and Stephen Frazier, Junior Warden. The following brothers were appointed:- William McClure, Treasurer; Warren R. Fowler, Secretary; Reuben Frazier, Senior Deacon; Charles Pauls, Junior Deacon; H. H. Marsh, Senior Steward; B. F. Rockafellow, Junior Steward and G. W. Depp, Tiler.
When Canon U. D. asked for a charter the name of Teller Lodge was requested but when it was granted the name was Mount Moriah. The officers under charter were the same as under Dispensation, except S. M. Cox was elected as Secretary.
The Lodge had the usual experience with different meeting places and finally decided to build their own. The cornerstone was laid on July 17, 1881 with a large attendance. The same day the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge laid the cornerstone of the new Court House, the first time the Grand Lodge laid two cornerstones in one day.
Among the members of Mount Moriah Lodge, have been a Governor, Senators and other notables. One whose name stands out through his faithfulness to the Craft was Brother Gideon Frazier. He was prominent in the following lodges, El Paso, No. 13, Mount Moriah, No. 15, Mesa, No. 55 where he was Worshipful Master for several years. Then he became charter member of Meriden Lodge No.47 in Idaho.
Mount Moriah, has as its charity fund the George H. Kellenberger Charity Fund started by Brother Kellenberger. Mount Moriah, membership growth has been steady from a beginning of eleven to its present membership as of November 30,1960 372.
CHEYENNE LODGE NO. 16, A.F.&A.M.
During the absence of Grand Master Henry M. Teller during the early part of 1868 Right Worshipful O. A. Whittemore, Deputy Grand Master, granted a dispensation to the brethren of Cheyenne, Dakota Territory, to open a lodge with Brother James Scott, 1865 Master of Golden City, No. 1, as Worshipful Master.
On his return from the east M. W. Bro. Teller visited the lodge and found it in a "prosperous condition. The inhabitants of Cheyenne are as yet quite unsettled, yet I think there is suitable material to support a good lodge at that point."
It was chartered on October 6th, 1868 with 23 members. It had initiated, passed and raised three while under dispensation.
During the following year it initiated 25, passed 24, and raised 17. It had eight affiliations and five dimissions. Its roll contained 43 Master Masons plus the Tiler who was not a member of that lodge, seven Fellowcrafts, and eight Entered Apprentices.
The Wyoming Grand Lodge was formed in 1875 by four lodges, three of them belonging to Colorado jurisdiction. This lodge became Wyoming No. 1.
PUEBLO LODGE NO. 17, A.F. & A.M.
About mid-December of 1867, two Brethren met and examined each other and became convinced that they were Masons. Augustus Bartlett and C. J. Hart then examined other men, assembled a few Masons together and arranged to submit a petition to the Grand Lodge for dispensation for the formation of a new Lodge in Pueblo, Colorado. Dr. J. W. Dickenson then posted and prepared the Brethren to form a Lodge.
The dispensation was granted on April 5, 1868 by the Deputy Grand Master, O. A. Whittemore in the absence of the Grand Master, Henry M. Teller.
The first meeting of Pueblo Lodge U. D., April 27, 1868. The Lodge was opened upon the First, Second and Third Degrees of Masonry when the motion for regular communications was carried to meet on second and fourth Wednesdays.
The first degree to be conferred was an Entered Apprentice Degree. It was conferred upon J. W. O. Snyder on May 28, 1868. J. J. Thomas was the first man raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason on June 11, 1868.
Pueblo Lodge U. D., made its return to the Grand Lodge in October of 1868 and applied for the Charter. The Charter was not delivered until December 28, 1868, because the printer had not finished the printing.
Pueblo Lodge No. 17, was dedicated and constituted by Bro. J W. Dickenson though no record remains of the authority for this action. The Lodge resolved to prohibit the introduction of spirituous, vinous or malt liquors within the Lodge.
The Lodge was given a large plot of land; some was reserved for a Lodge Cemetery. Much of this ground has been disposed of.
The Lodge moved to many locations in Pueblo for its meetings. The night of meeting has been changed several times.
The Lodge has always maintained its interest in the needs of the Fraternity, contributing to various calls.
The Lodge has many distinguished members, among the most prominent have been W. W. Cooper, Past Master and for many years the Grand Secretary. Cornelius J. Hart, Past Grand Master, Will D. Grisard, Past Grand Master, and George B. Clark, Masonic historian and museum curator.
Members at chartering were 25, members in 1960 856.
LARAMIE LODGE NO. 18, A.F. & A.M.
The Union Pacific railroad platted the townsite of Laramie City in day after the tracks to Laramie were completed the first train unloaded a "strange assortment of humanity and materials" typical of a frontier town.
Within two years 28 Masons petitioned the Grand Lodge of Colorado to establish a regular lodge. Granted dispensation on January 31, 1870, the lodge held 15 stated and 43 called communications, initiated 29, passed and raised 22 before the chartering on September 28, 1870.
Laramie Lodge No. 18 was host when the Grand Lodge of Wyoming was organized by the four lodges in the Territory of Wyoming December 15, 1874. Three of these were Colorado bodies. The other was affiliated with Nebraska.
The new Laramie Lodge No.3 of Wyoming furnished four of the new grand officers.
Finest fraternal relations have always existed between Laramie Masons and their brethren in Colorado. On August 2, 1961, actual centennial of the Grand Lodge of Colorado, a telegram of felicitations was sent to Collins Lodge No. 19 at Fort Co1Iins which was chartered on the same date as Laramie, No. 18.
COLLINS LODGE NO. 19, A.F. & A.M.
FORT COLLINS, COLORADO
The first informal meeting of Masons in Fort Collins was in Henry Clay Peterson's Workshop in 1866. There were many Freemasons in the district prior to that date, but this was the first known meeting in the area. Brother Peterson's "Work Shop" was the cradle of Masonry in Fort Collins.
As a result of this and subsequent meetings, a petition was sent to the Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Colorado requesting a Dispensation to establish a lodge in Fort Collins. Signers of the petition were recommended by Columbia Lodge, of Boulder, as having proved themselves skilled: Master Masons, and meeting the necessary requirements.
On May 22, 1870, Fidelity Lodge, Under Dispensation was organized. Most Worshipful Grand Master Henry M. Teller appointed Henry Clay Peterson, Worshipful Master; F. J. Snider, Senior Warden; B. H. Eaton, Junior Warden. The Worshipful Master then appointed A. A. Loomis, Treasurer; J. H. Bradstreet, Secretary; J. Wills, Senior Deacon; H. Straton, Junior Deacon; and T. M. Smith, Tiler. The above men were signers of the petition for dispensation as were C. J. McDivit, J. M. Smith, G. M. Swift, B. T. Whedbee and M. G. Smith.
Fidelity Lodge U. D. met on the second story of the Grout Building, where they initiated nine Entered Apprentices, passed three to the degree of a fellow craft and raised three to the sublime degree of a Master Mason. Samuel P. Holland was the first candidate to receive his degrees in Fidelity Lodge U. D.
A petition to change the name from Fidelity, to Collins Lodge, at the time of the granting of the charter was granted, and on September 28, 1870, Collins Lodge No. 19 received its charter.
Deputy Grand Master O. H. Henry instituted the Lodge and installed its First Officers under charter on October 15, 1870.
These officers were Henry Clay Peterson, Worshipful Master; J. R. Wills, Senior Warden; B. H. Eaton, Junior Warden; Abner Loomis, Treasurer; J. H. Bradstreet, Secretary; Perry Downing, Senior Deacon; H. Stratton, Junior Deacon; C. J. McDivit, Senior Steward; A. J. Davis, Junior Steward; and J. M. Smith, Tiler. Worshipful Brother Henry Clay Peterson served his Lodge as Worshipful Master Under Dispensation, and again as a chartered Lodge in 1870, 1871, 1872, 1875 and 1878, doing much to promote the general welfare of the Lodge.
The first decade was a period of work, frustration and adjustment, and reveals a great amount of charity and relief to the poor and distressed.
The second decade saw the Lodge become a factor in the community - an influence for the betterment of Fort Collins.
The end of the third decade marked thirty years of genuine Masonry, wherein charity, ritualistic decor and the welfare of the Lodge were of prime importance, with social intercourse only at times when it did not interfere with the welfare of the lodge or its members.
The fourth decade of Collins Lodge, saw it move into its own Temple or rather a Temple for the Lodge and Constituent Bodies. This was the fourth home of Collins Lodge, the first being in the Grout Building, second the hall over Stover E. Tomlin Store, and third in the Loomis Block. The Worshipful Master at the beginning of this decade was L. D. Crain, who served as Grand Master in 1917-18.
In 1911 under guidance of I. E. Newsom as Worshipful Master, who became Grand Master in 1928, the lodge continued to move forward. The highlight of this year was the laying of the cornerstone of the Federal Building by Grand Master Robert M. Simons, assisted and supported by Collins Lodge No. 19.
The period from 1910 to 1920 showed a healthy growth in the lodge and community. A change in the By-laws was necessary to avoid the possibility of a repetition of loss in Lodge Funds, which was discovered on the death of the secretary in 1909. An audit of his books showed a deficit from 1906 to 1909 of over $1000.
A Masonic Library was started in 1914.
The period 1920 to 1930 saw the planning and building of a New Temple and the furthering of social activities.
The New Temple was dedicated at a special communication June 27, 1927 by the Grand Master, Most Worshipful Brother Frank J. Reinhard, assisted by the Grand Lodge officers and" members of Collins Lodge. The Lodge received many gifts at this time, from members and relatives of deceased members.
The years 1930 to 1940 were trying years. The Lodge funds were depleted and membership dropped due to the economic condition of the country. Many were suspended for non-payment of dues. This period saw a decrease in membership from 772 to 590, a net loss of 182.
Membership decreases continued in the early 1940's, but more members were paying dues and by 1945 when the Lodge celebrated its 75th year things had stabilized. Beginning with the year 1946 the Lodge has had a healthy increase in membership and a financial recovery that saw the burning of the mortgage on the Temple, December 27, 1948.
The decade of the 1950's continued leveling off with a stable membership and sound financial status.
The highlight of this period was the laying of the cornerstone of the County Court House by Grand Master, Most Worshipful Brother Charles A. Mantz, a former member of Collins Lodge, assisted by other Grand Lodge officers, in September, 1955.
On May 15, 1959, a petition for the degrees was received from J. L. Dickey, a great grandson of Henry Clay Peterson, the first Worshipful Master and one of the founders of Collins Lodge No. 19. Thus into the fourth generation the Collins Lodge continues to encompass its members in the precepts of Masonry.
OCCIDENTAL LODGE NO. 20, A.F. & A.M.
On November 29, 1870, there was granted to a group of Greeley Masons a dispensation to operate a lodge. Some months later, on September 26, 1871, M.W.G.M. Henry M. Teller granted the lodge a charter, which was signed by 30 members. From this humble beginning the lodge membership increased to 663 on November 30, 1960.
During its 90 years of existence, the lodge has met in 6 different locations, including one meeting place that was formerly the stage of the Greeley Opera House. One building was destroyed by fire in 1883. That was occupied under a 99 year lease and in 1959 a quitclaim deed was given so that the Greeley National Bank, the present owner, might obtain a loan on it for their holding company.
The cornerstone of the present Temple, at 9th Street and 10th Avenue, was laid June 20, 1927 by M.W.G.M. Frank J. Reinhart. The first lodge meeting in the new Temple was held on October 14, 1927.
In 1908, Henry T. West, Past Grand Marshal, was made a Permanent Grand Lodge Member for his zeal, ability, and faithful services for nearly half a century. He was a regular attendant at Grand Lodge for nearly 40 years until he moved to Idaho in 1910. A letter of his recollections about the world's development during his life span entertained the Grand Lodge in 1917. He died in 1923 having been a Mason over 70 years.
Dr. Zachariah X. Snyder, president of the State Normal School, now Colorado State College, served as Grand Chaplain from 1904 to 1915.
Tyndall Snyder, Senior Grand Steward, died in 1948. Giles N. Alkire was appointed to the Grand Officer line to succeed him but was drafted two years afterwards to follow Charles L. Young as Grand Lecturer.
Irving Cannon, P. M., is now serving our Grand Lodge as Grand Marshal.
The lodge has always been interested in strengthening the ties of Masonry and is assisting in the forming of a new lodge in Greeley.
ARGENTA LODGE NO. 21, A.F. & A.M.
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH
Argenta Lodge was given a dispensation April 8, 1871 by Grand Master Henry M. Teller; Ebenezer H. Shaw to act as Worshipful Master, Elias B. Zabriskie, as Senior Warden and Martin Harkness, as Junior Warden.
On September 26, 1871 the Grand Lodge of Colorado granted a charter to Argenta Lodge No. 21, Utah Territory. There were thirteen members. There being three Lodges in Utah Territory, they met on January 6, 1872 for the purpose of forming a Grand Lodge. This was accomplished on January 20, 1872 and Argenta was given the number 3. Argenta Lodge was a member of Colorado Grand Lodge only five months.
WESTON LODGE NO. 22, A.F. & A.M.
For several months in the latter part of 1871, the necessity of a Masonic lodge in the Littleton area had been discussed by a group of Masons. A petition for a dispensation was submitted to the Grand Lodge and on March 1, 1872, the dispensation was granted by M.W.G.M. Henry M. Teller. The lodge minutes do not show that a charter was received. They merely indicate a change from "U.D." to "No. 22".
The meeting nights were set as the first and third Saturdays of each month and have been changed only once. That was for a short time when the meetings were held only on the first Saturday.
The first stated communication was held April 8, 1872 at the corner of what was then Rapp Avenue and Alamo Street. Nearly 50 years later, after several moves, Weston Lodge occupied its present Temple, just across the alley from its first meeting place. This Temple was dedicated on November 19, 1921 by M. W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet.
There were only a few communications held between July 13, 1878 and November 4, 1882. At several meetings a charter surrender was discussed and on at least two occasions a ballot was taken but it was decided the lodge should continue its struggle for survival.
The 3 original chairs used by the Master and Wardens, the original jewels and officers' aprons, the original three Great Lights and many other items of historic interest are still in possession of the lodge.
There were 400 members on November 30, 1960.
ST. VRAIN LODGE NO. 23, A.F. & A.M.
On June 22, 1872, Most Worshipful Grand Master Henry M. Teller granted a dispensation to a group of about 20 Master Masons with Ed B. Newman as Worshipful Master, W. M. Rech as Senior Warden and E. J. Coffman as Junior Warden. On June 6, the first meeting was held in the Thompson Building, located at the corner of 5th and Main Streets. The city of Longmont at this time was about one year old.
The Lodge was named after the well known and celebrated pioneer, Ceran St. Vrain who was a member of Montezuma Lodge No. 109 at Santa Fe, New Mexico Territory and who, together with Charles Bent, in 1837, built Fort St. Vrain which is now Platteville.
The first Brother to receive his degrees was W.W Secor. The charter was received on Sept. 25, 1872. Brother Ed B. Newman Worshipful Master.
In 1877, the Lodge moved to larger quarters which were the property of the Methodist Church and met there until it moved into the new Temple in 1883.
In 1879, Past Master Byron L. Carr was elected Grand Master. In 1885, Brother George E. Wyman was also elected Grand Master. In 1873, Bro. Byron Carr assisted in drafting the Colorado State Constitution and in 1896 he was elected Colorado State Attorney. Bro. E. F. Beckweth was elected Secretary of State in 1898.
In 1890, St. Vrain Lodge assisted brethren of the Berthoud district in forming their Lodge which has since been known as No. 80. During this year the membership reached 100.
In 1892, electricity was insta1led in the Temple as well as the Lodge Rooms.
Early in Feb. 1905, fire completely destroyed the Temple. The only thing salvaged was the fire-proof safe which contained all records. The Odd Fellows of this city proved to be very good friends. Their Lodge rooms were used until our Temple was completely restored. At this time signs were posted marked "No Smoking".
In 1908, No. 23 assisted in organizing the Lodge at Lyons.
In 1911 our Brother L. H. Dickson passed away. He was Worshipful Master in 1879, Tiler from 1894 to 1911, as well as Mayor of Longmont from 1881 through 1885. This year the membership passed the 200 mark
In 1922 the 50th celebration was held. Two charter members were present. The mortgage of the new Temple was burned. Membership was 300.
In 1927, Bro. John Andrew was elected Grand Master. During this year Bro. J. W. Denio who had served this Lodge as Treasurer for 34 years resigned. In 1939, Bro. Alex M. Preston, the last charter member of this Lodge passed away. In 1947, our Bro. and Past Grand Master, John Andrews passed away. In 1950, the membership passed the 400 mark. In 1952, Bro. L. B. Flanders who served as Treasurer of the Lodge for 25 years passed away and Bro. Joseph Goforth, who served as Tiler for 33 years resigned. In 1958, No. 23 assisted in forming the Lodge at Estes Park
It is interesting to note that 20 of the 34 men elected as Mayor of Longmont have been Master Masons.
Three charter members have served this Lodge as Worshipful Masters. It has assisted in laying corner-stones of the following public buildings: Bryant Pubiic School, the City Hall, the Post Office, Erie High School; also assisted in the dedication of the Masonic Temple at Johnstown.
Members, 1960 490
EVANSTON LODGE NO. 24, A.F. & A.M.
For a little more than a year, from September 8, 1873 until September 30, 1874, the lodge at Evanston, Wyoming served under dispensation granted by the Grand Lodge of Colorado. Orlando North was Worshipful Master.
However, it existed for less than four months as No. 24 of Colorado as it was one of four lodges in Wyoming Territory which formed the Grand Lodge of Wyoming on December 15, 1874.
Evanston Masons were prominent in early Grand Lodge affairs. W. Bro. North, originally a member of the jurisprudence committee, became Grand Master in 1877-78. F. M. Foote, first Grand Treasurer, became Grand Master in 1880-81. R. T. Hilliard was first Junior Grand Steward and a member of the committee on foreign correspondence.
DORIC LODGE NO. 25, A.F. & A.M.
In January 1874, Grand Master Webster D. Anthony granted a dispensation to a group of 24 Master Masons with James V. Dexter as W.M., Abraham Bergh as S.W., and J. W. Chapel, J.W. Arthur Edgar Jones was the first candidate to receive the three degrees.
On Sept. 30, 1874, the Lodge received its charter. First officers were Abraham Bergh as W.M., J. Marshall Paul as S.W., and C. G. Hathaway as J.W. The name of Brother Arthur Edgar Jones appears again as he was appointed a Steward.
Brother Abraham Bergh served this Lodge as Worshipful Master on five different occasions and passed away during his fifth term.
For many years the Lodge met in the Odd Fellows Hall. In 1882 the Odd Fellows loaned No. 25 enough money to make the down payment on the new Temple. which the Lodge still owns.
The minutes show that No. 25 sent $25 to the Grand Lodge of Louisiana for the benefit of fever stricken Brothers in that State and that in Aug. 1881 several brethren of this Lodge assisted in organizing a Masonic Lodge at Breckenridge. The minutes of the October 7, 1892 state that any member reaching the age of 60 shall be exempt from payment of dues. The records further show that Brother John Z. Walker was elected Master on 7 different occasions and that Brother J. W. Sykes, secretary, served for 17 consecutive years.
The regular meeting which was held August 7, 1907 was a memorable one. Brother Arthur Edgar Jones, Grand Master, visited his own Lodge where he was made a Mason more than 33 years before. During the 50th anniversary held on Sept. 3, 1924, he was the only living charter member in attendance. On May 16, 1945, M.W. Bro. Jones passed away after having been a Master Mason for 70 years!
In 1932 Congressman Edward T. Taylor presented No. 25 with a picture of George Washington which still graces the wall of the Lodge. Many familiar names are to be found in the Guest Book, among which are William M. Nelson, W. W. Cooper, Frank D. Allen, C. R. Young, Judge Luxford, C. M. Vaile, Hazlett P. Burke.
The present financial condition is good. During the 75th anniversary of this Lodge it was reported that more than 1,800 different meetings had been held as of September 30th, 1949. Membership, 1960: 113.
IDAHO SPRINGS LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 26,
IDAHO SPRINGS, COLORADO
Grand Master Webster D. Anthony granted the dispensation under date of July 16, 1874 with the following brothers as officers: Worshipful Master, R. D. Stang; Senior Warden, W. A. Ross; and Junior Warden, Robert Ellis. It is interesting to note that there were 21 names on the petition and they came from the following states: Vermont, Indiana, Kansas, California, Illinois, West Virginia, New Jersey, Michigan as well as from three different Colorado Lodges. At the first meeting two petitions were received and the first candidate to receive the first degree was John Moyle.
Charter was received from the Grand Lodge under date of September 22. 1874. During the early years the Lodge met in several different places and finally in December 1884, moved into the Lodge Rooms in the Wilson Building and in May 1890, we purchased this building and to this day it is known as the Masonic Temple. Throughout the years many improvements have been made.
In June, 1884, Lodges 12, and 48, joined with us in the celebrating of St. John's Day for the Annual Picnic. Another important date was June, 1888, when electricity was installed in the Temple.
In December, 1894, Past Master William L. Bush who was made a Master Mason in 1884 was elected Grand Master. Shortly thereafter, he visited his own Lodge and was received with honors. The guest book at this time shows brethren visiting us who were members in Cornwall, England; British North America, and states of Missouri, Michigan, Iowa, Indiana, Pennsylvania, as well as several Lodges from our own state. On many occasions the brethren from the nearby Lodges, Blackhawk, Central City, Nevadaville and Georgetown visited the Lodge and assisted in the work in the several degrees.
On several occasions this Lodge laid cornerstones both in the town surrounding cities. In 1885, it assisted the Grand Master at the local High School, then again in 1889, assisted at one of the Grade School buildings.
Through the years it contributed to various funds: notably the Johnstown Flood, the San Francisco earthquake, the Florida flood as well as to several local brethren.
The minutes of May 23, 1903, show the following motion: "That we celebrate St. John's Day each year by attending Church" and to this day, that practice has been continued.
In May, 1932, Brother Samuel M. Smith resigned as secretary after having served this Lodge faithfully for 18 years.
Up to and including August, 1960, it had a total of 2,406 meetings. Twelve of our brethren have received 50 year pins. This record would not be complete if we failed to say that probably the outstanding visitor was the late Brother Charles R. Young, Grand Lecturer, who attended here for 26 straight years, the first time being March 7, 1923.
Members, 1960 140.
HUERFANO LODGE NO. 27, A.F. & A.M.
This Lodge has rather a unique history in that one of the first white settlers, Henry Daigre, who settled here in 1863 was among those who signed a petition requesting the Grand Master of the State of Colorado for a dispensation for a Masonic Lodge in this community.
The request was granted on August 25, 1874. The Charter was dated September 22, 1875. During this year 7 Brethren were received either by initiation or affiliation, and 24 names appear as charter members. Some of the familiar names are: Quillian, Unfug, Daigre, Vasquez, Walsen, Levy, DeOlivera.
During the first year the Lodge met in the upper story of the building which was occupied by the Walsen & Levy Store. In the next year, Charles Mazzone was constructing a new one-story building in the 700 block on South Main and by verbal agreement the Lodge added a second story. This arrangement proved very satisfactory for the records show that the Lodge met there for the next 35 years.
In 1884 eleven brethren dimitted and joined in organizing Lodge No. 59 at La Veta.
In 1901, the Worshipful Master appointed a Building Committee to consider ways and means of building our own Temple. The last meeting held in the old hall was dated June 18, 1910. The first meeting in our new Temple was dated July 2, 1910. The dedication ceremonies took place on September 10 with Grand Master George W. Musser and other Grand Officers in attendance. About 150 persons, Masons, their wives and members of the Eastern Star were in attendance.
The first candidate to receive his work in the new Temple was Brother John B. Griffis, who afterward served this Lodge so well as its secretary.
The Lodge has twice been honored by the Grand Lodge. In 1881 Past Master for many terms, Robert A. Quillen, was installed as Grand Master. Then again in 1903, Brother James R. Killian was elevated to the same office.
In 1917, the annual Past Masters night was inaugurated when Brother Walter R. Shade was Master. It is held annually either on Memorial Day or the Saturday nearest that holiday.
Members, 1960 260
LAS ANIMAS LODGE NO. 28, A.F. & A.M.
The year 1875 has meant much to Masons of Trinidad and the surrounding district. It was that year that 27 sojourning Master Masons petitioned the Grand Master for a special dispensation which was granted. The first meeting was held with Brothers Gideon B. Cornell as Worshipful Master, Albert G. Stark as Senior Warden and George R. Swallow as Junior Warden, on April 20th. The Grand Lodge granted a charter and the first regular meeting was held September 22, 1875 with the same three brothers serving as officers. The record shows that on November 16, 1875, the Lodge met in the Hall which was owned by M. Biernbaum located in the 200 block on West Main Street.
In 1877, Brother Stockley D. Hayes set apart 10 acres of his homestead and to this day it is known as the Masonic Cemetery and is being operated by the Mason Cemetery Association. In July, 1891, the Masonic Temple Association was organized and in 1900 the present site was purchased.
At a regular communication of the Lodge held in December, 1896, the following resolution was adopted: "Any member may become a 'Life Member' at the age of 70 if his total assets are less than $15,000." In 1903, the first Brother received his 50 year jewel. The record does not give his name, however.
Between the years of 1905 - 1915, No.28 was suffering from growing pains! At the beginning of this period there were 175 members and by the end of 1915, the membership totaled 266 members. According to the minutes, almost every meeting saw the conferring of at least one degree and on many occasions the candidate would receive two degrees!
No. 28 has taken a prominent part in civic matters. In 1899, The Grand Lodge laid the corner-stone for the Aaron Temple. In 1909, the corner-stone of the new City Hall was laid and the next year the laying of the corner-stone for the new Court House took place. In 1911 the new Temple was completed and was dedicated by the Grand Lodge with more than 700 Brothers in attendance.
On February 25, 1917, the remains of the first Worshipful Master, Brother Gideon B. Cornell, were laid to rest in the Masonic Cemetery.
One Past Master, Brother John R. Swinton, was appointed as Grand Senior Steward on September 20, 1939 and was elected ,Most Worshipful Grand Master on September 17, 1947. He passed away while in office on September 10, 1948, just 11 days before his term of office would have expired. His Apron was presented to the Lodge on December 15, 1948.
The minutes of the regular meeting of February 21, 1950 shows that Mrs. Arthur W. Milliken presented this Lodge with an old family Bible. This Bible was printed in 1792 and bears the name of George Washington as one of the subscribers of that particular printing. It was the custom at that time to print the Bible only after a required number of individuals had subscribed.
Membership, 1960 353
DEL NORTE LODGE NO. 29, A.F. & A.M.
DEL NORTE, COLORADO
Dispensation granted September 24, 1875.
Charter granted September 20, 1876.
KING SOLOMON LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 30,
LAS ANIMAS, COLORADO
During the winter of 1875-76, a number of Masons doing business in the 3 year old town of West Las Animas, a number in the service of the Kansas Pacific Railroad, running from Kit Carson to West Las Animas, and a number of officers and soldiers on duty at Fort Lyon held a meeting for the purpose of organizing a Masonic lodge.
On February 7, 1876, M.W. Bro. Oren H. Henry granted a dispensation and the first meeting of the lodge under this dispensation was held on February 10, 1876. A charter was granted September 20, 1876, at which time there were 23 charter members. On November 30, 1960 there were 207 members.
During its first years the lodge occupied many different meeting places. The desire for their own Temple was strong in the minds of the members and on July 19, 1902, a committee was named to draw up plans for a building. The corner-stone of the new building was laid on September 16, 1909 by M.W. Bro. John B. Haffy. That difficulties were many is attested by the fact that it was not until January 4, 1918 that the Temple was dedicated by iVLW. Bro. L D Crain.
The lodge has always taken great interest in civic affairs and has also Masonic home for many veterans who have been stationed at Fort Lyon.
Membership, 1960 207
SOUTH PUEBLO LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO.31,
South Pueblo Lodge No. 31 was founded in 1876.
At that time Pueblo consisted of three villages, Pueblo, Central Pueblo, and South Pueblo. Pueblo Lodge No. 17 was the only Masonic Lodge and met on the North side of the Arkansas River. With many of its members living on the South side, the travel was difficult and dangerous because of the criminal characters lurking in the district.
One day early in 1876, two Masons, Brothers Chris Wilson and Horace N. Banks, conceived the idea of a Lodge in South Pueblo. The result was that 16 brothers met and explored the idea. This meeting was held at Victoria Hotel, Corner of "13" Street and Victoria Avenue. These brothers, for the "good of the cause," donated from $15.00 to $25.00 apiece.
On March 9, 1876 application was made to Pueblo Lodge No. 17 for permission to apply for a dispensation.
Dispensation was granted and on March 22, 1876, South Pueblo Lodge U. D. was opened. This meeting was held at 319 South Union with H. N. Banks, W.M.; J J. Thomas, S.W.; J. H. Divelbiss, J.W. Stephan A. Walley was the first man to receive the degrees. The first brother raised after charter was Brother James P. Martel.
The charter was dated September 20, 1876 and the Lodge was constituted on October 6, 1876.
In the year 1880, a bridge was erected across the Arkansas River, on Union Avenue. This induced members of No. 31, No. 17 and Commandery No. 12 to combine their efforts in the construction of a Masonic Temple. At the communication of April 21, 1881, the members authorized the purchase of the site of the present Temple at Broadway and Evans Avenue.
One year from date the Temple was completed, Grand Master Horace N. Banks dedicated the Temple on May 22, 1882. From 1882 to 1893 the Lodge prospered with no financial difficulty. On March 9, 1886 the citizens of Pueblo voted to consolidate the three villages into the City of Pueblo.
In 1893 South Pueblo Lodge No. 31 sponsored the establishment of Silver State Lodge No. 95. In this year the Temple Association erected a fire station on the rear of the Temple lot and rented it to the City of Pueblo. By March 3, 1904, South Pueblo Lodge No. 31 was completely out of debt. In the year of 1923 an Improvement Program was launched; new rooms were added, the Temple remodeled and a new elevator installed. The cost was about $20,000. This debt was cleared by 1945.
South Pueblo Lodge No. 31 has taken an active part in the proceedings of the Grand Lodge in the Laying of Corner-stones: Pueblo County Court House, 1908, Community Chest Bldg., Municipal Golf Course Building, Pueblo Jr. College, Park Hill Jr. High School, Risley Jr. High School, and the Pueblo Police Building.
In 1949 with Paul Heath, W.M., Ross Leithhead, S.W., Fred Polhill, J.W., Arthur Copley, Secty., the chairs in the Dining Hall were installed. Since that time many other improvements have been made with the Temple being in use practically every day in the week.
Membership, 1960 883.
OLIVE BRANCH LODGE NO. 32, A.F. & A.M.
The first meeting under dispensation was held March 24th, 1877, with I. C. Bassett as W.M., J. G. McOllough, S.W., and Charles Hearn, J.W. At this time Cornelius J. Hart was Grand Master.
Charter was granted September 18, 1877 and the Grand Master appointed Brother E. I. Elliott, Worshipful Master of Del Norte Lodge No. 29, to act for him to constitute Olive Branch Lodge No. 32. Worshipful Brother Elliott, with a number of members of Del Norte Lodge No. 29, constituted this Lodge on October 3, 1877 with J. N. Payton as W.M., Charles Hearn, S.W., and C. W. Baldwin, J.W.
The first meeting place of the lodge was the room of Centennial Lodge No. 23, I.0.0.F.
The first recorded visit of a Grand Master to this lodge was June 23, 1900 with 18 Masons present. Joseph W. Milson was the Grand Master.
Brother Charles Tarbell, who has been a member of No. 32 for 49 years, has served some 33 years as Treasurer.
In the beginning No. 32 met on the 2nd and 4th Saturdays of each month. However, in 1880 a change in the Bylaws permitting them meetings "with the moon" was submitted to the Grand Lodge for its approval, and was granted.
All through the years, many of the minutes show that this lodge has looked after the welfare of its members, paying for doctors and funerals and helping the distressed not only with financial assistance, but also looking after the moral standing of its members. As early as 1890, the minutes show that this lodge observed St. John's Day, inviting members of Monte Vista and Del Norte to be guests.
Starting with 17 Charter Members, No. 32 has raised 208 Brothers over the years, 21 have been admitted by affiliation and 77 have dimitted.
The 1960 membership is 88
SAN JUAN LODGE NO. 33, A.F. & A.M.
San Juan Lodge No. 33 received its charter September 18, 1877. First Lodge officers were: John Rogers, W.M.; Edmund T. Sweet, S.W.; Don M. Dana, J.W.
The location of the first Lodge Room was on the second floor of a two story frame building on the site now occupied by the brick stable of Elton McJunkin on Green or Main Street. The lower floor was occupied by a saloon. The Lodge Room was suitably furnished and the membership multiplied rapidly. On the night of December 18, 1892, a bitterly cold night, a fire started in the saloon and in a few moments enveloped the entire building, burning it completely to the ground. The original charter of the Lodge was saved by strenuous and daring effort; all else, books, records and furniture, was entirely destroyed.
The second location of the Lodge was on the present site, corner of West 13th Street and Reese Street. It was a rather small two story frame residence building where the local newspaper, The Silverton Miner, was published on the ground floor and a family resided upstairs. This building was acquired from a Building and Loan Association on account of delinquent payments. and remodeled-the upstairs for a lodge room and the lower floor for offices. After a few years, the membership constantly increasing, the Lodge room was found inadequate to accommodate the work being performed. .Members were solicited for donations to enlarge the building and with successful results. The present building now stands as one of the outstanding structures in the city, the lower floor offering rental apartments as a source of revenue. The Lodge room is also used by the Eastern Star, Silverton Chapter No. 54 Royal Arch Masons and Rainbow Girls Assembly No. 75, U. D.
CRYSTAL LAKE LODGE NO, 34, A.F. & A.M.
CRYSTAL LAKE, COLORADO
Dispensation granted February 19, 1878.
Charter granted September 18, 1878.
Members November 30,1960 22.
LEADVILLE LODGE NO. 35, A.F. & A.M.
This pertains to Ionic Lodge No. 35 and Leadville Lodge No. 51, now consolidated as Leadville Lodge No. 35. Fourteen Master Masons petitioned for dispensation to form a lodge on June 1, 1878. It was granted and Ionic Lodge No. 35 was chartered October 26, 1878 by Most Worshipful Brother Roger W. Woodbury, Grand Master. The Lodge was constituted and officers installed on November 7, 1878 by Brother J. lVl. Fox who was appointed by the Grand Master to act as his representative. The following were the officers at this time; J. E. Cole, W.M.; H. C. Vaughn, S.W.; William Braden, J.W.
On December 1, 1881, 24 Master Masons petitioned for dispensation to form a new lodge, which was to become known as Leadville Lodge No. 51. On March 22, 1882, dispensation was granted by Most Worshipful Bro. Robert A. Quillian, Grand Master. First meeting U.D. was held on April 7, 1882 and the lodge was chartered on September 20, 1882, with Robert L. DeLay, W.M.; David H. Dougen, S.W.; and Robert L. Hatten, J.W.
Both lodges met in the same hall on different nights, sharing the rent. On July 28, 1931, both lodges voted on consolidation, which carried by a unanimous vote. October 1, 1931, was the first meeting of the new lodge known as Leadville Lodge No. 35; the Secretaries and Treasurers of both of the old lodges were ordered to close their books and turn all funds in to the Treasurer of Leadville Lodge No. 35.
The first meeting place of Ionic Lodge was in the Keystone Block on Jan. 6, 1881. Permission was asked and received to move to 5th and Harrison, where the Court House now stands. On July 15, 1909, a committee was appointed to arrange for a new building at 7th and Harrison, which still remains the meeting place. On October 6, 1910, the corner-stone of the new Masonic Temple was laid and on February 6, 1911 the building was dedicated.
Many important events are listed in the minutes, such as the laying of the corner-stone for the Public Library on Oct. 10, 1902; also the laying of the cornerstone of the Lake County Court House on Aug. 5, 1880. The charter of the lodge was draped for 60 days on Sept. 19, 1901 in memory of our late Bro. William McKinley, President of the United States.
Land for the Masonic Cemetery was purchased April 28, 1880. Many of the old markers are still legible. Original lodge furniture consisting of Altar, officers' chairs, jewels, staffs, columns, and the unusual ten foot columns are still in use; also the gas lighted letter G. Early officers' aprons were leather, with blue borders, silver tassels on three sides, emblem of office on bottom and All Seeing Eye on the flap. A gavel made from a walrus tusk and presented to the Lodge by Bro. Jas. K. Darnell of Seattle, Wash., is still in evidence.
Among the important names in the Lodge are Samuel D. Nicholson, U.S. Senator; Chas. Boettcher, Financier; Franklin Coolbaugh, Pres., American Metals Co.
No. 35 has furnished four Grand Masters, namely: M.W. Bros. Albert Branch, 1886; John M. Maxwell, 1891; A. A. Burnand, 1899; H. W. Woodward, 1911. Barney L. Whatley was Gr. Orator in 1958. H. W. Woodward was Gr. Treas. for 15 years.
Members, 1960 175.
ROSITA LODGE NO. 36, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted April 3, 1879.
Charter granted September 17, 1879.
Consolidated with Silver Cliff Lodge No. 38.
OURAY LODGE NO, 37, A.F.&A.M.
Dispensation granted April 18, 1879.
Charter granted September 17, 1879.
Members November 30, 1960 70
SILVER CLIFF LODGE NO. 38, A.F. & A.M.
Sometime in the latter part of 1879 or early part of 1880 several brethren of Rosita Lodge No. 36, A. F. & A. M., having moved to Silver Cliff, signed a petition for dispensation to form a Masonic Lodge at Silver Cliff.
This dispensation was granted and was signed by Grand Master Byron L. Carr, on May 1, 1880.
The Lodge was instituted on Thursday, May 13, 1880, under the title of Sangre De Cristo Lodge U.D.
Silver Cliff Lodge No. 38 was constituted on Thursday, October 17, 1880, by members of Rosita Lodge No. 36. By special permission of the Grand Lodge, Brother G. S. Adams, a Past Master of Rosita Lodge, was appointed Deputy Grand Master for the occasion. The ceremony took place in the same hall that is used by No. 38 today. In fact, with the exception of a short period of time, February 1, 1886, to September 1, 1887, all meetings of No. 38 have been held in the same building.
On November 4, 1909, Rosita Lodge No. 36 surrendered its charter and united with Silver Cliff Lodge No. 38. The reason for surrendering its charter was not finances, which is evident by the fact that No. 36 brought with it $1,198.27, but because by 1909 the gold mines had ceased operating around Rosita and most of the members being miners had moved to Silver Cliff where the mines were still in operation.
No meetings of Silver Cliff Lodge No. 38 were held from May 16 to October 5, 1916, because the hall was being moved to Westcliffe.
On September 26, 1940, No. 38 celebrated its 60th anniversary.
On July 14, 1953, No. 38 assisted by Grand Master Hubert Glover and other members of the Grand Lodge laid the corner-stone for the elementary school at Westcliffe.
On September 24, 1955, No. 38 celebrated its 75th anniversary. Grand Master Aubrey Spann was present for the occasion.
Silver Cliff Lodge No. 38 has had but 49 Masters in its 80 years.
|1||Master (E.T. Wadleigh)||served 8 times|
|1||Master (E.W. Eddy)||served 5 times|
|1||Master (John Deitz)||served 4 times|
|1||Master (W.W. Hanssen)||served 3 times|
|15||Masters||served 2 times|
GUNNISON LODGE NO. 39, A.F. & A.M.
Gunnison Lodge, No. 39 received a special dispensation from Most Worshipful Grand Master Lawrence N. Greenleaf under date of Jan. 1, 1881 and was granted a Charter by the Grand Lodge of Colorado, Sept. 20, 1881 with thirty brothers as charter members.
The Lodge has held its meetings during the many years of its existence in several different places. On April 13, 1957, the corner-stone for the new Masonic Temple was laid by the Most Worshipful Grand Master D. Aubrey Spann. This was the first time a Grand Master of Masons of Colorado laid the corner-stone of a Masonic Temple of which he was a member.
For many years the Lodge shared our quarters which is also No. 39. In fact, the Woodmen of the long as it survived was also No. 39.
No. 39 acknowledges close friendship with special thanks to Crystal Lake Lodge No. 34 and Montrose Lodge No. 63.
Brother D. Aubrey Spann and Brother L. B. Lashbrook both took their obligation for the first degree on the same day in 1928. Brother Spann later became Grand Master of Masons and Brother Lashbrook has served many years as Secretary of the Lodge.
"From a very humble beginning until the present date, the Lodge has grown slowly, but steadily. The heritage of our ancient Brothers which has been handed down from generation to generation is now ours. Let us keep this heritage clear so that we may hand it down to future generations, unblemished, and when our day's work is done may it be our pleasure to hear from the Great Grand Master of the Universe the welcome words, 'Well done good and faithful servant, enter Thou into the joy of Thy Lord."
Members, 1960 203
PITKIN LODGE NO. 40, A.F. & A.M.
This Lodge was granted a dispensation February 10, 1881.
Chartered September 21, 1881.
It is now extinct.
SCHILLER LODGE NO.41, A.F. & A.M.
In 1859 there was held, throughout the world, a spontaneous celebration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of Johann Christoph Friedrich Von Schiller, an author of humble birth, who through his championship of freedom, morality a
In 1881, a group of German speaking Masons wishing to honor this outstanding Mason, requested the Grand Lodge for a dispensation to start a lodge in Denver, using the name of Schiller. They also requested permission to conduct their work in German and keep all records in German writing. Although the dispensation was granted by M.W. Bro. Lawrence N. Greenleaf, Grand Master, the Committee on Charters and Dispensations, differed with the Grand Master in their recommendations to the Grand Lodge, and some took a very definite stand on the matter. However, the action of the Grand Lodge was favorable and on Sept. 21, 1881, Schiller Lodge No. 41 was constituted and the charter was signed by M.W. Bro. Robert A. Quillian, Grand Master, with Adolph Candler as W.M., Chas. F. Miller as S.W., and Herman Wortmann as J.W.
During the next 38 years Schiller Lodge continued to do the work in German. However, as many of the younger members could not speak German, some of the sons joined other lodges and in 1919 the change was made to English. There are still many Masons who recall, with pleasure, their visit to this unusual lodge, in its first 38 years.
Schiller Lodge first met in the Fink Bldg. at 15th and Holliday (now Market St.), next to the Old City Hall, on the 4th floor, at 14th and Larimer. Due to a fire, the lodge then moved to the Masonic Temple, 16th and Welton, then to the old EI Jebel Shrine Temple (now Rocky Mountain Consistory), then to the Colorado Consistory Cathedral, 14th and Grant.
Many outstanding Masons have been members of Schiller Lodge No. 41, and their list of Honorary members shows several who are well known to all Masons, namely: M.W. Bro. Hazlett P. Burke, Past Grand Master; M.W. Bro. Adolph S. Walter, Past Grand Master of New Mexico, whose father was a member of Schiller; Luther Van Buskirk, Past Grand Tiler and who has been Tiler for No. 41 for 35 years; also Brothers Jess McCracken and Warren Summers who by virtue of their continued visitations and assistance were added to the list of Honorary members.
Membership, 1960 496
CORINTHIAN LODGE NO. 42, A.F. & A.M.
On April 16, 1881, a dispensation was granted to Corinthian, No. 42 and sponsored by Ionic Lodge No. 35 of Leadville. The officers were John N. Harder, W.M.; F. H. Sutherland, S.W.; Albert L. Ordeau, J .W.; and B. C. Ross, Secretary. Their first meeting U.D. was May 3, 1881. On September 19, 1881, the Charter was read and Corinthian Lodge No. 42 duly opened by J. M. Fox acting for Grand Master Robert A. Quillian.
On Oct. 13, 1881 a disastrous fire destroyed the biggest part of Kokomo including the Lodge Room. On Jan. 11, 1882 with a special dispensation from Ionic Lodge No. 35, the lodge was convened and an election held. A regular meeting was held on Jan. 21, 1882 and business resumed.
On Aug. 15, 1882 the Brethren rented the Odd Fellows Hall and meetings were held there until September 18, 1888 when the present Temple was purchased.
During 1888, No. 42 bought furnishings and refurnished the building; then the Odd Fellows rented from them.
The dining room has been used for a church, voting place, parties and dances, also for an evening school and a post office.
Bro. Ben F. Rich is the one Mason most responsible for not allowing the Charter to lapse, during the lull of mining activities in the area when the resident membership dropped to a minimum of one.
M.W. Grand Master Alphonse A. Burnard visited on July 24,1900.
In December, 1933, it was found that the acting Treasurer had taken all the money but $6.00. However, he deeded his home to the Lodge and the loss was recovered. On May 25, 1943, Grand Master Howard T. Vaille visited No. 42 and told the Master to "hold on to that Charter" and with the help of lodges of Leadville, Breckenridge, Eagle, Minturn and Fairplay it has been done. This Lodge is the highest in the world except the one in Peru, South America. Many railroads have made their appearance at Kokomo but there is none now. Also of the many Custom Mills and Smelters which were in operation nearby, none remains. At present there are a few mills cutting mine timbers for the mines which are operating.
Loyalty of the members and widespread cooperation of other brethren have united to give Corinthian a current, membership in 1960 151
EAGLE LODGE NO. 43, A.F. & A.M.
Eagle Lodge No. 43 was formed at Mitchell, a now-extinct town on the western side of Tennessee Pass. The initial membership, so far as anyone knows, was drawn from the miners, lumbermen and railroaders who were opening up Eagle County. Most of the history relating to its dispensation, and the date of its petition for dispensation, have been lost to our records. The dispensation was issued on April 20, 1881 by Grand Master Lawrence N. Greenleaf.
The charter was issued at the Grand Lodge communication in 1881, when Robert A. Quillian was Grand Master. It was named for Eagle County, or the Eagle River, which seems to have given its name to the county. It was the first, and for many years the only, Masonic body in the county.
Sometime between 1881 and 1901, the Lodge moved from Mitchell to Red Cliff, which was at that time the county seat. In 1901 or 1902, it moved to Minturn. Unfortunately, all the original records, including the charter, were destroyed by fire in 1909 or 1910. There is no record of any meeting between December 4, 1909, and September 2, 1911. The only record which survived the fire was the current minute book, which was in the secretary's home at the time.
On August 10, 1916, the present hall was purchased. The first communication ,in the new hall was held on November 17, 1917.
George E. Simonton, Master in 1892 and 1893, was Grand Master in 1912.
ALAMOSA LODGE NO. 44, A.F. & A.M.
The first recorded minutes of No. 44 are dated May 19th, 1881 with Albert Adler as Worshipful Master and Thomas M. Finley as Secretary. At this meeting two Petitions were presented. Brother M. Borosh was the first candidate to receive the three degrees. On November 5th of the same year, this Lodge received its Charter. The first Masonic Funeral was held two years later, May 1883.
The minutes of a meeting in Deccmber, 1884, contain the following two new rules: 1. "There is to be no smoking in the Lodge Hall." 2. "The candidate for the Master Mason Degree must no longer be required to set up a free dinner for all who attend his initiation."
A great day, September 14, 1887, for No. 44: the laying of the corner-stone of our new Temple located at the corner of San Juan and Main Streets by the Grand Master of Masons for the State of Colorado!
In 1919 the Lodge secured a burial plot in the City Cemetery. About this time, the San Luis Valley Masonic Association established a beautiful campsite known as Masonic Park, located several miles above South Fork. It was operated by this Association until 1940. In 1920, there were 125 initiated to the First Degree and 62 were raised. Brother Gilbert Sheesley was the Worshipful Master.
In 1921 a member of the Lodge, Marshall H. VanFleet was elected Grand Master. Many well known names appear on the Guest Book, among which are Chief Justice John Adams, Chris Wallrich, Historian, and 'Governor Ralph Carr.
Over a period of these many years several Brothers have received 50 year pins. Among them are: W. A. Dudley, Chris Wallrich, Ira Richardson, Harry Good, Vic Bracket and Herb Curtis.
The Lodge held its meetings in several different places but the year 1956 saw the original mortgage paid in full. The Temple has been rebuilt and enlarged on two occasions.
In the Minutes of a meeting held in August 1894 the following item was recorded: "A Brother requested a loan of $20 which request was denied by the Lodge, however, immediately after the Brothers rasiesd the necessary amount and gave it to the needy Brother."
In 1907, the Lodge laid the corner-stone for the First Baptist Church.
Membership, 1960 331
BOULDER LODGE NO. 45, A.F. & A.M.
The population of Boulder mushroomed from 363 in 1868 to 3,063 in 1880. And just twelve years and seven months after Columbia No. 14 moved to Boulder, twenty Master Masons petitioned for a new lodge.
Allen's History of Masonry in Colorado regarded it "as a good thing for Masonry at large, a good move for the members of Boulder 45, and especially a great help to its ancestor, Columbia 14, because of the noble rivalry or rather emulatior we have so often heard about."
Many dimits accompanying the application were official and ornate document while others were simple hand-written documents on plain note paper. The dispensation was dated June 25, 1881. T. R. Palmer was Worshipful Master.
The fine spirit that has always existed between the two lodges was evident in an immediate proposal that the new group might use Columbia's hall, jewels, and furniture temporarily for only $8 a month.
The Grand Lodge chartered Boulder No. 45 on September 21, 1881. M. W. Bro Wyman constituted the lodge and installed its officers two days later. Charter members had affiliated from Wisconsin, Iowa, Vermont, Massachusetts, Georgia, Michigan, Ohio, New York, Maine, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and other Colorado lodges.
During the early financial struggles, when money had to be borrowed from the bank, A. M. Sawyer, "that treasurer among treasurers" advanced interest on the loan from his own pocket. No wonder he was elected 33 times!
W. S. Bellman was secretary 23 terms starting in 1894. He was often called the "Past Master without a pin" for he could present all the lectures and do all the work but was so busy being secretary he had no time to be Master.
The first joint installation of officers with Columbia No. 14 occurred in 1884 and has continued until the present. The installing teams have had long periods of service. M. W. Bro. J. A. Davis ended 21 years as installing Grand Master in 1930 W. Bro. Sam Wylam served as installing Marshal for 20 years ending in 1935. Since then M. W. Bros. C. Wheeler Barnes and William R. "Pop" Arthur have officiated most of the time.
The cornerstone of the first Masonic Temple was laid on March 19th, 1894 Three special trains brought visiting Masons.
The two lodges conferred the Third degree at Grand Lodge in 1897. In 1913 Grand Lodge officers came to Boulder and conferred the same degree at a joint communication. Grand Lecturer Wm. W. Cooper acted as Worshipful Master.
On July 4, 1932 the lodge assisted in "relaying" the same cornerstone of the County Courthouse which had first been laid 50 years before on July 4, 1882. When the building was destroyed by fire in early 1932, the original cornerstone was not damaged.
Fire destroyed the Boulder Temple in 1944. A new Temple was built with members donating stone, lumber, and other materials and the members offering their services as "operative Masons." The attractive, well-designed building was free of debt in 1952.
DURANGO LODGE NO. 46, A.F. & A.M.
The town of Durango was platted and laid out in the year of 1880. On a day in early spring 1881, Captain William C. Davidson chanced into conversation with two men, Charles M. Hilliker and John C. Miles. It became apparent during this conversation that each was a member of the Craft, whereupon it was agreed that a survey among the male members of the town would be made to determine the number of Masons therein. More than thirty claimed Masonic affiliation.
A few days later an informal meeting was held and a petition, containing eleven names was prepared, and on receipt of a recommendation from San Juan Lodge No. 33 at Silverton, both were dispatched to the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Colorado.
On July 2, 1881 Most Worshipful Grand Master Lawrence N. Greenleaf granted a dispensation to the brethren of Durango to form a regular Lodge under the name of Durango Lodge U. D. The first regular meeting was held July 6, 1881.
The Lodge failed to petition the Grand Lodge for a charter at the 21st Annual Communication, September 20, 1881, but did return the dispensation, recorcIs and bylaws and also paid the Grand Lodge dues. The Grand Lodge Charters Committee report states, "we make no recommendation concerning a charter." Later in the same session of the Grand Lodge it was moved and passed that "the Grand ,Master be authorized to issue a charter to said Lodge provided a regular petition be received prior to 60 days after above date."
On November 1, 1881 the petition was received by the Grand Master and the charter granted November 2, 1881. On November 10, 1881 the Lodge was constituted by W. Bro. Charles M. Hilliker who had been appointed by Most Worshipful Brother Robert A. Quillian as Deputy Grand Master for this occasion.
Two brethren of this Lodge have been Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Colorado: Most Worshipful Brother Jethro C. Sanford in 1893 and William S. Pickerill in 1913. Charles L. Young served as Grand Lecturer from 1922 to 1950.
Members November 30, 1960 404
BRECKENRIDGE LODGE NO. 47, A.F. & A.M.
Breckenridge Lodge was granted a special dispensation by the Grand Lodge of Colorado, Aug. 27, 1881, with Worshipful Brother John Boylan acting as Worshipful Master. On Sept. 20, 1882 it was chartered with John Boylan as Worshipful Master, W. F. Eberline as Senior Warden, C. H. Blair as Junior Warden; L. B. Smart, R. H. Manzing, Roderick Mineun and F. B. Walles all as charter members.
During the early years, the Lodge's progress reflected the conditions and the economy of the era. However about 1906 the Lodge began to take on a "New Look." At this time there were but 17 members, but they managed to purchase another building and moved into it. Then in 1917, they voted to purchase all new Lodge furniture. Another notable occasion occurred in 1933 when the Grand Lecturer, late Brother Charles L. Young, presented the Lodge with a new Bible and it graces the altar to this day.
From year to year, the members made improvements to the building. The main lodge room was enlarged, the ante-rooms also were enlarged and finally a kitchen and dining room were installed.
In 1916, the Lodge purchased a tract of land containing about seven acres which has since been known as the Masonic Cemetery.
No. 47 wishes to acknowledge close friendship with the following Lodges: Blackhawk No. 11, Georgetown No. 12, ldaho Springs No. 26, Doric No. 24, Leadville No. 35, Eagle Lodge No. 43, and Corinthian Lodge No. 42.
Special thanks go to Brother Martin. Waltz who was Worshipful Master during the years of 1910-1916. In 1957 when we celebrated our 75th anniversary, there were seven Brothers present 78 years or older, one of whom, Brother Bernard Hettie, had received all three degrees in this lodge during 1901.
Between 1881 and 1957,302 applicants received all three degrees of the order. One thousand six hundred ninety-eight stated communications, 374 special and 23 emergent communications were held. A total of 32 Brothers were received by affiliation and 46 Brothers dimitted.
Through the years the Lodge has been very proud of the part it played in public affairs. The corner-stone of the Court House was laid in 1906. G. B. Folsom donated the trowel for this occasion.
Members of this lodge have been instrumental for several decades in he!ping the Grand Lodge preserve the traditions of early Colorado Masonry. Picnics and dinners have been held in conjunction with the Grand Lodge pilgrimages to the site of Summit No.2 at Parkville and the visits to Corinthian No. 42 at Kokomo.
The original furnishings and guest register excite much comment from visitors.
Members, 1960 133
GEORGETOWN LODGE NO. 48, A.F. & A.M.
This Lodge was granted dispensation November 26, 1881 and chartered September 20, 1882, worked a few years and then consolidated with Washington Lodge No. 12. Washington kept the No. 12 and the name Georgetown was used, making the lodge, Georgetown Lodge No. 12. (See No. 12's History.)
MT. PRINCETON LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 49,
BUENA VISTA, COLORADO
In the fall of 1881 several prominent men of Buena Vista and the immediate area began to talk in separate groups of two or more about organizing a lodge of Free and Accepted Masons in Buena Vista. A tentative survey was made by interested persons and it was determined that there were at least twenty-one Master Masons from Grand Jurisdictions extending from Maine and Vermont to Illinois, Nebraska, Ohio, Louisiana, Wyoming and Colorado. An informal meeting was called for the evening of October 7, 1881 at the Odd Fellows Hall to discuss the idea. All twenty-one persons present were in unanimous agreement to organize. The first order of business was to appoint a committee to solicit money from each person to purchase furnishings and a second committee to arrange for a meeting place. The meeting was then adjourned to October 12, 1881.
At the meeting of October 12th, it was reported $25.00 had been subscribed and the Odd Fellows had agreed to lease their hall for Masonic use. It was then moved to petition the Grand Lodge of Colorado A. F. & A. M. for dispensation, to be known as Buena Lodge. October 15, 1881 another meeting was held and it was decided to petition for dispensation as Mount Princeton U.D. with J. E. Cole as Worshipful Master; P. J. Coston, Senior Warden; A. H. Wade, Junior Warden; A. G. Watson, Treasurer; H. W. Cole, Secretary; Thomas Campbell, Senior Deacon; G. S. Wood, Junior Deacon; W. B. Mason, Senior Steward; M. J. Marks, Junior Steward; and Samuel Wade, Tiler.
Fred A. Walters received the first degree on 1882, M.W. Bro. Frank Church, Grand Master Mount Princeton Lodge No. 49, A.F. & A.M., February 16, 1882. September 20, of Colorado, granted a charter to Buena Vista, Colorado.
Mount Princeton, while in its infancy, managed to struggle through many trying sessions. Mining was in a depressing situation. There were many suspensions for non-payment of dues and benevolent cases were a burden to the Lodge. Considerable effort was expended to have enough members present to hold a regular communication. Year on year the annual report of the Treasurer reported less than One Hundred dollars in the Treasury.
During the early 1900's, through World War I, Mount Princeton continued to have diffIcult years and this was much the same pattern through the 1920's and 1930's. It is to be noted during the 1940's a noticeable growth was made in membership as well as the financial condition. January 25, 1945 permission was granted by the Grand Master for Mount Princeton Lodge No. 49 to purchase the Lodge building. The lodge became debt free on February 14, 1952, following payment for extensive remodeling of the lodge quarters after the purchase.
Presently Mount Princeton Lodge No. 49 is enjoying fInancial stability, high percentage of attendance, proficient ritualistic work and traditional Masonic fellowship.
Membership November 30, 1960 104
GARFIELD LODGE NO. 50, A.F. & A.M.
The first meeting was held Feb. 8, 1882 under dispensation of the M.W. Grand Lodge of Colorado. There were present the following who were appointed to their respective stations and places: W. R. Howell, W.M.; T. R. Jones, S.W.; John Marshall, J.W.; R. J. Valkenburg, Treas.; Wm. O. Van Elten, Sec'y; J. J. Wharton, S.D.; E. Davis, J.D.; J. Brodie, S.S.; Charles Sharratt, J.S.; J. Knox, Tiler. Others were Allen McNamee, Wm. Barrowman and S. J. Plumb.
Charter dated Sept. 20, 1882. Signed by Frank Church, M.W.G.M.; Lewis H. Bowman, D.G.M.; W. M. Widderfield, S.G.W.; J. H. Peabody, J.G.W.; Edwin C. Parmelee, G. Sec'y. Charter members were: Wm. R. Howell, R. J. Valkenburg, Wm. Barrowman, T. R. Jones, Charles Sharratt, Joseph J. Morgan, Allen McNamee, John Bowker, John Marshall, George E. Grenfell, S. J. Plumb, E. A. Craft.
As far as can be ascertained the Brothers of Garfield Lodge No. 50 met in the Odd Fellows Hall in Erie, the same place in which they now meet.
Some of the old minute books are missing.
Late Brother Wm. Whiles was Grand Tiler in 1937.
Membership, 1960 81
LEADVILLE LODGE NO. 51, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted March 22, 1882.
Charter granted September 20, 1882.
Consolidated with Ionic Lodge No. 35.
TIN CUP LODGE NO. 52, A.F. & A.M.
TIN CUP, COLORADO
During the early "Eighties" when Tin Cup was a boom town, several Masons residing in this district got together and petitioned the Grand Master for a dispensation. Grand Master Robert A. Quillian signed it on August 18, 1882. Brother A. F. Pettengill was designated Worshipful Master, Ben F. Martin as Senior Warden and George S. White as Junior Warden. The first meeting was held Aug. 26th in the Gray Building, owned by a Lodge member.
The first funeral was held January 3, 1883 when our Junior Warden Brother George S. White was buried with Masonic Honors.
Early that same year, the Lodge purchased two lots and several months later the new Masonic Building was completed. Early in Sept. the Lodge received its charter from the Grand Lodge and moved into the new home. The charter contained a total of 24 names.
The Lodge continued as an active Lodge until February 26, 1895 when the Masonic Temple Building Committee deeded the property to the Grand Lodge and surrendered its charter.
Early in 1902, the building was sold to the Tin Cup Mercantile Co. In connection with the sale, an unusual incident occurred, one of the older brothers objected very seriously to the sale and tried to burn the building. However, the fire was discovered in time and no real damage occurred.
LOVELAND LODGE NO. 53, A.F. & A.M.
Loveland Lodge was formed by the following members, George M. Harris, Worshipful Master, a civil war veteran; Thomas Gross, farmer and horse breeder; David W. Miller, farmer; William B. Sutherland, doctor; Jefferson McAnelly, lawyer and later County Judge; John J. Burke, clothing store manager; Edwin M. Currier, probably a farmer; James Sullivan, "came west with family in spring of 1862, located near Bear Creek south of Denver, and later moved to vicinity of Loveland became County Commissioner." 'Watrous states in his history of Larimer County "He was a man of few words, but inflexible purpose, a hater of shams and a rigid adherent of right in all relations of Life"; Obediah Smith, Justice of the Peace and former school teacher; Aaron S. Benson, Bank President, also State Representative; John W. Ansell; Jerry Quigley, orchardist; Joseph B. Middleton, stage driver to Estes Park. First meetings were held in the I.O.O.F. Hall, Loveland, Colorado, or as it was originally called, Old St. Louis, a settlement twenty-three years old when the lodge was instituted. The above named brethren signed the petition for dispensation. The dispensation was granted April 17, 1883 and the charter was granted September 18, 1883 at the Grand Lodge Annual Communication, at which meeting Most Worshipful Brother Frank Church presided as Grand Master.
The Lodge was constituted during the term of Most Worshipful Brother Andrew Sagendorf who deputized George E. Wyman to actually constitute Loveland No. 53. This Lodge was named for the town in which it met, as were many of our Colorado Lodges.
The first jewels of the officers were donated by Collins Lodge No. 19, however there were some hand made jewels used previously which are in the museum of Loveland Lodge and can be seen at any time. The brethren of Loveland Lodge were very secretive in their doings especially after a Masonic trial of a local publisher for printing too much of the affairs of the Lodge. The brother was acquitted but a clamp of censorship is noted, even in the minutes, from that time. Three Masonic cornerstones have been laid in the Town of Loveland.
On November 30, 1960, No. 53 had 340 members.
STERLING LODGE NO. 54, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation for Sterling No. 54 was granted under date of April, 1883. The first meeting was held up-stairs in the only two story building located at the corner of Main and 2nd Streets on May 20th with Brothers E. S. Ebbs as Worshipful Master, S. E. Robuck as Senior Warden, and J. M. King as Junior Warden. Five days later a special communication of the Lodge was called for the purpose of conferring burial rites on our Brother T. J. Burger, Senior Deacon.
John Alexander was the first candidate to receive all three degrees.
In October, 1883, the charter was received, indicating the same three principal officers and 15 charter members.
Between May 20th and October 2nd, 21 meetings were held, 7 candidates were initiated, 5 passed and 5 raised.
The minutes of the meeting of January 15, 1884 show that the Lodge Rooms were sub-rented to the Odd Fellows Lodge for $10 a month. (No. 54 was paying $12.50 per month.)
In 1889 the Lodge assisted in the laying of the corner-stone of the Masonic Temple in downtown Denver. During this year No. 54 accepted an offer from the Odd Fellows to use their Lodge Rooms rent free. This was done until December, 1891 when the Lodge moved to a hall known as Central Hall.
The name of Brother Haslett P. Burke appears in the records for the first time shortly after the turn of the new century. He served as Master during 1905-06-07. In 1907 the Lodge organized a Temple Board with Bro. Burke as a member. In August of the next year, work started on the new Temple and in September the Grand Master laid the corner-stone. On Nov. 12, 1910 No. 54 moved into its new home at which time it was dedicated. Bro. L. M. Judd who was raised in 1883 loaned the lodge $10,000 to assist in the completion of the Temple.
In June, 1918, No. 54 laid the corner-stone of the new Junior High School.
Bro. H. P. Burke was elected Grand Master of Masons during this year.
Among the notable Brothers who signed our Guest Book are: A. B. McGaffey, Charles A. Patten, Gov. E. C. Johnson, E. V. Holland, John C. Young and Charles L. Young, for many years Grand Lecturer, Charles C. Buttler, Frances R. Couck and Charles Mantz.
The name of H. P. Burke appears again on Dec. 5, 1937 at which time we received the pictures of all Past Masters and accepted them with most appropriate ceremonies. Then again in 1940, he acted as Master of Ceremonies when all the "Old Timers" were honored.
September, 1946, Brother F. H. Blair resigned as Treasurer after having served for 38 years. The next year a special communication was called to announce that the Lodge was free of debt and to burn the mortgage.
The Lodge's most outstanding member was the late Most Wor. Bro. Haslett P. Burke, who for many years served as Chief Justice of the Colorado Supreme Court and also as Chairman of the Grand Lodge Jurisprudence Committee. In 1953 he was presented with a 50-year medal by Grand Master Hubert Glover. In commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of having served No. 54 as Master, the Lodge presented him with a Grand Master's Apron in 1955.
Members, 1960 380
MESA LODGE NO. 55, A.F. & A.M.
GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO
The first meeting of Mesa No. 55 Lodge held under 1883 with Brothers G. B. Frazier as Worshipful Master, Warden and O. D. Russell as Junior Warden.
The first petition received was from a young man who was one of the original founders of our city, J. C. Nichols. All three of the founders of Grand Junction became members of No. 55, O. D. Russell and Wm. K. McGinley being the other two.
On Sept. 18, of the same year the Charter was granted with Brothers G. B. Frazier as W. M., J. B. Solomon as S. W., and J. C. Nichols as J. W., and O. D. Russell as Treasurer, with a total of 16 charter members.
Wor. Brother G. B. Frazier had an unusual Masonic record. He was made a Mason in El Paso Lodge No. 13 in 1868. The same year he moved to Canon City and dimitted to Mt. Moriah Lodge where he served the next three years as Worshipful Master. In 1882 he removed to Grand Junction and assisted in the organization of No. 55.
In December 1887, Brother Horace T. De Long was elected to serve as its Master. During this year all five of the elective officers were in civic affairs.
During the early years the Lodge moved often, trying each time larger quarters. In September 1891, No. 55 assisted in laying the corner-stone of the old Franklin High School. The minutes show that most of the time during early years, the treasury was depleted as funds were given freely to distressed brethren, widows and orphans.
In September, 1898, Brother Horace T. De Long was elected Grand Master. The name of Guy V. Sternberg appears for the first time when he petitioned for the degrees of Masonry early in 1903. He became Grand Master in 1916.
In 1905 No. 55 purchased the Lyons Building, hoping that it would fill needs for years to come. In March, 1919, the Lodge was again faced with the problem of needing much more room. A Temple Building Committee was formed and some lots were purchased for $3,500. Two years later, July 1921, the corner-stone was laid with Haslett P. Burke presiding. On January 1, 1923, the new Temple was completed and after dedication ceremonies, with M. Wor. Bro. Guy C. Sternberg presiding, the Temple was opened for inspection. Bro. Geo. W. Roe of Pueblo was the Chief Architect and was in attendance at the ceremonies.
For a third time, a member of Mesa Lodge, Casper S. Desch, was elected Grand Master and served as such during 1931-32.
During the first 75 year period the records show that the Lodge averaged 50 meetings each year, including regulars and specials.
A rather unique study club was organized in 1936 with Brother Thomas Charles as moderator. It was in the form of a quiz program with various brethren asking questions and having them answered by competent brothers.
In 1942, the first 5O-year pin was presented to Brother Samuel G. McMullen. The year 1945 might be called the fatal year, for in that year 14 emergent communications were called to hold burial services for deceased Brethren.
On December 19, 1946, it was announced that the Temple was completely paid for and the mortgage burned.
In October, 1950, this Lodge assisted in laying the corner-stone of Mesa Memorial Hospital with Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes officiating.
On Sept. 1, 1955 the life of one of the "Greats" of this Lodge came to an end. Most Wor. Bro. Guy V. Sternberg was buried with Grand Master Charles A. Mantz presiding. On Dec. 14, 1946, a mortgage burning ceremony was held in celebration of completion of payment of the Temple indebtedness.
Members, 1960 688
TELLURIDE LODGE NO. 56, A.F. & A.M.
The Grand Lodge of Colorado granted a Charter to Telluride Lodge No. 56 on September 17, 1884. It was an outgrowth of Free Gold Lodge U. D. in the town of Columbia (Telluride Post Office). Rooms suitable for lodge purposes being scarce in Telluride, meetings were held in log cabins, the County Court House and the second floor of a log blacksmith shop.
In 1889 the Lodge moved into its own building, a large and unusually elaborately equipped building for that period. It still is in constant use.
Its fortunes fluctuating with the ups and downs of metal mining camps, Telluride Lodge is still active but with comparative small membership. Resident members are few in number. Telluride 56 has a disproportionate number of non-resident members scattered over the world, who still retain their memership here.
The hospitality of Telluride brethren in early days was renowned. M. W. Bro. Horace T. DeLong praised as follows: "The brethren at Telluride never know when they have been kind enough for it is their invariable rule to crowd the hours full of entertainment until the guests have departed for home."
M. W. Bro. Greenleaf concurred: "We have been in Telluride and know how truly he speaks. There are no locks on the doors in Telluride and the fatted calf is always in readiness for the visiting brother."
Membership November 30, 1960 72
SALIDA LODGE NO. 57, A.F. & A.M.
On September 1883, the Princeton Lodge at Buena Vista recommended a dispensation be granted to the Brothers in and around Salida and early in September, Grand Master Andrew Sagendorf granted the request. Brothers Benjamin H. De Remer served as worshipful Master with Elias Webb as Senior Warden and S. B. Westerfield as Junior Warden.
During the next ten months, 27 candidates were initiated, 24 were passed and 23 were raised. On September 17, 1884 the Grand Lodge granted the charter with 44 Brothers as charter members.
The Lodge first met in the upstairs rooms over the Webb and Carbin Mercantile Company. Both Brothers, Webb and Carbin were members of the Lodge.
In Oct. 1887, the Lodge assisted in the laying of the corner-stone of the Presbyterian Academy. In 1888, the Graig Brothers together with a Mr. Jones were building the Grand Opera House and by special agreement No.5 7 agreed to put on a second floor which was to be used as our Masonic home. The cost was about $2,700.00 and in March the Lodge moved into its new quarters.
During the years, No. 57 has contributed to many causes especially to the Galveston Flood sufferers, the San Francisco quake fund and to deserving local brethren.
In Feb., 1942, the Lodge purchased the Red Cross Hospital and began at once to remodel it. $17,000 was spent before it could be occupied. By 1959, we were free from debt. However, that same fall, No. 57 almost met with disaster! A heavy snow struck this area and damaged many buildings and homes, among which was our new Temple building. Under heavy pressure of the snow on the roof, the walls had weakened and the building had to be condemned; $15,000 had to be spent before it could be occupied again.
A matter of grave importance is the fact that almost half of the membership, which stands at about 288, has moved away from Salida.
Several of the members have served or are serving in the Grand Masonic bodies: Clarence Stumke, Robert W. Smith, Clarence P. Watson and Charles L. Thomson, Jr., Grand Warden (1961).
Members, 1960 285
CRESTED BUTTE LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 58,
CRESTED BUTTE, COLORADO
Crested Butte Lodge No. 58 held its first communication under dispensation December 1, 1883 in the present Croation Hall. Officers and members present at the first meeting were: J. K. Robinson, Worshipful Master; A. K. Chamblin, Senior Warden; John McElroy, Junior Warden; N. S. Snyder, Secretary; G. W. Temple, Senior Deacon; John Gibson, Junior Deacon; C. C. Pollard, Junior Steward; and Brothers Newton and Hale. The first meeting was concerned with reading the dispensation just received, election of secretary and treasurer, reading of petitions for five new members, and drawing up by-laws which:
1. Named lodge (which derives its name from the town)
2. Designated meeting dates.
3. Designated officers of Lodge.
4. Outlined procedure for application of new members.
5. Set amount of fees for conferring degrees.
On September 17, 1884 a charter was granted by Grand Master Andrew Sagendorf with the names of the following members appearing on the Charter: J. K. Robinson, A. K. Chamblin, John McElroy, G. W. Temple, J. B. Eberhart, T. Y. Ripley, John Gibson, John L. Young, Wm. J. Murray, C. W. Harris, H. Ellis, N. C. Anderson, N. S. Snyder, Sidney Salover, D. V. Minor, Joseph Henworth, F. E. Songer, W. Knight, Alexander Herron, John McCourt. October 3, 1884 Worshipful Brother O. P. Abercombie visited the lodge to install the following officers under the new Charter: J. K. Robinson, Worshipful Master; A. K. Chamblin, Senior Warden; George Temple, Senior Deacon; John Gibson, Junior Deacon; and John Young, Junior Steward.
The Croation Hall served as the first meeting place for the brethren - this hall leased on an annual basis by the Masons was sub-leased for meeting purposes to the IOOF. In later years the IOOF constructed the present Masonic Hall with a sub-lease to the Masons. Dwindling IOOF membership in the community necessitated disposal of the building with eventual ownership acquired by Lodge No. 58.
Minutes of the early meetings dealt with the work of acquiring new members and the disbursement of funds. By 1903 the membership had grown to 50, exactly what the present membership numbers 57 years later.
The 75th anniversary of the founding of the lodge was celebrated September 5, 1959 with a visitation by Grand Master Clifford J. Gobble. Reminiscing of returning members and a picnic were the order of the day.
LA VETA LODGE NO. 59, A.F. & A.M.
LA VETA, COLORADO
Ten members of Huerfano Lodge 27 living in the vicinity of La Veta joined with five other Masons to petition the Grand Lodge for a lodge in La Veta in January, 1884. As most of them lived about 20 miles from Walsenburg, No. 27's home, regular lodge attendance was difficult.
"The old timers. . . would endure great hardships to attend the meetings. They would ride twenty miles on horseback in all kinds of weather and seldom missed a stated meeting. After a third degree raising they would retire to the store owned by Alexander Levy for their banquet of cheese and crackers. They would pull some blankets from the shelves, spread them on the counters, sleep until morning, eat some more cheese and crackers, saddle the horses, ride twenty miles back home and go to work."
The journey on horseback would take four to four and one-half hours, but if they took a wagon to bring back supplies, the trip would require eight to ten hours.
Four of these petitioners had been charter members of Huerfano No. 27, including Henry Daigre, first Worshipful Master of No. 59. He was the first manager of the Vigil-St. Vrain Land Grant which led to the development of the community.
Another was Joseph Kaylor Kincaid, first Senior Warden and Master in 1886. Two of his sons and two grandsons have followed as Master.
The dispensation was granted January 21, 1884 and the charter on September 17, 1884.
The lodge first rented a hall for $100 a year, requiring two ante-rooms to be constructed and the floor to be "deadened" by a sawdust filling between the joists.
First big special event was the St. John's banquet in 1885. There were two offers to supply the meal which was to consist of meats (chicken, turkey, and ham) with proper salads, vegetables, coffee, tea, with cakes and pie. The lowest bid of thirty five cents per plate was accepted. One hundred eight persons enjoyed the feast and the talk by Rev. R. A. Quillian. His hotel bill of $1 was paid by the lodge.
Several times heavy snows prevented communications of this lodge. Fifty inches of wet snow fell in three days in November, 1946. Two years later the "really big snow" made February communications impossible as it stayed on the ground for about five weeks, stopped train traffic, and cut off La Veta from Walsenburg for the whole period. One night the thermometer registered 25 degrees below zero.
Perhaps the most renowned member of the lodge was "Hi" Vasquez, who when a tot was abducted by Shoshone Indians from his playground near Fort Bridger, Wyoming and raised as a member of the tribe. When he was about nine years old he made his way into a Utah town where he was recognized as a white child and returned to his parents.
Albert E. Jameson of La Veta No. 59 is presently the popular Grand Lecturer of Colorado.
"A vast amount of lodge activity does not appear in the history. But most of the work is routine so there is a sameness from year to year. The actors gradually change but the action remains closely the same. The continuous change of actors prevents monotony."
SPAR LODGE NO. 60, A.F. & A.M.
This lodge consolidated with Hiram Lodge No. 98. It received its dispensation February 7, 1884 and was chartered September 17,1884.
HARMONY LODGE NO. 61, A.F. & A.M.
Harmony Lodge started work under dispensation dated June 20, 1884. Out of respect to Past Grand Master Roger W. Woodbury, the Lodge was named after him. However, after considerable correspondence, he declined this honor and suggested the name "Harmony Lodge." Twenty-two Master Masons signed the charter and William Tyler was the first candidate to receive all three degrees.
In September of the same year the Grand Lodge granted the charter with the same Brothers serving under the charter that had served under the dispensation, Viz: Brothers Alexander Thompson as Worshipful Master, William Tyler as Senior Warden, and Alameth Coulthurst as Junior Warden.
In December, 1886, the first special communication was called for the purpose of conferring burial rites for Worshipful Master Alexander Thompson.
For the first 25 years this Lodge met in various places. On two occasions it met in Wood Hall; also in the Masonic Temple at 16th & Welton Streets as well as in the Odd Fellows Hall. In 1916, the Lodge voted to organize a Building Association with the idea of building its own Temple. By 1933 there were about $60,000 in the Building Fund. Up to this time the records show that the Lodge had given more than $11 ,000 to national emergencies as well as to the needs of our fellow members and their families.
At the height of the 1st World War we had 65 Brothers in the Armed Services of this country and the record shows that every brother was returned home safely!
The next time we heard from the building committee was in 1938. Lots were purchased and plans presented for the new Temple which was to be located at the corner of West 8th & Delaware Streets. The corner-stone was laid in May with Grand Master Harry L. Baum officiating and with an escort present of about 100 Knights Templar in uniform. On September 2nd of the same year the Temple was completed and dedication services were held with Grand Master Harry L. Baum officiating again and Grand Orator Benjamin C. Hilliard in attendance.
The first meeting in the new Temple was Communication No.7 59. Henry M. Teller Lodge No. 144 and Golden Sheath O.E.S. No. 111 immediately rented our Lodge rooms for their activities. By October, 1941, we were happy to announce that the Temple was free from debt.
Of the many Brothers participating in World War No.2, all returned home safely except one, Brother Elmer M. Dahl who was reported missing in action by the Navy in August, 1946.
For many years the 3-5-7 Club of the Rio Grande Railroad and the "G" Club from Gates Rubber Company have assisted with the work, especially on Third Degrees.
One of the outstanding Lodge events for many years has been the annual meeting and trip to Kokomo to assist in the work with the brothers of Corinthian Lodge 42. Their annual visitations to Harmony Lodge have been greatly appreciated also. No. 61 has enjoyed close associations with Inspiration Lodge No. 143, Henry M. Teller Lodge No. 144, and Joppa Lodge No. 174.
During the first 75 years Harmony Lodge has presented 50-year pins to 16 Brothers.
Membership, 1960 811
DELTA LODGE NO. 62, A.F. & A.M.
Prior to 1884, Masons residing in the Delta area had to go to Grand Junction to attend lodge. Because of the poor transportation facilities this was a considerable burden. Lengthy discussion about forming a lodge resulted. Thirteen of these men, sponsored by Mesa Lodge No. 55, submitted a petition to M.W. Bro. James H. Peabody, who granted a dispensation on September 23, 1884. On September 16, 1885 a charter was granted to the lodge and the signature of M.W. Bro. Peabody appears on both the dispensation and the charter. There were 18 charter members and 209 members on November 30,1960.
The lodge was constituted on September 28, 1885 by D.G.M. Thomas C. Brown, acting for M.W. Bro. George Wyman.
Delta Lodge had the usual struggles to find a suitable meeting place. For a time it met in the Court House. The minutes indicate that at one time the Methodist Church met in the court room, that being the room where Delta County dispensed justice, Masonry and religion. In 1924 the lodge acquired a building and a large indebtedness which was not paid off until December, 1951.
Delta Lodge, in the past, has been active in staging Masonic plays, the popularity of which is attested to by the many requests for performance.
At one time the Atchley family membership in the lodge consisted of a father, his six sons and two of his grandsons.
One of the Past Masters, William R. Gale, requested that his funeral service be held in the lodge room. His request was fulfilled August 28, 1938.
Allen J. Obert, P. M., was an elected officer of the lodge for a total of 37 years, 34 of them as Secretary.
Another Past Master, J. Weiland Jeffers, is also a Past Master of Research Lodge of Colorado.
MONTROSE LODGE NO. 63, A.F. & A.M.
On March 4, 1885, M.W. Bro. James H. Peabody granted a dispensation to a group of 17 Masons in Montrose. A charter was granted to the lodge on September 16,1885 and on October 13, 1885 the lodge was constituted. There were 226 members on November 30, 1960.
In January, 1911, a contract was given for the construction of the present Temple at 511 Main Street. The corner-stone was laid by M.W. Bro. Albert B. McGaffey on March 11, 1911. As with practically all the early day lodges, many financial difiiculties had to be overcome during the ensuing years, until finally in 1947 the final payment was made on the indebtedness and the Temple was free of debt.
The lodge took part in many social and civic functions in the earlier days. The records show that on February 22, 1886, the lodge held a banquet and ball and the Rio Grande Western Railroad ran a special train from Cimarron to Montrose for accommodation of guests from points east of Montrose.
The lodge boasts two Past Grand Masters: T. Harvey Cox, now a member of Olathe Lodge No. 157, Grand Master in 1939 and S. Stuart Krebs, Grand Master in 1948.
EUCLID LODGE NO. 64, A.F. & A.M.
LA JUNTA, COLORADO
In 1885 Otero County was yet a part of Bent County. La Junta, meaning "The Junction", was 20 miles west of Las Animas, the county seat of Bent County. The nearest Masonic lodge was King Solomon Lodge No. 30 located at Las Animas. Several brethren of that lodge, together with several sojourning Masons living in and near La Junta desired to have a Masonic lodge in La Junta. A petition was prepared and presented to the Grand Lodge of Colorado on April 18, 1885. This petition was signed by 15 Masons and was recommended by King Solomon Lodge.
It is interesting to note that both the petition and recommendation were originally written to name the new iodge "Doric" and were later changed to "Euclid". No doubt it was discovered that Doric Lodge No.25 held at Fairplay received its dispensation on January 13, 1874 and was chartered on September 30, 1874.
The dispensation was granted May 6, 1885 and a charter was granted on September 16, 1885. There were 20 charter members and on November 30, 1960 there were 483 members.
A Past Master of Euclid Lodge, Henry H. Gaisser, was elected and installed as the 1961 Worshipful Master of Research Lodge of Colorado, but unfortunately died before the next regular meeting of that lodge. He was found dead in his automobile after returning from the funeral of a Brother in which ceremonies he had acted as marshal.
GLENWOOD LODGE NO. 65, A.F. & A.M.
GLENWOOD SPRINGS, COLORADO
On Christmas Day, 1886, Crand Master Branch issued a dispensation to 14 brethren at Glenwood Springs in Garfield County, Colorado, to open and form a lodge to be known as Glenwood Lodge U. D. with Brothers William Bradt as Worshipful Master; Henry J. Wilterding, Senior Warden; and Walter L. Dorland, Junior Warden. Spar Lodge No. 60 of Aspen recommended their petition. Grand Master Branch stated that he had issued the dispensation only after careful consideration and then feeling it was for the good of the Fraternity.
The Committee on Returns and Work reported favorably on Glenwood Lodge U. D. recommending one change in the By-laws as it deprived a member of his rights without trial. The Lodge held regular meetings, initiated 11, passed 8 and raised 8, and records were correctly kept. The Lodge was recommended to be chartered Glenwood Lodge No. 66 with William H. Bradt, Worshipful Master; Henry H. Crawford, Senior Warden; and Walter L: Dorland, Junior Warden.
Grand Master Kimball issued a commission on September 21, 1887 to Worshipful Brother J. E. Freeman to constitute Glenwood Lodge No. 65 and install its officers.
Present membership 238
EUREKA LODGE NO. 66, A.F. & A.M.
OAK CREEK, COLORADO
In 1886, M.W. Bro. George Wyman regretfully refused permission to form a lodge at Coal Creek believing it was not to the best interest of Freemasonry. However, the following year Grand Master Branch did issue a dispensation to twenty-one brethren at Coal Creek to form a lodge to be known as Eureka Lodge U. D. with Brother George Hadden, Worshipful Master, Brother Henry Wallace, Senior Warden, and Brother Jacob Holland, Junior Warden.
The petition was recommended by Mount Moriah Lodge No.15 of Canon City. The Committee on Returns and Work reported favorably on the work of this Lodge which was five initiated, five passed and five raised.
They were chartered as Eureka Lodge No. 66 with Brother George Hadden, Worshipful Master, Henry Wallace, Senior Warden, and Wm. M. Bridges, Junior Warden. Grand Master Kimball commissioned Past Grand Master J. H. Peabody to constitute Eureka Lodge No. 66 and install its officers. On Saturday morning June 29, 1907 a disastrous fire occurred in the town of Coal Creek which totally destroyed the Lodge Hall, furniture and the charter of Eureka Lodge No. 66. A duplicate charter was issued and a dispensation permitting stated meetings to be held in Rockvale Hall, Rockvale, Fremont County, dispensation to be returned to the Grand Lodge at its annual meeting September 17, 1907.
Present membership is 61
OASIS LODGE NO. 67, A.F. & A.M.
FORT MORGAN, COLORADO
The special dispensation for Oasis No. 67 was dated April 25, 1887 and the Lodge began operation immediately with Brothers H. M. Putman W. M., M. E. Lowe S. W., and M. N. Wagner as J. W., together with 13 other brothers as signers of the request. The Charter was dated September 21st and contained 18 Charter Members, with the same three Brothers as officers.
U. C. Killabrew was the first candidate to receive the Degrees after Charter was granted.
The first meeting was held upstairs over the Clarke Mercantile Company Store. in the next year No. 67 sponsored both the Akron and Wray Masonic Lodges.
In April, 1891 the first Masonic funeral was held when our Brother J. H. Christie passed away.
In November, 1895 the Lodge moved to a larger location. Brother G. W. Robinson was building a new structure and by agreement the second floor was designed for Masonic Lodge use.
In 1905 the Masonic Temple Association was formed and it immediately purchased lots. In June of the following year the cornerstone for the Temple was laid and on January 1st, 1907 the Lodge moved into its new home. However the Temple was not officially dedicated until 1911 when the Grand Master and his staff of officers performed the ceremonies.
By 1925 the Temple was paid for and free of debt. However, almost immediately it became necessary to enlarge and remodel the building.
During the first 50 years, 57 Brothers were acccpted by Affiliation. In 1942 our own Past Master George Twombly brought further honor to our Lodge by being elected Grand Master.
Brother A. Clyde Berryhill was elected secretary 18 straight years beginning in 1928. Past Master Donald C. Hunter was also elected treasurer 9 consecutive years. Upon the retirement of Brother Berryhill, Brother Hlinter was elected secretary in 1946 and was re-elected each year through 1955.
The following Sister Lodges played an important role in the development of No. 67: Greeley No. 20, Sterling No. 54, Julesburg No. 70, Wray No. 71, Akron No. 74, and Holyoke No. 81.
Membership, 1960 412
MANITOU LODGE NO. 68, A.F. & A.M.
MANITOU SPRINGS. COLORADO
Up to 1886 the thought of organizing a lodge in Manitou Springs had apparently not been present in the minds of the Masons in that area although the town had been in existence for many years. There were 5 Masons present on an election board during an election held on November 5, 1886, who, after discovering this mutual interest, decided to organize a lodge. A dispensation was granted in June, 1887, after a period of intense work on the part of the prospective officers of the lodge.
A charter was granted to the lodge on September 21, 1887. The lodge was named after the town, which had an Indian name meaning the Great Spirit, which was supposed to dwell in the healing waters of the many mineral springs in Manitou.
For many years the lodge home was in the Leddy Building. The corner-stone of the present Temple was laid on August 29, 1953 by M.W. Bro. Olin P. Lee.
Although in early years Manitou Lodge seemed to fall behind other fraternal groups in number of members and rate of growth, it is now the only fraternal order in the town. The lodge is proud of the fact that there always has been at least one of its members on the City Council and the local school board.
From 15 charter members in 1887, the lodge membership has increased to 209 on November 30, 1960.
WINDSOR LODGE NO. 69, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation for Windsor Lodge was signed by Grand Master George A. Kimball on June 23, 1887, with Brothers J. W. Kendrick as W. M., W. M. Dickerson as S. W. and H. F. McNeil as J. W. Collins Lodge No. 19 assisted in the formation of the Lodge.
The first candidate to receive the degrees was A. J. Rowe. On October 29th , The Grand Lodge granted the charter with the same three brothers as the principal officers. For the next ten years the Lodge met in the upper rooms of the building which belonged to Brother H. F. McNeil. The U. S. Postoffice was on the main floor at that time. During this period 42 candidates were made brothers.
During the next ten year period the city grew and so did the Lodge. 52 candidates received their degrees and were added by affiliation. During this period the new Temple was purchased and the old building was sold.
From 1908 through 1917, 95 more candidates became Masons and 6 more by affiliation. The Eastern Star Chapter and the Royal Arch Chapter worked together very closely and assisted materiaily in paying off the indebtedness and by 1917 the Temple was free from debt.
During the depression years, No. 69 reacted to the conditions of the times.
Brother G. H. Frye holds a rather unique record in that he was elected treasurer 30 straight years. Brother G. B. Teller, one of our Past Masters was elected secretary for 21 consecutive years beginning with the year 1917.
Membership, 1960 106
LOGAN LODGE NO. 70, A.F. & A.M.
A dispensation was issued by Grand Master Kimball to thirteen brethren of Julesburg in Logan County to open and form a lodge on March 17, 1888. This Lodge was called Logan Lodge U. D. with Brother Charles H. Pratt, Worshipful Master, Brother Charles C. Haines, Senior Warden and Brother David Beach, Junior Warden. Their petition was recommended by Sterling Lodge No. 54.
At the Grand Lodge meeting of the same year on September 17, the Committee on Returns and Work reported favorably and recommended that Logan Lodge No. 70 be granted charter with Brother Charles H. Pratt, Worshipful Master; Charles L. McComas, Senior Warden; Peter Gerhardt, Junior Warden and the following named brethren, George W. McConaughey, B. M. Krumpaintzky, Christopher Johnson, 'Horace L. Fish, George W. Gordon, Barton E. Pratt, John B. Scout, Wm. H. Strohm, David Beach and Charles C. Haines.
Grand Master Todd commissioned Worshipful Brother E. S. Ebbs, Past Master Sterling Lodge No. 54 to constitute and install the officers of Logan Lodge No. 70.
From an original membership of thirteen, Logan Lodge has grown to its 1960 number of 119.
WRAY LODGE NO. 71, A.F. & A.M.
On July 2, 1886, a group of Masons residing in the Wray area decided to hold a Masonic communication. With no suitable hall or temple for the meeting, the members selected Flirtation Rock, a high hill on the outskirts of Wray, as the best site. The perpendicular walls provided an easy way of preventing the approach of profanes. This was the first Masonic communication held in eastern Colorado, and was attended by 13 brother Masons. The site was later donated to Wray Lodge and a monument was erected thereon, cledicated by the Grand Lodge on October 19, 1939. In 1961 the Grand Lodge returned to the site for a ceremony.
A communication of the lodge was held on June 8, 1886 under the recently granted dispensation from M. W. Bro. George K. Kimball. On October 27, 1888, M.W. Bro. W. D. Todd constituted the lodge.
Charles C. Patton was Worshipful Master of Wray Lodge in 1923 and 1924. In 1934 he was elected M.W.G.M. of Masons in Colorado and also served the Grand Lodge as Grand Secretary for many years. On November 30, 1960 Wray Lodge No. 71 had 153 members.
GRANADA LODGE NO. 72, A.F. & A.M.
On July 21, 1888, a group of Master Masons met on the second floor of the frame building once situated on Lot 9, Block 16, Original Town of Granada, Bent County (Later Prowers County), Colorado, for the purpose of instituting a Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. There were thirteen brethren present.
On September 29, 1888, Granada Lodge, U. D. opened at 5 P. M. with Worshipful Master W. E. Culver of King Solomon Lodge No. 30, Las Animas, presiding in the East. The Lodge was officially constituted Granada Lodge No. 72, A.F. & A.M., and at this time the Lodge Charter dated September 18, 1888, signed by Grand Master George K. Kimball was presented. The names of thirteen charter members werc inscribed on the charter. That night the officers of the Lodge were installed. The charter members and their offices, if any, are as follows: Charles I. Hutchins, Worshipful Master; J. H. McCammon, Senior Warden; E. M. M anning, Junior Warden; E. M. Hall, Treasurer; J. H. Bagnall, Secretary; H. J. Miller, Senior Deacon; F. D. Hess, Junior Deacon; Robert Sloan, Tiler; T. C. S. Lock; J. L. Myers; Jacob Mendenhall; F. M. Tate; and O. A. Wilcox.
Newly installed Worshipful Master Hutchins presented the Lodge with the altar and stands for the principal officers of the Lodge which he had made in his shop. The stands supporting the lights which surround the altar are rather unique in that they are baseball bats supported by a foot stand. This furniture has been in continual use since that date.
Communication dates were set as the Saturdav on or before the full moon in each month and two weeks thereafter.
The Lodge moved to the second floor of the Mayfield Building, a brick structure on the corner of Main and Goff Streets, in January, 1918, where communications were held continuously until the old Bank Building was purchased and converted by the brethren. The second floor of the building was made into a meeting hall and the first floor was left for a place of refreshment. On January 6, 1954, these new quarters were dedicated by Worshipful Grand Master Hubert Glover, who with the assistance of Grand Lecturer Alkire, Junior Grand Steward Stone, Grand Secretary Bundy, District Lecturer Hunter (a member and Past Master of the Granada Lodge), and others, honored the Lodge by opening Grand Lodge for the ceremony.
Membership November 30, 1960 77
MONTE VISTA LODGE NO. 73, A.F. & A.M.
MONTE VISTA, COLORADO
Grand Master George K. Kimball signed the dispensation, July 21, 1888 with Brother I. J. Bloomfield as W. M., N. H. Chapman S. W. and J. Loy as J. W. At the first meeting a petition was received from J. S. Campbell and he became the first brother to receive the Degrees. On September 28th, the Grand Lodge granted the charter with 13 brethren as charter members and the above brethren as the three principal officers.
The first meetings were held in the Odd Fellows Hall which was located in the old Gallagher Building and where the present Library building is situated.
No serious disagreement has occurred throughout the years! In October, 1891, the first Brother T. A. Robbe passed away and was buried with Masonic honors.
In 1890, the move was made from the Odd Fellows Hall to the rooms in the Wallace and Clark building. In 1904, the Lodge moved to the Woodman building and remained there until 1929. The Trueblood and Smith building was purchased and is the present Masonic quarters. In June, 1933, Grand Master George A. Luxford dedicated the Temple.
Several of our brothers devoted years of service to the public welfare, Brother George M. Corlett as Lt. Governor of the state, Brothers Colvin Timmers and A. E. Hendler as State Senators and several Brothers were elected as Representatives.
During the first 50 years 38 brethren served as Masters of No. 73.
The records show that on many occasions Masonic service was extended to distressed brethren and often-times their widows and families. Our guest book shows the names of many of "The Greats" of Colorado, among which appear George A. Luxford, W. W. Cooper, F. J. Batten, C. J. Wyley, C. A. Lumbeck, Harry Bundy, Ex-Governor Johnson of our Sister Lodge at Alamosa and Charles L. Young.
Membership, 1960 283
AKRON LODGE NO. 74, A.F. & A.M.
Akron Lodge No. 74 was formed principally through the efforts of two men, Sylvester Cordeal and Perrin W. Clifford who were instrumental in calling a meeting of Masons of the area who were anxious to form a regular Masonic Lodge. At this meeting in the midsummer of 1888 there were twelve interested brethren who decided the time had come to petition the Grand Lodge of Colorado for a dispensation. This petition together with a recommendation of Oasis Lodge No. 67 in Fort Morgan was submitted to the Grand Master for his consideration.
A dispensation was granted on November 16, 1888. The first regular meeting of Akron Lodge U. D. was held November 19, 1888. A petition for a charter was presented to the Grand Lodge and was granted on September 18, 1889. The names of twenty-nine members appear on said charter. Akron Lodge No. 74 was constituted and dedicated at the first stated communication under charter on November 6, 1889. Brother S. W. Robinson acted as proxy for the Grand Master at the ceremony.
Brother Frank D. Allen, our Master in 1921, served as Grand Master in 1945. He was Grand High Priest of Colorado Royal Arch Masons ten years earlier.
On January 19, 1950 a fire destroyed the Temple and all the Lodge furniture and equipment and most of the records were lost. A new Temple was erected in 1951, the corner-stone being laid by the Grand Lodge on May 16, 1951. The first stated communication in the new Temple was held on October 3, 1951, and was formally dedicated on April 19, 1952 by Most Worshipful Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes.
Number of members November 30,1960 146
ST. JOHNS LODGE NO. 75, A.F. & A.M.
ROCKY FORD, COLORADO
On February 21, 1889 less than 2 years after the sale of town lots in Rocky Ford, St. Johns Lodge was opened U. D. Wm. Clark, W. M., A. F. Thompson, Sr. W., Dr. Elias W. Kearby, Jr. W., Dr. Levi Huber, Sec., Adam C. Comer, Treas., Lafayette Bradley, Sr. D., Emery Robb, Jr. D., Wm. H. Clark, Tiler, Milton Badger, Chaplain.
One of the decisions made at the first meeting was to hold meetings on the 1st and 3rd Thursday night of each month. These dates have been retained during the 71 years of the Lodge life.
On Sept. 18, 1889 a charter was granted by the Grand Lodge and a special meeting was called on Sept. 30, 1889 to dedicate and install the officers of St. Johns Lodge No. 75.
In 1898 a fire destroyed all the lodge property except the desk and records. In 1902 St. Johns Lodge erected its present Masonic Hall.
One of the distinctive features of St. Johns Lodge is its "Old Timers Night" which is held the second meeting night of each December. This was inaugurated in 1913. The plan for this night was that all members who had reached the age of 60, should be entertained by the younger members. If the older members could not be present they were urged to write a letter, to be read before the lodge, advising of anything of interest to their brothers in Masonry, regarding their activities, state of health and the like. This custom has survived and is an annual event. The Master and immediate P. M. take bouquets to widows of members who have died during the year. A turkey dinner is served by the younger members. A transcript of the proceedings is mailed to the non-resident old timers who could not be present. After the letters from the absent brothers are read, each old timer present is called upon for remarks.
One of the great Masonic honors to St. Johns Lodge No.75 has been the election of Past Master Millard E. Ryan to the office of Grand Master of Masons in Colorado. He served in that capacity in 1956.
Membership in November, 1960 210
COLORADO SPRINGS LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 76,
COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO
A group of Masons met together in the Spring of 1889 in the hope of starting a lodge in Colorado City. After several meetings, an application for dispensation was made to the Grand Lodge of Colorado. The request was granted and Adams Lodge U. D. came into being. The first official communication was held at Colburn Hall on West Colorado Avenue, Colorado City, on May 18, 1889.
A charter was granted by the Grand Lodge of Colorado on September 18, 1889. The Lodge was named Colorado City Lodge No. 76.
The Lodge Hall was moved several times in subsequent years. It was moved to the Templeton Block on Colorado Avenue in 1891. In 1894 a move was made to Ash Hall. The Knights of Pythias Hall, Templeton Block, became the meeting place in 1898.
In 1901 the School Board of Colorado City requested that Colorado City Lodge No. 76 sponsor the corner-stone laying for the new Whittier Grade School. The Grand Master of Masons of Colorado performed the impressive ceremony.
The year 1905 was a very quiet year for Masonry in Colorado City. An extended strike of the miners and smeltermen kept the town in turmoil. Colorado City was under martial law for several months during which time the State Militia was encamped on the old mill dump.
In 1918 Colorado City Lodge was forced to remain closed for approximately three months. The civil authorities prohibited all public gatherings from September until December due to the seriousness of the "flu epidemic".
August 14, 1919 Colorado City Lodge moved to the Masonic Temple in Colorado Springs. The name of the Lodge became Colorado Springs Lodge No. 76.
On June 11, 1945 the Lodge held its 2,OOOth meeting.
Through the many years since 1889 old Lodge No. 76 has been striving and progressing in its efforts for the good of Masonry. Though not one of the larger Lodges in the state, it is diligent and ever striving for perfection. Many are the brothers both in Colorado and scattered to the far-away places throughout the world who can proudly say that they received their degrees either as a member of No. 76 or due to the courtesy of No. 76 in helping a brother from another lodge far from home.
There were 296 members on November 30, 1960.
BURLINGTON LODGE NO. 77, A.F. & A.M.
Pursuant to a recommendation by Wray Lodge No. 71, A. F. & A. M., a petition signed by Frederick K. Brown, Hiram Wilson, George W. Myers, William Parke, David A. Vanderpool, Heman W. Clement, Franklin F. Thomas, Jared Marshall, Jesse E. Barlow, and Lewis C. Green was presented to the Grand Lodge A. F. & A. M. of Colorado for a dispensation to open a lodge under the name of Burlington U.D., to confer Masonic Degrees of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. William David Todd, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado, did on June 21, 1889 grant a dispensation and appointed Frederick K. Brown, Worshipful Master; Hiram Wilson, Senior Warden, and Franklin F. Thomas, Junior Warden. Said dispensation was to continue in effect until the annual Grand Communication on September 17th next at Denver, Colorado.
The first communication was held on June 22, 1889 at which time David A. Vanderpool was elected Secretary; Heman W. Clement, Treasurer, and the following officers were appointed: George W. Myers, Senior Deacon; Jesse E. Barlow, Junior Deacon; William Parke, Senior Steward; Lewis C. Green, Junior Steward, and Jared Marshall, Tiler. Eleven communications were held while the lodge was under dispensation and charter was granted on September 18, 1889.
The meeting place was in the Hall over the Gillette Drug Store, which was located about 349 - 14th Street. The Hall was rented jointly by the Masonic Lodge and the Knights of Pythias. The heating stove and the lodge furniture were owned jointly by the lodges.
By the election time of December 17, 1892 all of the original charter members had ceased to have any active part in the lodge and most of them had moved away. However, Doctor Cameron A. Gillette had affiliated in 1889 and William M. Long had joined the lodge in 1892. Daniel H. Jones affiliated with the lodge in 1893 and these three were the guiding lights who carried the lodge through its trying period of the early days. Daniel H. Jones was Master six times, Cameron A. Gillette three time and William M. Long twice.
In August of 1893 the Burlington Lodge purchased the two story building at 309 - 14th Street which is now Knapps Plumbing Shop. The second floor was remodeled and the lodge performed lots of work here until 1920.
Elmer C. Baker joined the lodge in 1904 and Henry G. Hoskin in 1905. These two spoke in glowing terms of the abilities of Daniel H. Jones or "Uncle Dan Jones" as he was more familiarly known. Uncle Dan was indeed the father of the lodge and the guiding light during the troubled times of its early days. He was able to take any part in the lodge without preparation or advance notice and in spite of the fact that he lived some 12 miles from town, he rarely missed a meeting. Much credit for the record of the lodge must be given to Elmer C. Baker and Henry G. Hoskin. From 1904 when he was raised until his retirement in 1945 Elmer C. Baker held office almost continuously, having been Master twice and Secretary for 30 years. Likewise Henry G. Hoskin was Master twice and Treasurer for 27 years and held office continuously from December 2, 1905 to December 10, 1945. Truly Burlington Lodge owes a great deal to these men. While there have been many who have contributed generously to the Lodge, those mentioned above have been outstanding.
The Odd Fellows Lodge built a hall in 1920 so the Masonic Lodge moved over there on a rental basis and sold the old hall to Arthur Wilson who published the Burlington Call. This hall is located at 334 - 15th Street in Burlington, Colorado.
Burlington Lodge No. 77 held its fiftieth anniversary observance on November 13, 1939. Several Grand Lodge officers were in attendance and representatives from Cheyenne Wells, Hugo, Limon, Goodland, Wray and Flagler Lodges.
In 1950 Burlington Lodge purchased the former Christian Church at the corner of 14th and Donelan Streets and remodeled it for use as a lodge hall. On the evening of September 1, 1951, Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Colorado, C. Wheeler Barnes, accompanied by Right Worshipful Giles N. Alkire, Grand Lecturer of Colorado, and other dignitaries of the Grand Lodge dedicated the building in due form. Burlington Lodge is most proud of its hall and feels that it will compare in utility with any comparable halls. The members are happy that it is debt free.
Burlington Lodge is proud of the fact that it has paid over $5000.00 out of its St. Johns Fund for the relief of worthy distressed members.
Lodge growth has been as follows:
BRIGHTON LODGE NO. 78, A.F. & A.M.
The first communication of Brighton Lodge U.D. was held Dec. 27, 1888. Those present were Thomas A. McMurtrie, W.M.; Wm. Hogarth, S.W.; Daniel F. Carmichael, J.W.; Frank E. Kearney, Treas.; Dewey W. Strong, Sec.; Andrew Craig, S.D.; Ben H. Swan, J.D., Pro-Tem; John P. Roseborough, Tiler, Pro-Tem.
The lodge U. D. continued to meet until the fall of 1890, the total membership was sixteen. Upon surrender of the dispensation, the charter was granted Sept. 16, 1890. The charter was signed by Grand Master Wm. T. Bridwell and other Grand Lodge officers. The mother lodge, Garfield Lodge No. 50 of Erie, Colo., surrendered most of the territory from which Brighton Lodge was formed and also recommended to the Grand Lodge the formation of a Lodge at Brighton.
The bylaws of Brighton were adopted from those of Denver Lodge No.5 with such changes as were necessary regarding dues, fees, etc. The first Temple Association was formed on June 27, 1901.
Brighton Lodge No. 78 laid the corner-stone for the first High School in Brighton in 1913.
A recommendation and approval of a Lodge in Aurora was made by Brighton Lodge in 1922. The Lodge was chartered in September, 1922. A recommendation for a Lodge in Hudson was approved by Brighton Lodge No. 78 in September, 1926.
The first permanent home of Brighton Lodge was ready for occupancy on January 27, 1936. The Lodge continued in this home until September 14, 1950. The first 50-year pin presented by Brighton Lodge was to Bro. Frederick Piser, on June 23rd, 1938. In 1940 the bylaws of the lodge were revised to meet the increasing demands and conditions.
The 50th Anniversary of the Lodge was held in the Presbyterian Church, this was a tiled meeting with 150 Masons present, 25 Lodges were represented. The burning of the mortgage on the first Masonic Temple was held on May 20, 1943. In September, 1943, Brighton Lodge presented its oldest living Past Master, Louis A. Stueland, with a 5O-year medal as the first Mason raised in Brighton Lodge, June 15, 1893.
In February, 1946, Clyde L. Miller offered to donate two lots to the Lodge, provided it built a Temple on them. He would also sell two or four adjoining lots but due to the Lodge's financial condition the brothers were unable to avail themselves of this offer. However in 1949, Bro. Miller again made the land available to them and after much discussion a motion was made by Bro. Clifford Gobble to purchase the lots. This motion carried and work started on the new Temple in February, 1950. Much of the labor was donatee!. The corner-stone was laid on April 15, 1950.
The first meeting in the new Temple was held September 14, 1950.
Brighton Lodge No. 78 is proud of Bro. Clifford Gobble, who served as Grand Master in 1959.
The membership of Brighton Lodge, November, 1960, was 344.
RICO LODGE NO. 79, A.F. & A.M.
Grand Master Bridwell issued a dispensation to fourteen brethren of Rico in Dolores County, Colorado, on October 1, 1889, to form a Lodge to be known as Rico Lodge U. D., with Brother David A. Holmes, Worshipful Master; Filer L. Thompson, Senior Warden, and Albert E. Kennedy as Junior Warden. The petition was recommended by San Juan Lodge No. 33.
The Committee on Returns and Works recommended that Rico Lodge be chartered at the Grand Lodge session in Septembcr 1890, since the record showed 11 initiated, 10 passed and 9 raised and all other records were fairly correct. After changing two of the bylaws, the charter was issued to Rico Lodge 79. Grand Master Ernest LeNeve Foster commissioned R.W. Bro. Jethro C. Sanford to constitute Rico Lodge No. 79 which was duly performed on October 14, 1890 with the following installed, Filer L. Thompson, Worshipful Master; Charles F. Middaugh, Senior Warden; and Lewis Clarke, Junior Warden. The charter carried twenty-two other names.
Rico is one of several lodges which had duplicate charters issued. Grand Master DeLong issued and signed a duplicate in 1899 since the original was lost or accidentally destroyed.
Membership November 30, 1960 33
RIO BLANCO LODGE NO. 80, A.F. & A.M.
After the incorporation of the town of Meeker a few Masons in the Valley of the White River kept their eyes open for enough material to establish a Lodge of Masons, In April, 1890, Rio Blanco Lodge was duly organized and permitted to work U.D.
An immediate election was held by the eleven local brethren. The first officers installed were Henry Clay Peterson, W.M.; Arthur Moulton, S.W.; :Marcus Coon, J.W.; John Watson, Sec.; James Lyttle, Treas.; George Temple, Sr. D.; Herman Pfeiffer, Jr. D.; Thomas Baker, Sr. S.; Henderson Eddy, Jr., Jr. S.; David Smith, Tiler; Ben Price, Chaplain.
In Sept. 1890, the Grand Lodge issued a charter to thirteen members of Rio Blanco Lodge No. 80. The membership was scattered and it was not always easy to organize a quorum, for the transaction of business, but due to their determination they endured many hardships and came from a great distance to attend lodge. Because of diligent work new members were raised, the lodge prospered and a quorum was easier to organize.
Rio Blanco Lodge met in the Hugus & Co. Building. Friday, March 10, 1911 at 2: 30 A.M., fire broke out in the rear of the building and owing to the hour the building and all of its contents were destroyed. However, only one meeting of Rio Blanco Lodge (March 11) was missed. By the 25th of March a duplicate charter allowed the Lodge to meet in the district court room of the Court House. The Hugus Co. erected a new building with the Lodge and ante-rooms being rearranged. In Dec., 1911, Rio Blanco Lodge No. 80 moved into its "new home" which is occupied until the present time.
Membership, November, 1960 181
HOLYOKE LODGE NO. 81, A.F. & A.M.
Early in the spring of 1890 the following brothers made application to the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of A. F. & A. M. of Colorado for dispensation to form a Lodge at Holyoke: I. W. Waite, R. E. Webster, G. R. Ellis, J. R. Williams, C. M. Pickett, W. C. Boggs, E. Wartenbe, A. B. Pollock, A. T. Guthrie, R. R. Blair, I. L. Dermond, J. Bryant, G. E. Clark, A. B. Best, W. Clemmons, A. J. Baker, E. N. McPherrin, E. S. Dakan, M. A. Snyder. Logan Lodge No. 70 at Julesburg was the Mother Lodge.
On April 18, 1890 this group met in the K. of P. Hall above what was known as the Tinkel Building in Holyoke. The dispensation to form a Lodge, signed by Most Worshipful Grand Master William T. Bridwell was read. He had appointed I. W. Waite, Worshipful Master; R. R. Blair, Senior Warden, and R. E. Webster, Junior Warden. I. W. Waite, W.M., with the consent of the members, appointed 1. L. Dermond, Sec.; A. T. Guthrie, Treas.; E. S. Dakan, S.D.; G. R. Ellis, J.D.; G. E. Clark, S.S.; J. R. Williams, J.S.; E. Wartenbe, Tiler.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge, September charter was granted. The first communication of Holyoke Lodge No. 81 was held October 3, 1890.
The early records are descriptive of many trials and tribulations, trials in the Lodge room and tribulations of the brethren at large. Until 1905 Holyoke was the division point of the C. B. and Q. Railroad, during that year it was moved to Sterling. This was a severe blow to the Lodge and town. In February of 1911 the Lodge suffered a fire and many of the early records were destroyed. Despite these setbacks Holyoke Lodge made a steady growth in members and lodge activities. They assisted the Grand Lodge in laying corner-stones of several schools and County Buildings and were active members of the North Eastern Colorado Masonic Association.
In 1951 plans were made for a Temple and on February 9, 1952 the cornerstone was laid. During the construction period the members assisted in various ways and in September, 1952, Holyoke Lodge met in its own Temple. It was dedicated April 11, 1953 by the Grand Lodge with Most Worshipful Grand Master Hubert Glover presiding. The Temple cost $20,000.00 and was dedicated clear of debt. Holyoke Chapter No. 105, O. E. S., deserves much credit for assistance with the furnishing of the Temple.
Holyoke Lodge No. 81 has experienced a normal growth since the erection of the Temple and there is a genuine feeling of Brotherly Love and a fine sprit of cooperation among the 135 members.
CARBONDALE LODGE NO. 82, A.F. & A.M.
Grand Master Bridwell issued dispensation to nine brethren at Carbondale, Garfield County, Colorado, on May 6, 1890 to be known as Carbondale Lodge U. D. with Brother Benjamin B. Hill, Worshipful Master; Marshall H. Dean, Senior Warden and James W. Campbell, Junior Warden.
The petition was recommended by Glenwood Lodge No. 65 at the Grand Lodge Communication in September. Grand Master Bridwell recommended the lodge be chartered. The committee on returns and work finding the records fairly kept, in fact to the extent of being a model set, and 12 initiated, 11 passed and 10 raised, making two changes in the bylaws, recommended that Carbondale Lodge No. 82 be chartered.
Carbondale Lodge No. 82 had in its bylaws the first reference to complete secrecy of the ballot, and the committee recommended this be spread in the minutes of the Grand Lodge and every lodge adopt this section. This was the original of our Grand Lodge bylaw regarding secrecy of the ballot, Section 183.
Worshipful Brother F. H. Demman was commissioned by Grand Master Foster to constitute Carbondale Lodge No. 82. This duty was performed October 21, 1890. He installed Benjamin B. Hill, Worshipful Master; Marshall H. Dean, Senior Warden, and James W. Campbell, Junior Warden.
The charter also had fifteen other names on it. Marshall H. Dean was Grand Master of Masons in Colorado in 1902.
Membership in 1960 was 89
BERTHOUD LODGE NO. 83, A.F. & A.M.
On May 7, 1890, Grand Master Bridwell issued a dispensation to eleven brethren in Larimer County to meet and form a lodge to be known as Berthoud Lodge U. D. with Brothers Richard M. Hubbell, Worshipful Master; Winton Smith, as Senior Warden, and John R. Nimer, Junior Warden. The petition was recommended by St. Vrain Lodge No. 53 and Past Grand Master Carr. Grand Master Bridwell also recommended this Lodge be chartered.
The Committee on returns and work examined the records to discover them fairly correct and that the Lodge had raised 12, passed 13 and initiated 16. One bylaw was not in accord with Masonic Law so it was not approved since it was a copy of Union Lodge No. 7's bylaw, section 2, article 5, the repeal of this was recommended to Union Lodge, so it would not lead any other lodges "in forbidden paths".
The Committee then recommended that Berthoud No. 83 be chartered and Grand Master Foster commissioned Most Worshipful Brother Byron L. Carr to constitute Berthoud Lodge and install its officers, namely Richard M. Hubbell, Worshipful Master; F. Irving Davis, Senior Warden; John R. Nimer, Junior Warden. Seventeen other names were on the Charter. This was done in due form on October 4, 1890.
Berthoud Lodge No. 83 had 142 members on November 30th, 1960
TEMPLE LODGE NO. 84, A.F. & A.M.
In 1865 a Masonic Hall Association was formed by the four local Masonic Bodies - Denver Lodge No.5, Union Lodge No.7, Denver Chapter No.2, Royal Arch Masons, and Colorado Commandery No.1, Knights Templar.
In 1881 the Masonic Hall Association became the Masonic Temple Association with a capital of $100,000.00, built to this amount from the original $4,000.00 which each of the above named bodies subscribed. There were five sites investigated and the one at 16th and Welton, where the original Temple now stands was chosen. In the early summer of 1890 the fourth floor Lodge room was ready for use. By that time there were three Masonic Lodges in Denver: Denver Lodge No.5, Union Lodge No.7 and Schiller Lodge No. 41. The new building was dedicated July 3, 1890.
At the same time a group of seventeen sojourning Masons who had assisted the existing Lodges to occupy their new Temple, grouped together with William D. Wright, who was our first Worshipful Master, to organize a new lodge. Right Worshipful Brother Wright was then Junior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Colorado. This was the first Lodge chartered in the new Temple and was named Temple Lodge. These Masons obtained permission to meet in the new building. They chose William D. Wright as Master, Frank I. Smith as Senior Warden, Simeon A. Josephi as Junior Warden, and applied for a dispensation to the Grand Lodge of Colorado, which was generously endorsed and recommended by Denver Lodge No.5 and Union Lodge No.7. The dispensation was issued July 25, 1890 to Temple Lodge U. D., with the above officers named, and thirteen additional members.
The next annual communication of the Grand Lodge of Colorado was on September 16th and 17th, 1890, and on the first day of this meeting the committee on Work and Returns submitted the following report to Ernest LeNeve Foster, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado (who dimitted to Temple Lodge No. 84 in 1894):
"Your committee to whom has been referred the petition of Temple Lodge U. D. for charter under the Grand Lodge of Colorado A. F. and A. M. hereby recommend that a charter be issued to the petitioners, bearing the name of Temple Lodge No. 84."
Since that eventful day in 1890, with William D. Wright as Master, Temple Lodge No. 84 has grown and prospered to the present date with 512 members, with Alvin H. Munk serving as Master. In our 71 years, Temple Lodge No. 84 has had four Grand Masters serving the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Colorado.
|Ernest LeNeve Foster||1890-81|
|William D. Wright||1892-93|
|Arther E. Jones||1906-07|
|Francis J. Knauss||1940-41|
ACACIA LODGE NO. 85, A.F. & A.M.
COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO
Dispensation granted August 15, 1890.
Charter granted September 15, 1891.
HIGHLANDS LODGE NO. 86, A.F. & A.M.
During the summer of 1890, about a dozen Masons met in the office of the City Clerk of the town of Highlands to discuss the formation of a Lodge. On August 22nd another meeting with 22 present decided to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation and on September 4th formal request was made.
Grand Master Ernest Le Neve issued the dispensation on Nov. 3, 1890, naming Roger W. Woodbury, W.M.; George F. Lewis, S.W.; and John W. Shannon, J, W. The Grand Lodge issued the charter with 40 names inscribed thereon, during its annual communication of September, 1891.
The Lodge was constituted, consecrated and dedicated by G. M. John W. Maxwell. The three principal officers installed were, Roger W. Woodbury, W.M.; George F.Lewis, S.W.; and John M. Shannon, J.W. Brother Woodbury later became Grand Master, also Grand High Priest and Grand Commander.
The Lodge used the assembly room of the Highlands City Hall until April, 1894. Later, the upper floor of the Arbuckle Building was secured and used (with the exception of one year) until September 15, 1905 when the new building was ready for use at 3220 Federal Blvd.
This building was adequate at the time but due to the growth of the Highlands Lodge and other lodges organizing and using the same Temple, plans were made in 1921 for a new and larger building.
The first communication in the new and also present Temple was in 1928. This Temple was completely paid for and mortgage burned on September 16, 1950.
Highland No. 86 has been honored by having three Past Masters chosen as Grand Masters. They are: Roger W. Woodbury, Benjamin C. Hilliard and Reuben W. Hershey.
Members, 1961 1276
ORIENTAL LODGE NO. 87, A.F. & A.M.
June 15, 1891, the Grand Lodge of Colorado, on receipt of a petition, granted the 59 signers of said petition, a dispensation to hold Lodge as "Colorado Lodge U. D." in the Masonic Temple at 1614 Welton Street, Denver, Colorado, and appointed Brother Henry M. Furman, Worshipful Master; Robert D. Thompson, Senior Warden and Alonzo F. Vick Roy, Junior Warden to serve the Lodge U. D.
It is interesting to note that 14 of these signers were members of Denver Lodge No.5 and 24 of Union Lodge No.7, the two lodges that recommended the formation of this new Lodge.
Colorado Lodge U. D. held 6 stated and 3 special communications - 9 petitions were received for the degrees, 7 were elected and 1 rejected and 1 no action taken. 6 received the Entered Apprentice Degree, 5 the Fellow Craft Degree and 1 the Master Mason Degree.
September 14, 1891, a petition for charter was sent to the by 61 Masons. The Charter was granted September 15, 1891, Oriental Lodge No. 87.
The officers appointed for Colorado Lodge U. D. were re-appointed to serve Oriental Lodge No. 87.
December 2, 1891 was the first election of officers. At this time Harry M. Furman was elected to again serve as Worshipful Master; A. F. Vick Roy, Senior Warden; J. A. Vickers, Junior Warden; W. B. Trufant, Treasurer; and J. P. Evans, Secretary.
December 16, 1891, the above elected officers and the following appointed officers were installed, D. A. Barton, Senior Deacon; W. F. Larimer, Junior Deacon; R. W. English, Senior Steward; S. B. Grimshaw, Junior Steward; and Thomas Linton, Tiler.
December 14, 1892, the officers of Oriental Lodge No. 87 were installed by Most Worshipful Grand Master William D. Wright at public installation. This was followed by a banquet and dancing till a late hour.
During the first 10 years there were many petitions received for the Degrees, numerous rejections, and many suspensions for "Un-Masonic Conduct" (specifically Non-Payment of Dues).
At a Special Communication, September 17, 1895, the Master of Union Lodge No.7 conferred the first section of the Third Degree, the Master of Oriental, the second Section and the Master of Denver No.5 the third Section, all on one candidate.
January 29, 1897, a smoker was held by the Lodge.
January 19, 1898, the indebtedness to the Masonic Temple Mortagage Trustee was paid in full and Lodge was clear of all debts.
April 17, 1901, was a Big Day. Eight Fellow Crafts were raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.
October 7,1901, Lodge opened at 9:00 A.M. for a full day's labor. The Fellowcrafts were raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason, meals served at noon and in the evening, and refreshments at closing.
September 21, 1910, Most Worshipful Brother A. B. McGaffey, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado and an affiliated Past Master of Oriental visited the Lodge as his first official visit as Grand Master.
September 17, 1912 at a Called Communication, the Masters of the Denver Area Lodges exemplified the third degree before the Grand Lodge. This is the first note of any of the Officers of Denver Area Lodges Meeting, and was probably the fore-runner of the metropolitan Masonic Officers Association.
March 4, 1914 three Brothers, H. P. Drinkwater, R. R. Drinkwater and R. L. Drinkwater were raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.
December 1, 1915 Most Worshipful Brother Robert M. Simons, Grand Master of Masons and other Grand Lodge Officers visited Oriental Lodge. Most Worshipful Brother Simons was a Past Master of Oriental Lodge, having served the lodge as Master in 1904.
The years 1932 to 1942 were trying years for the lodge. During this period the membership dropped from 489 in 1931 to 353 in 1942.
Carlton M. Ray, who was Master in 1945, was elected Most Worshipful Grand Master in 1960, thus becoming the third Grand Master from Oriental in its 70 year history.
It is interesting to note the many rejections for the Degrees in the Lodge's early years, while with the decline of the depression years a steadying influence became apparent thus revealing that friendship and brotherly love were becoming a reality.
Membership November 30,1960 423
YAMPA LODGE NO. 88, A.F. & A.M.
Tradition informs us that the first meeting of Masons in Routt County was held in an oat field during the late summer or early fall of 1890. The ten who became members and who organized the Lodge were: Brothers James M. Darnall, Frank B. Ranney, James L. Tower, Matt Johnson, William W. Wayman, William Taylor, Joseph D. Tower, S.M. Dowden, R. H. Green and Louis H. Breeze. The business of this meeting consisted of making arrangements for organizing Yampa Lodge U. D. and electing the officers to be recommended for appointment by the Grand Master to serve for the first year. They were Bros. J. M. Darnall, W.M.; F. B. Ranney, S.W.; and J, L. Tower, J,W. The first recorded meeting was held March 30, 1891.
The first petitioner for the degrees in Yampa Lodge U. D. was R. H. Buchanan, who became the first to be initiated in the new Lodge.
On October 26, 1891 a special communication of Yampa Lodge U. D. was called and Yampa Lodge No. 88 was duly constituted and dedicated.
On Dec. 5, 1892, it was decided to have a public installation of officers on Dec. 27, and each brother was allowed six invitations.
In the early days Yampa seemed to have janitorial trouble. The Lodge agreed to pay Bro. R. H. Green fifty cents per night as janitor fees, and Bro. Green was to be fined $1.00 for each and every night he failed to have a fire and the room in good order. Bro. Green performed his duties in a satisfactory manner as there is no record of his having been fined.
The first meetings of Yampa Lodge were held in the old Town Hall building, but it was destroyed by fire in 1896.
In October, 1895, the Lodge was moved to Darnall Hall.
In July, 1917, the Lodge moved to the new Lodge rooms over the First National Bank. It occupied these rooms until July 12, 1928.
In 1947 the Lodge purchased new officers' aprons and collars and the old ones were sent to Baguio Lodge, Baguio City, Philippines.
Membership November, 1960 203
TRINIDAD LODGE NO. 89, A.F. & A.M.
During the winter of 1890, several members of the Masonic Fraternity conceived the idea of forming a second lodge in this city and accordingly a petition for a dispensation, signed by thirteen Masons, was sent to the Grand Master. This was granted by Most Worshipful Grand Master W. J. Bridwell, on May 4, 1891 and the first communication was held May 8, 1891 at which time J. B. Hershey was electecl Worshipful Master.
This communication was held in a lodge room occupied by Las Animas Lodge No. 28 and located on the second floor of the Elks Building. The two lodges continued to occupy this room until a fire destroyed the building on January 11, 1904.
Because of certain irregularities in the Lodge under Dispensation, the charter was not granted until September 20, 1892 by Most Worshipful Grand Master, John M. Maxwell, who signed the charter along with 35 charter members of Trinidad Lodge No. 89, A. F. & A. M. On October 25, 1892, the Lodge was instituted by Past Grand Master Quillian with John B. Hershey as Master in 1892 and 1893.
The first candidates to be made Masons under dispensation were: J. E. Wallace, Charles H. Blake, W. S. Keeny, S. H. Schuyler and John R. Espey.
Leo R. Gottlieb was the first Mason raised in Trinidad Lodge No. 89 on October 25, 1892. He served the Lodge as Worshipful Master for five years in 1896, 1897, 1898, 1902 and 1903. Brother Gottlieb has served this Lodge continuously for the past 68 years.
The records of this Lodge are not available from September 8, 1891 to May 23, 1899, as they were destroyed by fire in the store room of the Secretary, David S. Harper.
After the fire which destroyed the Elks Building, this Lodge occupied the Mitchell Building and the Tafoya Building until on April 26, 1911, the present Masonic Temple was completed and dedicated by Most Worshipful Grand Master Albert B. McGaffey.
Trinidad Lodge No. 89 was honored in September, of Colorado elected Kenneth O. Wood to the office Master.
The Lodge met in special communication, October 25, 1942 to celebrate its 50th Anniversary with Most Worshipful Brother Haslett P. Burke as the principal speaker. John R. Espey and Samuel H. Schuyler were the only surviving charter members present.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 393
LAMAR LODGE NO. 90, A.F. & A.M.
Lamar Lodge No. 90, A. F. & A. M. was formed under dispensation, February 22,1892 and received its charter September 20, 1892.
Very little of the early history of this Lodge is available until 1942. On Monday, February 23, 1942 it celebrated its fiftieth anniversary.
In 1944, Most Worshipful Brother Herschel Horn, a member of this Lodge, served as Grand Master of Colorado.
In 1946, Worshipful Brother Clyde T. Knuckey served as Grand High Priest of the Grand Chapter Royal Arch Masons and in 1952, Worshipful Brother Ernest L. Goshen was elected Grand Master of the Grand Council Royal and Select Masters.
In 1947, an innovation originated, known as Ladies Night, which has become an annual social evening. The outstanding feature of this initial event was the burning of the Temple mortgage. This special night has taken the place of St. John's Day outdoor picnic which was never celebrated.
This same year, a cast from Consistory No.3 staged a return of the Claudy play, "A Rose Upon The Altar".
On May 24, 1951, GrandMaster C. Wheeler Barnes called a special communication for the purpose of laying the corner-stone of the Lamar Community Building.
On Sunday, May 18, 1952 the Lodge was convened by Grand Master Olin P. Lee for the purpose of conferring Masonic burial on Past Grand Master Herschel Horn.
At the Annual Past Master's Night, October 1943, the gold 50-year Grand Lodge Award was presented to Worshipful Brother Evan R. Jones, the oldest living Past Master, 91 years of age, by his son Brother R. Clark Jones.
In 1956, Worshipful Brother Lewis E. Horn was elected Worshipful Master. He was the second of Most Worshipful Brother Herschel Horn's sons to earn this honor.
On one occasion, a caravan of Master Masons visited Rock Island Lodge No. 869 at Dalhart, Texas, and at another time in 1959 they went to Springfield Lodge No. 158.
The 44-year-old carpet of the lodge was replaced in 1959 by $1800.00 from the Lodge Funds assisted by the York Rite Bodies toward the total cost of $5000.00.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 298
LAFAYETTE LODGE NO. 91, A.F. & A.M.
On February 23, 1892, Grand Master Maxwell issued a dispensation to eleven Master Masons to meet and form a lodge to be known as Lafayette Lodge U. D. with Brothers John M. Van Deren, Worshipful Master; John M. Symington, Senior Warden and David F. Davis, Junior Warden. This petition was recommended by Garfield Lodge No. 50.
The Committee on Returns and Work having examined the records, found them to be accurate and neatly kept, the By-laws in accord with Masonic law, and recommended that Lafayette Lodge No. 91 be chartered. The record of work showed 7 initiated, 2 passed and 2 raised. The total petitioners for Charter were fifteen.
Most Worshipful Grand Master Wright constituted Lafayette Lodge No. 91 and installed Brothers John M. Van Deren, Worshipful Master; John H. Simpson, Senior Warden; and Gustav W. Runge, Junior Warden.
Lafayette Lodge No. 91 was burned out as were several other Lodges and on January 31, 1900, Grand Master Burnard signed a duplicate charter. In the proceedings he said, "If, as it has been said, it is more laudable to suffer great misfortune than to do great things, then have our brethren been gainers by their ill fortune".
Lafayette Lodge on November 30, 1960, had a membership of 165
ROB MORRIS LODGE NO. 92, A.F. & A.M.
Very little of the early history of Rob Morris Lodge is available other than several meetings were held in Gyllesteim's Hall; some in a store room on Walnut Street, a number in the tailor shop of August Avril, opposite Gibson Hall.
On October 1, 1892, several interested Masons with the help of Denver Lodge No.5 requested the Grand Lodge for a dispensation to organize a Lodge U. D.
On October 8, 1892, Most Worshipful Grand Master William D. Wright issued a dispensation to Rob Morris Lodge U. D. with John C. Fulton as Worshipful Master.
It was mainly through the efforts of Brother Fulton that Rob Morris Lodge was organized and it was he who bestowed upon it its name, he having met and been an ardent admirer of Most Worshipful Brother Rob Morris.
On September 20, 1893, the Charter was granted, and on October 2, 1893, the Lodge was constituted by Grand Master Jethro C. Sanford, with Edward F. Hoffman, Worshipful Master.
The first meeting of Rob Morris Lodge, U. D. was held October 10, 1892. There were twenty-two petitions received at the first five meetings.
From its inception until 1897, and again from 1902 until 1906, the Lodge met in Gibson Hall, 3836 Walnut Street. In 1906 it moved to the Masonic Temple, 16th and Welton Street, Denver, where the meetings have been held since that time.
Much of the furniture and implements of the Lodge were made and presented by individual brethren. The Bible now in use was the gift of Brother Gus D. Baines, on the 50th anniversary. The American Flag was presented by P. M. Fred G. Hunt.
The Grand Lodge recognized Rob Morris Lodge by electing Most Worshipful Brother William M. Nelson as Grand Master in 1939 and by appointing Worshipful Brother Charles H. Watkins as Grand Tiler in the same year.
There were two members who served the Lodge with distinction as Secretaries, namely: Henry F. Evans from 1905 to 1922 and William M. Nelson from 1922 to 1954.
The Grand Lodge Record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 427
SOUTH DENVER LODGE NO. 93, A.F. & A.M.
South Denver Lodge No. 93 appears to have had its beginning around the prescription counter of the drug store of Azel W. Bush at 434 Broadway. Accordingly, early in 1893, an application was made by 18 Masons to Most Worshipful Grand Master William D. Wright, for a dispensation which was granted on February 9, 1893 and South Denver Lodge U. D. was instituted on February 13, 1893 with I. S. Elrod as Worshipful Master. The first regular communication was held in Tuck's Hall, South Denver.
The first candidate to be initiated was J. E. Munson on March 13, 1893. There were 34 meetings held under dispensation from February 13, 1893 to August 31, 1893.
The lodge had the misfortune to have its dispensation stolen from the pocket of the Master who carried it with him all the time. During the month of August, the Most Worshipful Grand Master William D. Wright presided at their meetings.
The Charter, signed by 39 members, was granted September 20, 1893 and South Denver Lodge No. 93 was instituted September 26, 1893 by Most Worshipful Grand Master, William D. Pierce, with Isom S. Elrod as Worshipful Master.
The first regular communication was held October 3, 1893 and the first man raised was James W. Crawford on October 17,1893.
From 1893 to 1895 economic conditions became so serious that consideration was given to surrendering the charter of the Lodge, but such action was over-ruled by the Worshipful Master, David Cinnamond. By 1896 prosperity began to return and the Lodge showed new life.
On January 4, 1898 it was voted to have an entertainment on Washington's birthday. This was followed by frequent social evenings.
On February 21, 1899, a piano was acquired and early in 1900, the purchase of a "Plug Hat" was authorized at a cost of $4.00. Both have had long service!
In 1906, a site, known as 350 South Broadway, the present location, was purchased for $2100 for a new Masonic Temple. On March 17, 1907, the corner-stone for the new Temple was laid by Most Worshipful Past Grand Master James R. Killian. The building was completed in December 1907 and dedicated February 14, 1898 by Most Worshipful Grand Master Joseph A. Davis. The total cost of the Temple, including the land, but without furnishings, was $18,033.05.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 1,297
AMETHYST LODGE NO. 94, A.F. & A.M.
On March 14, 1893, Grand Master Wright issued a dispensation to fifteen Master Masons at Creede, Colorado, to open and form a Lodge to be known as Amethyst Lodge U. D. with Brothers M. P. McArthur, as Worshipful Master; Frank Shimer, Senior Warden, and W. C. Wescott as Junior Warden. This petition was recommended by Del Norte Lodge No. 29.
The Committee on Returns and Works examined the returns and work of severaI lodges and reported on Amethyst Lodge as follows: Dispensation granted March 21, 1893. "The returns are not correct in every particular, but from the entire record, we find fifteen brethren signed the dispensation; six Raised, three admitted to Charter Membership on Petition withdrawn, leaving a total membership of 23. One of these presents no voucher showing his right to membership and his name is left off the list. The By-laws are approved with a few verbal changes to agree with Masonic Law." "We recommend that a Charter be issued to this Lodge under the name Amethyst Lodge No. 94 with Brothers Marshall P. McArthur, Worshipful Master; Frank Shimer, Senior Warden, and Walter C. Wescott, Junior Warden, and twenty-two other names on Charter."
A discrepancy in dates of institution is noted. The date on dispensation is March 21, 1892. The dispensation also states Creede in Hinsdale County, and the charter states Mineral County. Possibly Mineral County was created in the interim.
Grand Master Sanford commissioned Worshipful Brother Charles O. Unfug of Walsenburg to constitute and install the officers, which duty was performed Wednesday eve, October 25, 1894.
On August 21, 1948, Most Worshipful Grand Master John R. Swinton called a special communication for the purpose of laying the Cornerstone of the Consolidated School at Creede, Colorado.
Membership of Amethyst Lodge, November 30, 1960 56
SILVER STATE LODGE NO. 95, A.F. & A.M.
In answer to a petition headed by late Most Wor. Bro. George W. Roe and signed by 28 other sojourning Masons, Grand Master William D. Wright issued a dispensation on April 2, 1893. The next evening in the Hall of South Pueblo No. 31, Silver State Lodge U.D. held its first meeting. On Sept. 20, 1893 the Lodge was constituted. On Oct. 14, 1893, 34 Masons signed the charter. First officers were George W. Roe, W.M.; Andrew Park, S.W.; and John J, Willard, J,W.
On Feb. 22, 1894, the Lodge moved to the top floor, Pioneer Building, 119 So. Union. In June of 1899 moved to the Hobson Building, N.E. Corner Third and Santa Fe Ave., meeting place occupied jointly with No. 17 until 1910 when both Lodges and three other Masonic bodies purchased Mechanic's Building-renamed Masonic Building at 207 N. Main. Lodge moved to Scottish Rite Temple, its present (1961) meeting place, in December, 1952.
Lodge has participated in all meetings of Grand Lodge in Pueblo, some of which are: Corner-stone laying of million dollar Court House, 1908; Corner-stone laying of Police Building on February 22, 1949, when, because of strenuous objection of secular clergy, 1,500 Masons and friends gathered at the site of the ceremony; Corner-stone laying of County High School Building on Highway 50 near Vineland, Colorado; and Corner-stone laying of Park Hill Junior High.
During roaring twenties, membership rose from 227 in 1920 to 341 in 1930. During the thirties, membership fluctuated. The "Furious Forties" saw an increase in petitions. Candidates raised in 1941 were 101.
Lodge sponsors special events each month. Lodge Masonic Symposium. As many as 650 dinners have been complimentary.
No. 95 sponsors the C. & C. Fund supplied by voluntary donations of members and sojourners which has given inestimable service to widows, orphans, and brethren. Outstanding and prominent members: Most Worshipful Brother George W. Roe, Grand Master, 1896, four times Master of No. 95; Worshipful Brother Earl W. Spencer, Master 1935, Grand Commander K.T., Colorado, Charter Member of Al Kaly Shrine, presently (1961) 36th term as treasurer, officer First Baptist Church, 40 years, practicing Dentist more than 50 years.
Wor. Bro. Anthony Riesenecker, P.M. No. 95, Secretary Emeritus at time of death, Past Grand High Priest.
M. Wor. Bro. Hubert Glover, present (1961) member of Jurisprudence Committee, Grand Master 1953, County Judge 28 years, Methodist Sunday School Teacher 30 years, Honorary Citizen, New Orleans, receiving keys of city, 1952.
November 30, 1960 membership 1,155
MOUNT PISGAH LODGE NO. 96, A.F. & A.M, CRIPPLE CREEK, COLORADO
Dispensation granted July 3, 1893. Charter granted September 20, 1893. Consolidated with Cripple Creek Lodge No. 110.
FREMONT LODGE NO. 97, A.F. & A.M.
On January 25, 1894, thirteen Master County, Colorado, requested a dispensation Lodge under the name of "Fremont Lodge."
The dispensation was granted on March 27, 1894 by Most Worshipful Grand Master Jethro C. Sanford who appointed J. W. Rambo, Worshipful Master.
Fremont Lodge U. D. was first opened on the evening of April 4, 1894. It rented the Knights of Pythias Hall for a meeting place.
Fremont Lodge No. 97 received its charter on September 19, 1894 and was constituted by Past Grand Master William T. Bridwell with nineteen charter members.
On July 30, 1895, it assisted the Grand Lodge in laying the corner-stone of the J. McCandless High School of Florence.
In October 1895, the lodge moved to the Union Hall on East Main Street and in June, 1903, to the Rogers Block, 200 E. Main Street.
The Florence State Bank Building was purchased for the future home of the Lodge in December, 1914, and after considerable remodelling No. 97 held its first meeting in the new home on May 4, 1915.
The formal celebration of the Golden Anniversary of Fremont Lodge No. 97 was held on December 26, 1944. The program, designed for a mixed group, was marked by an address "Highlights of the Lodge" and concluded with a variety show of local talent.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 191
HIRAM LODGE NO. 98, A.F. & A.M.
Masonry came to the silver mining community of Aspen with the dispensation granted to Spar Lodge, February 28, 1884. Thirty-eight meetings were held, sixteen Master Masons raised in seven months. It was chartered as No. 60 September 24, 1884.
Many petitions were received as mining flourished but a trend of rejections, including even applications for affiliation, brought action to start a new lodge. On April 3, 1896 dispensation was granted to the new group, composed both of Spar members and Master Masons rejected for affiliation. Nineteen brothers were raised before chartering on October 12, 1896.
Both lodges used the same hall and were generally on good terms. Both contributed to many of the same charitable causes, both in Colorado and over the nation. Both joined the Intermountain Masonic Association sponsored by Leadville Lodge in 1905. Consolidation of the two lodges was effected in 1906 after a previous attempt in 1899 had failed.
The lodge purchased Liberty Bonds in World War I and remitted dues of members of the armed services. Scrolls of pride and appreciation for those in the armed services were sent to the next-of-kin during World War II.
M. W. Bro. Frank D. Allen spoke at Fiftieth Anniversary November 15, 1945. Twenty-two Grand Masters have visited No. 98.
The lodge has two pedestals in the east, a peculiarity of only a few lodges in the hardrock mining towns. It is believed to be an English custom brought to this country by Cornish miners. The handpainted doors and wainscoting were brought from the former lodge hall to the present hall in 1912. In 1947 the Square and Compasses from the old hall were salvaged.
"Vagneur Night" was designated February 21, 1921 when the ninth and tenth members of the Vagneur family were initiated.
Membership, 1960 108
VICTOR LODGE NO, 99, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted August 2, 1895.
Charter granted September 16, 1895.
Members, November 30,1960 122
MANCOS LODGE NO, 100, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted July 3, 1895.
Charter granted September 16, 1896.
Members November 30, 1960 93
PLATEAU LODGE NO, 101, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted March 10, 1896.
Charter granted September 16, 1896.
Members November 30,1960 57
MOUNT LAMBORN LODGE NO. 102, A.F. & A.M.
On August 1, 1896, nine Master Masons, six of them ex-miners, met in Hotchkiss and discussed the possibility of organizing a Lodge. Accordingly on September 20, 1897, a petition for a Lodge U. D. was addressed to Grand Master, George W. Roe, the same to be known as North Fork Lodge, U. D. The petition was granted October 14, 1897 and the Lodge convened on October 30, 1897 with Newton M. Heistand as Worshipful Master for the purpose of instituting North Fork Lodge U. D.
Later the name was changed to Mount Lamborn Lodge No. 102. It secured its charter on October 15, 1897 at which time R. W. Horace J. DeLong, Deputy Grand Master, performed the ceremony of constitution, the charter having been authorized September 22, 1897 by Grand Master George W. Roe with Newton M. Heistand as Worshipful Master. At this time sixteen (16) Charter Members and three visitors were present.
The lodge first met in the Hall of I.O.O.F. No. 110 called the Niles Building. Later they moved to Hotchkiss Hall and again on April 27, 1903 to the Hotchkiss Building, now known as the Sare Building. On April 23, 1919 the Lodge moved to its commodious quarters in the First State Bank Building.
The first furniture for the Lodge was donated by the members, but in 1903, Brother J. E. Hanson presented the Lodge with a complete set of ornate furniture.
The first degree conferred by the Apprentice on Edward F. Barrow on degree on March 20, 1897.
The outstanding event of Mount Lamborn Lodge No. 102 was the celebration of its Fiftieth Anniversary on August 29, 1947. After the conferring of the third degree, a banquet was held in the dining room of the high school where seats were set for 160 guests. Following the banquet, a number of distinguished guests addressed the gathering, including Grand Master Grover C. Olinger. The history of the lodge by Fred S. Hotchkiss was the principal feature of the evening.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 130
VULCAN LODGE NO. 103, A.F. & A.M.
The first meeting of Masons was held on June 12, 1897 in Carson Hall. At this time and place, eleven Masons met under a dispensation from the Grand Lodge of Colorado dated June 5, 1897. The records do not show what Grand Master signed the dispensation, but Most Worshipful Grand Master George W. Roe signed the charter, September 22, 1897. C. N. Kinney was the first Worshipful Master.
The first motion made by this new lodge was to borrow $200.00 from C. R. Foster for six months at 12 % for necessary expenses; the second motion was to charge $40.00 for the three degrees. Four petitions were received at the first meeting and subsequently ten more were accepted.
Vulcan Lodge worked under dispensation for five months and for a charter was made September 11, 1897 and on October 19th, constituted by the newly elected Grand Master Cromwell Tucker.
In 1898 the Lodge moved to the second story of a new building in Hooper; this event was celebrated by a supper and entertainment for Masons and their families. The first communication of the Lodge in its new quarters was held March 12, 1898.
The San Luis Valley .Masonic Association was formed in 1892. In 1898 Vulcan Lodge entertained the Association with a most elaborate and delightful program, the only unfortunate feature was a debt of $600.00 resulting from the festivities.
In 1903 the Lodge purchased the building it was then occupying and celebrated the final payment for the same with an appropriate banquet and social evening.
During the years from 1900 to 1904 agricultural conditions, due to a lack of irrigating water, were reflected by a lack of attendance and interest in lodge activities. As a result of this condition, a motion was presented to the Lodge on November 12, 1904 to move the lodge to Center, a growing town. The motion was carried by one vote, but because a two-thirds majority was required by the Grand Lodge, the action was lost.
The years 1912 and 1913 seemed to mark better times for the Lodge. Eleven new members were raised, a silk hat was purchased for the Master and smoking was prohibited in the lodge room while in session.
On October 11, 1941 a site was purchased for a new lodge hall. The first meeting was held in the new quarters February 14, 1942 and the dedication services were conducted July 25, 1942 by Benjamin G. Hilliard, Most Worshipful Grand Master. Brother C. L. Young, our beloved and respected Grand Lecturer, was present on that occasion.
The fiftieth anniversary of Vulcan Lodge No. 103 was held on 1947 with Grand Master John R. Swinton present. The ladies of No. 46, O. E. S., served a delightful banquet.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 55
TEJON LODGE NO. 104, A.F. & A.M.
COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO
Since the origin and early history of Tejon Lodge is so closely bound up with that of Acacia Lodge No. 85, some members being named on the charters of both lodges, it is necessary to know something of the past of the latter Lodge.
On August 15, 1890, a dispensation was granted for Colorado Springs Lodge U. D. The dispensation was continued on September 25, 1890. In 1891, M.W. Bro. Ernest L. Foster reported that there were two lodges under dispensation with names similar to a chartered Lodge: Colorado City Lodge No. 76, Colorado Springs Lodge U.D. and Colorado Lodge V.D. The officers of Colorado Springs Lodge U.D. selected the new name of Acacia and the lodge was chartered under that name on September 15, 1891.
At the annual communication of the Grand the charter of Acacia Lodge No. 85 was revoked its members.
On October 22, 1897, 34 former members of Acacia Lodge No. 85, together with 7 other brothers, asked for a dispensation to reorganize under the name of Tejon Lodge U.D. The dispensation was granted December 16, 1897. A charter was issued September 21, 1898, at which time there were 41 charter members. The lodge was constituted November 16, 1898 by M.W. Bro. Horace T. DeLong.
Tejon Lodge meets in the Colorado Springs Masonic Temple, the corner-stone of which was laid on May 4, 1908, M.W. Bro. Joseph A. Davis officiating. The temple was dedicated on December 1, 1908 by M.W. Bro. John B. Haffy.
Tejon Lodge is justly proud of its four Past Grand Masters: Charles H. Dudley, 1914; Edward P. Hufferd, 1923; Horace H. Mitchell, 1930, and Olin P. Lee, 1951. Edward E. Hedblom, the first Secretary of Research Lodge of Colorado, was Grand High Priest of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Colorado in 1950. Frank L. Olney served as Right Eminent Grand Commander of the Grand Commanc1ery, Knights Templar, of Colorado.
Membership in Tejon Lodge No. 104 totalled 979 on November 30, 1960.
DEL NORTE LODGE NO. 105, A.F. & A.M.
DEL NORTE, COLORADO
On May 21, 1898 a group of Masons consisting mostly of former members Del Norte Lodge No. 29 met in the Masonic Temple of the then defunct Del Norte Lodge No. 29, for the first meeting of Tyrian Lodge. Under Dispensation of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Colorado, A. F. & A. M., at 8:00 P.M., with the following officers and members present, John Gordon Huntington, Worshipful Master; Edward Rudd Hoyt, Senior Warden; Roy Campbell, Junior Warden; Albert G. Beere, Senior Deacon; August J. Robran, Junior Deacon; James Baxter, Treasurer; Thomas A. Good, Secretary; Henry Strother N. Scott, Richard Scott, Christian Haffy.
On September 17, 1898 a request for charter accompanied by a copy of the bylaws was sent to the Grand Lodge with a request that the charter be granted under the name of Pioneer Lodge.
The Charter was granted under the name of Del Norte Lodge No. 105 and the new Lodge was constituted and consecrated October 20, 1899 by Most Worshipful Grand Master A. A. Burnand and other Grand Lodge Officers.
Following the ceremonies of constituting and consecrating, the Grand Master proceeded to install the officers of the new lodge with the exception of Worshipful Master John G. Huntington who was not present at this time.
After several years of discussion and planning, it was agreed to build a new temple.
The cornerstone was laid by Most Worshipful Grand Master John Andrews, November 17, 1927.
The Lodge was granted permission to move into the New Temple as soon as possible which it did on June 18, 1928.
The new Temple was dedicated at a special communication of the Grand Lodge on June 25, 1928 by Most Worshipful Grand Master John Andrews and other Grand Lodge Officers.
The depression years saw the Lodge in financial difficulty, there being few petitions, and many members unable to pay their dues. Every effort was made to help the members and make the payments on the Temple. By considerable work and sacrifice this was accomplished and in 1946 the Temple was free from debt.
The ensuing years brought prosperity to the Lodge financially and membership wise, and afforded the members the opportunity to enjoy fraternal fellowship with neighboring lodges.
The early years saw numerous charges and trials for unmasonic conduct in the lodge, while later years indicate an era of peace, harmony and fraternal affection.
There were many members who gave of their time and money to serve the Lodge and were outstanding in their service to the community, and it would be impossible to enumerate their many accomplishments, but a History of the Lodge would not be complete if we failed to mention Most Worshipful Brothers John B. Haffy and Jesse C. Wiley, who served the Lodge as Masters and were then chosen to serve the Grand Lodge as Grand Master.
The minutes of Del Norte Lodge No. 105 show many instances of charity to members and a true spirit of brotherly love.
EGERIA LODGE NO. 106, A.F. & A.M.
Prior to July 1898, there were only four Masons in Southern Routt County, and six in Steamboat Springs; in July 1898, these ten Masons decided to petition the Grand Lodge to organize a Lodge Under Dispensation at Yampa, Colorado. The dispensation was granted and the first regular meeting was held August 8, 1898 with W. J. Breckel as Worshipful Master.
The first petition received was from John P. Phillips of Yampa, a pioneer ranchman and stock raiser. At each successive meeting petitions were received in groups of four.
August 14, 1899, being the first anniversary of the Lodge U. D., a banquet was held with Craig Lodge as the guest and all ladies invited.
On October 9, 1899, Deputy Grand Master A. A. Bernard constituted Egeria Lodge No. 106, A. F. & A. M., and presented its charter signed by twenty-four Master Masons all of whom have passed on, save Levi A. Trantham. W. J. Breckel was elected the first Worshipful Master of No. 106.
In November 1901, the membership was 105. In that year Egeria Lodge lost 24 members to the newly formed lodge at Steamboat Springs; in 1926 Oak Creek Lodge took 17 members, making a total loss of 41 members.
The original home of the Lodge was on the second floor of Hernage Mercantile Store. Later it moved to a hall next to the Male Drug Store which was subsequently lost by fire. The present home of the Lodge is on the second floor of what was originally the Town Hall, now owned exclusively by Egeria Lodge No. 106.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 1960 shows a membership of 75
MT. AUDUBON LODGE NO. 107, A.F. & A.M.
This lodge consolidated with Columbia Lodge No. 14. It was given dispensation on January 31,1899 and chartered September 20,1899.
GOLDFIELD LODGE NO. 108, A.F. & A.M.
Consolidated with Victor Lodge No. 99. Date of dispensation August 8, 1899 and chartered September 19, 1900.
EATON LODGE NO. 109, A.F. & A.M.
Early in 1899 a small number of Masons living in and near Eaton, Colorado, and whose home Lodges were located in widely separated cities in several states, decided that they would form a Masonic Lodge in their newly adopted home. The routine matters necessary were dispatched in a legal manner, a waiver of jurisdiction was then obtained from Occidental Lodge No. 70 in Greeley, and a petition for dispensation to form a new Lodge was forwarded to Horace T. De Long, Grand Master of Masons of Colorado.
The following Brothers signed their names to the petition asking for the dipensation:
William Potter Allen, George William Atkinson, Norman W. Bellrose, James Monroe Collins, Samuel D. Dickerson, Bruce G. Eaton, George Adams Oliver, James Marion Price, William Lloyd Petriken, Ernest G. Steele, Frank Newton Thomas, Albert E. Weitzel
The name proposed for the new Lodge was Abdallah.
On September 12, 1899, the secretary having given due and timely notice, called a meeting at which the dispensation was read, and the organization of Abdallah Lodge No. 109 was begun under dispensation, and for the first time business at hand was transacted in true Masonic form.
The charter was received on September 19, 1900. The Lodge flourished under dispensation, and ten additional names were added during the year to the original twelve, making twenty-two names on the charter. In addition to the twelve listed on the petition for dispensation were these ten names, also charter members:
Walter J. Farr, Ellis Smith, James E. Landers, Thomas Smith, Dan E. Miller, James Wolf, Albert H. Myers, Walter Witchey, George C. Smith, Frank Wilson
On September 19, 1906, the name of the Lodge was changed by petition to the Grand Lodge from Abdallah to Eaton Lodge No. 109. This new charter listed the same twenty-two names as shown on the original charter and was signed by Alfonse A. Burnand, Grand Master of Masons of Colorado.
Since the time when the Lodge was constituted, Eaton Lodge has never had a Temple of its own, but has met in rented quarters. In spite of this, interest has remained high and the Lodge has continued to prosper and flourish. In recent years committees have been working toward the erection of a new Masonic Temple.
At the close of the fiscal year, November 30, 19th, 213 members were listed.
CRIPPLE CREEK LODGE NO. 110, A.F. & A.M.
CRIPPLE CREEK, COLORADO
Consolidated with No. 96. Dispensation granted May 8, 1900. September Chartered 19, 1900.
NORWOOD LODGE NO. 111, A.F. & A.M.
A request for a Lodge under dispensation was made to the Grand Lodge by ten Master Masons and granted May 26, 1900 with Henry Copp as Worshipful Master. The Charter was issued to Norwood Lodge No. 111 at the Grand Lodge Session in 1900 with Henry Copp as Worshipful Master. On Saturday, November 17, 1900 Charles F. Painter from Telluride Lodge No. 56 convened the Grand Lodge at Norwood and constituted Norwood Lodge No. 111. There were fourteen charter members present.
Time set for regular meetings was the first and third Fridays of each month at 8:00 P.M. By the end of the year 1900, fifteen petitions for the degrees had been received.
John R. Galloway, D. L. Williams and James Nix were three Past Masters who deserve particular mention for their years of zeal and devotion which kept the lodge alive and active during years of low ebb. A Fiftieth Year Anniversary celebration was considered. The Lodge first met in Norwood Hotel, upstairs next to the Galloway Building and later to the Odd fellows Hall.
At present, the Lodge meets the first and third Saturday nights.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 182
CRESTONE LODGE NO. 112, A.F. & A.M.
This lodge is now extinct. Dispensation granted May 7, 1901. Charter granted September 17, 1901.
EAST GATE LODGE NO. 113, A.F. & A.M.
A Lodge of Masons was instituted in Holly on July 17, 1901 by Joseph W. Milsom, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado, and a charter issued sixty days later, on September 17, 1901, establishing East Gate Lodge No. 113 of Holly, Colorado, with fourteen Charter Members.
The charter was presented on October 8, 1901, by George W. Kennedy, Deputy Grand Master, with other visiting brethren acting as Grand Lodge officers. The officers that were appointed and installed were as follows:
Bro. John E. Murphy, Worshipful Master; Bro. Richard D. Wilson, Senior Warden; Bro. Olof Engstrom, Junior Warden; Bro. J. S. McMurtry, Treasurer; Bro. F. W. Montgomery, Secretary; Bro. W. E. Tarbox, Senior Deacon; Bro. John Duncan, Junior Deacon; Bro. Ray M. Anderson, Senior Steward; Bro. James A. Pierce, Junior Steward; Bro. F. Garritson, Tiler.
These brethren with John Trotter, George W. Stevens, John L. LaMotte, and Jasper A. Dailey were the charter members.
The Lodge has shown an uneven growth through the years with its fluctuations reflecting the conditions of the times. During the first five years the Lodge gained twenty members, but gained only two more in membership during the second five years. The lodge gradually grew to a membership of eighty-three in 1931, but declined to a membership of fifty-six by 1941, a loss of twenty-seven members during those trying times, and, it was only by the hard work of the more faithful members that it was able to continue.
The Lodge originally met in the hall over the store located at 200 So. Main Street, and continued here until it had the opportunity to buy the present building at 129 South Main Street, which then housed a hardware store. The members organized a Masonic Temple Association, and, after purchasing and remodeling, held their first meeting in the new hall on July 7, 1932.
In spite of the depression, the brethren managed to finish paying for their building and it is entirely free of incumbrance.
After the depression, our lodge again began five members on November 30, 1960, with the during the 1940's.
Some of the early members had to serve as Master several times to keep the Lodge in operation. Brother R. D. Wilson served six terms as Master in the years 1903, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, and 1916 and Brother A. W. Hornbeck served in 1917, 1918 and 1921. During World War II, Brother Rurrel Morrich served two terms and Brother L. R. Phifer served again in 1943 after having served in 1929.
Brother John E. Murphy, besides serving as our first Worshipful Master, also served nine years as Secretary besides serving in several other offices through the years.
Other secretaries with several years of service were L. M. Gee with four years of service; T. G. Demary with nine years; P. J. Sayer and C. D. Thompson with seven years each, and, L. R. Phifer, who besides serving two years as Master, is now in his sixteenth year as Secretary, which is indeed an enviable record.
East Gate Lodge celebrated its fiftieth anniversary on October 5, 1951 with a large number of the brethren from neighboring lodges present to wish us continued success.
PAGOSA LODGE NO. 114, A.F. & A.M.
PAGOSA SPRINGS, COLORADO
Early in 1902 a group of 23 Masons in the Pagosa Springs area and Archuleta County holding membership in Iowa and Nebraska applied to the Grand Lodge of Colorado for a Charter, which was granted September 17, 1902, with Brother George D. Kennedy as Worshipful Master.
Due to fire in May, 1943, which destroyed the Lodge meeting place, charter, and all the records, not many facts of historical importance are available.
After the lodge was again established in the Odd Fellows Hall, the Odd Fellows Hall was destroyed by fire which left the Lodge so heavily in debt that consideration was given to complete abandonment. At a meeting in the basement of the Methodist Church in 1946 members considered surrendering their charter which they saved from the second fire. It is interesting to note that this Lodge was Under Dispensation twice, in 1902 and 1943. Thus the charter mentioned is the second charter.
Since they were not permitted to confer Degree work in the basement room where they were located, should they consider quitting and surrender their charter or where could they work? Their Treasury consisted of $32.20 in Cash.
Brother David Hersch donated a lot 50 feet by 150 feet valued at $500.00. Many brothers agreed to donate labor and the use of trucks for hauling. Brother George A. Alley was made Chairman of a Building Committee to serve with Brothers Al. Thompson, Leslie Halverson, and W. A. Olsen.
Ground breaking ceremonies were held in March, 1949, for a New Masonic Temple. Starting with $32.20 on hand, the brethren worked every day, including Sundays and holidays, at night and all the possible time they could spare. They depended on donations and collected only $1600.00 out of $2200.00 which had been pledged. Brother Alley said: "Let's go ahead. Let's not quit and meet defeat as this is too great and good a cause and we must not give up." Since Brother Alley was running a Building Materials business it was decided not to hire any outside labor to work on the building and not to buy any material from anyone in Pagosa Springs-no one shall know what anyone else donated. The building has been built by donations from the entire San Juan Basin and from brethren throughout the state. With the money donated and liberal discounts allowed on purchases, today they have a building 36 feet by 5O feet, the basement of stone and the remainder of cement block. It is estimated the value of the building is near $30,000.00 when completed.
The Lodge, November 30, 1960, had 80 members.
ASHLAR LODGE NO. 115, A.F. & A.M.
A group of fifteen Master Masons prompted by the desire to expand the excellent influence of Freemasonry in Colorado assembled at the school building at Fowler, Colorado, during the summer of 1902. They submitted a petition to the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Colorado for a dispensation to create Ashlar Lodge U. D. which was approved on November 3, 1902. At the first meeting on November 10, 1902, the following officers were elected:
C. M. Cooper, Worshipful Master; H. N. Marshall, Senior Warden; W. J. McDonald, Junior Warden; J. F. Outt, Jr., Treasurer; W. D. Kimzey, Secretary
Soon after the Lodge Under Dispensation started to function, the School Building where it had been meeting burned down and a one-half interest was purchased in the Odd Fellows building which was then called Fraternal Hall.
During the period while the Lodge was under dispensation all Grand Lodge requirements were observed and complied with. A charter was granted to Ashlar Lodge No. 115 at the 1903 Grand Lodge Communication.
On Saturday, October 17, 1903, the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Colorado assembled at Fraternal Hall in Fowler, Colorado, and Ashlar Lodge No. 115 was duly constituted by Most Worshipful Brother James R. Killian, Grand Master, who installed the following officers:
Charles Meigs Cooper, Worshipful Master; W. J. McDonald, Senior Warden; J. F. Outt, Jr., Junior Warden; Joseph C. Hedgecock, Senior Deacon; Samuel P. Davis, Junior Deacon; John W. Farlow, Senior Steward; S. S. Roby, Junior Steward; Payton A. Eubanks, Secretary; Josiah S. Solseth, Treasurer; J. F. Outt, Tiler
Ashlar Lodge No. 115 enjoyed and experienced a healthy and prosperous growth during its beginning years, since it met approximately once each week for the purpose of conferring degree work and transacting other important business.
Fire appears to have taken its spite out on Ashlar Lodge No. 115. Soon after the Lodge moved from Fraternal Hall to the Frank Crocker Hall, the Crocker Hall was destroyed by fire and the Lodge moved into the Sargent Hall which the Lodge bought and refurnished in 1934. It is unencumbered by indebtedness. Since October 25, 1904, when Clearwater Chapter, O.E.S., was constituted, the Chapter has rendered most valuable assistance.
During 1919 an outstanding meeting was held jointly with Manzanola Lodge No. 124 to which nearby Lodges and the Pueblo Lodges were invited to attend. The program was the conferring of the Third Degree and a banquet. More than 400 attended this affair; and while the expense was shared by the two Lodges, they discovered that the venture practically depleted their treasuries.
In 1953 Ashlar Lodge No. 115 celebrated its Fiftieth Anniversary and received Most Worshipful Brother Hubert Glover, the Grand Master, who participated and presented Fifty Year Buttons to several of the early members of the Lodge.
KIOWA LODGE NO. 116, A.F. & A.M.
After much discussion, a meeting of the Masonic Brethren of Kiowa, Colorado, was called on August 9th, 1902, to consider the formation of a Masonic Lodge. Brother Daniel T. Cort was chosen as Chairman of this meeting, and Brother Benjamin F. Morrison as Secretary. It was decided to form a permanent Lodge, and a committee to arrange for a meeting place was appointed. A "Petition for Dispensation" was signed by ten Brothers, and was sent to M. W. Bro. George D. Kennedy, M. W. Grand Master, with the fee of $40.00, on September 16th, 1902. The formation of a new Lodge was recommended by Weston Lodge No. 22, of Littleton.
The "Petition for Dispensation" was accepted, and a dispensation to form a new Lodge was issued by the Grand Master, M. W. Brother Marshall H. Dean, on Sept. 16th, 1902, the necessary investigations having been made. The first meeting of Kiowa Lodge U. D. was held in the Cort-Hames Hall, Dec. 27, 1902. W. Brother Bernard C. Killin as W.M., W. Brother Benjamin T. Morrison as S.W., and W. Bro. Lewelyn P. Evans as Sec'y. The Lodge held regular meetings while under dispensation and had some work on the degrees.
A charter was issued by M. W. Bro. Marshall H. Dean, with Bro. William D. Todd as Grand Sec'y, on Sept. 16th, 1903. Fifteen Brothers were listed on this charter. The first Stated Communication of Kiowa Lodge No. 116, A. F. & A. M., was held on Dec. 4th, 1903.
The Lodge held its meetings in the Cort-Hames Hall until 1911, when it moved into the new Temple, which was completed that year. The new Temple was built by "The Masonic Temple Association," an organization incorporated for that purpose. Much of the work of the building was done by the local brothers.
Kiowa Lodge has recommended the formation of two new Lodges, Byers No. 152, at Byers, Colorado, and Ramah No. 165 at Ramah. The formation of these two Lodges has adversely affected our membership, but was in the best interest of Colorado Masonry, and Kiowa Lodge No. 116 has no regrets for its action in these matters.
Membership November 30, 1960 72
ALBERT PIKE LODGE NO. 117, A.F. & A.M.
Animated by Masonic zeal and believing that the best interests of Freemasonry would be furthered in Denver, sixteen Master Masons met in the offices of William D. Hitchcock, December 17, 1902, and named a Committee for the organization of Albert Pike Lodge. Brother Hitchcock was selected chairman and Brother Charles H. Jacobson, secretary.
On January 9, 1903, an application was submitted to the Most Worshipful Grand Master Marshall H. Dean by thirty-three brethren of the craft. It was approved by the Grand Master on January 12, 1903. Brother William D. Hitchcock was appointed Worshipful Master, Brother William C. Mosher, Senior Warden, and Brother Thomas E. Shears, Junior Warden.
Albert Pike Lodge U. D. held its first communication on January 16, 1903 in the Masonic Temple in Denver. After reading the dispensation, the Worshipful Master appointed the following officers:
Richard M. Malone, Treasurer; Charles H. Jacobson, Secretary; Arthur Ponsford, Senior Deacon; George W. Card, Junior Deacon; George E. Barley, Senior Steward; David A. Mair, Junior Steward; Thomas Nicholl (No. 5), Tiler.
Albert Pike Lodge U. D. met the requirements specified by the Grand Lodge by September 16, 1903 when a charter was issued to Albert Pike Lodge No. 117. The Lodge was formally constituted on September 18, 1903 by Past Grand Master Marshall H. Dean acting for Grand Master James R. Killian. The officers installed were the same officers who served under dispensation except Edward R. Eppich was Junior Deacon instead of George W. Card. Both Grand Master James R. Killian and Past Grand Master Marshall H. Dean gave short and inspiring addresses to the newly constituted Lodge of fifty-two members.
The list of outstanding Masons in the Roster of Albert Pike Lodge No. 117 include such prominent Brethren, viz:
Most Worshipful Brother Marshall H. Dean, Past Grand Master 1903. who was a prominent physician.
Brother Jim Goodheart, Founder of Sunshine Mission.
Brother Charles H. Jacobson who served many years as Grand Secretary of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge as well as No. 117's Secretary from 1903 to 1906.
Brother Richard H. Malone, formerly Deputy for the Supreme Council, A. & A. S. R. in Colorado.
Founder DeMolay in Colorado Most Worshipful Brother Harper M. Orahood, Past Grand Master 1876.
Worshipful Brother Stanley C. Warner, Past Sovereign Grand Inspector General in Colorado, A. & A. S. R., and Past Eminent Grand Commander of Knights Templar in Colorado.
George E. Barley, Senior Steward David A. Mair, Junior Steward Thomas Nicholl (No. 5), Tiler
Worshipful Brother Benjamin F. Stapleton who was Mayor of Denver, 1923-1931 and 1935 to 1947.
Most Worshipful Brother Glenn B. Van Fleet, Past Grand Master, 1958, and present Grand High Priest of Royal Arch Masons.
Since 1915 Albert Pike Lodge No. 117 has established and built up the William Fullerton Relief Fund in Memory of Worshipful Brother William Fullerton whose death occurred February 25, 1920. During 1953, the Lodge celebrated its 50th Anniversary. November 30, 1960 membership 486
ELK MOUNTAIN LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 118,
STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, COLORADO
The formation of a lodge at Steamboat Springs was a difficult job, disappointing to some, but also proof of the advisability of being on firm ground before commencing such an enterprise.
In May, 1901, a dispensation was refused partly because there were 37 known Master Masons in Steamboat Springs and only 10 signed the petition. On November 20, 1901, M.W. Bro. Kennedy granted a dispensation to 16 Master Masons to form Bear River Lodge U.D. This dispensation was continued for another year at the annual Grand Lodge communication held in September, 1902. However, in 1903, the dispensation was discontinued because of irregularities in the records and lack of harmony in the lodge.
M.W. Bro. James R. Killian granted another dispensation on January 7, 1904. This was for 15 Master Masons to form Elk Mountain Lodge U.D. From then until September the lodge held 31 regular communications and kept their records in such form as to be approved by the Committee on Returns and Work. A charter was then granted on September 21, 1904 by M.W. Bro. James to 31 charter members of the lodge. This number had increased to 160 on November 30, 1960.
The lodge was constituted on October 3, 1904 by W.B. William J. Breckel, Senior Grand Steward, acting in place of M.W. Bro. James.
LUPTON LODGE NO. 119, A.F. & A.M.
FORT LUPTON, COLORADO
On February 11, 1904 a group of eleven Master Masons presented their request to Brighton Lodge No. 78, A. F. & A. M., for permission to form a Lodge of Masons in Fort Lupton. This request was granted and on April 4, 1904, Grand Master James R. Killian granted a dispensation authorizing the organization of the new Lodge. Stephen J. Hubbell was named Worshipful Master; George R. Vick Roy, Senior Warden; and Leni T. Davis, Junior Warden.
On April 18, 1904 Lupton Lodge U. D. held its first meeting in the K. P. Hall which is now owned by Post No. 102, American Legion. Twelve members were present and additional officers named:
W. A. Davis, Treasurer; A. G. Johnson, Senior Steward; C. M. Wagner, Acting Secretary; T. C. Winborn, Junior Steward; A. R. Fisher, Senior Deacon; T. L. Monson, Marshal; J. W. McKissick, Junior Deacon; Geo. D. Kelsey, Tiler;
Between the dates of April 18, 1904 and July 4, 1904 the necessary degree work and official business had been completed to meet the requirements for petitioning the Grand Lodge for a charter.
At the Grand Lodge Communication in September, 1904, the charter was granted and on October 3, 1904, Lupton Lodge No. 119 was constituted by Grand Master Benjamin L. James. He installed the following line of officers:
Stephen J. Hubbell, Worshipful Master; Juhn W. McKissick, Junior Deacon; George R. VickRoy, Senior Warden; Thomas C. Winborn, Senior Steward; Leni T. Davis, Junior Warden; Willard J. Healey, Junior Steward; William A. Davis, Treasurer; Charles M. Wagner, Marshal; Seymour J. Rhode, Secretary; Theodore L. Monson, Orator; Edward B. Gage, Senior Deacon; George D. Kelsey, Tiler
The Lodge was constituted with twenty-one members.
During the following years the Lodge had many problems to contend with: Finances, obtaining paraphernalia, etc.
In June, 1932, Lupton Lodge held Special Services observing the 200th Birthday Observance of our First Masonic President, George Washington. A report of this meeting and program was sent to the Washington Memorial Temple at Washington, D.C.
On March 3, 1953 the Lodge presented its first 50 year button to Brother Moses Davis, a charter member. Brother Albert W. Bracey, Past Master, made the presentation. On March 10, 1953, W. B. Bracy was presented his 50 year Button by M. W. Brother C. Wheeler Barnes of Denver. On October 4, 1954, Lupton Lodge celebrated its 50th Anniversary with Brother Charles A. Mantz, Deputy Grand Master, as the Grand Master's representative accompanied by other Grand Lodge officials and distinguished guests.
Lupton Lodge is now meeting in its own new beautiful Temple.
HESPERIA LODGE NO. 120, A.F. & A.M.
For some years prior to the organization of Hesperia Lodge the brethren of Fruita and vicinity had frequently discussed the possibility of forming a lodge.
They were few in number and had, to some extent, lost their familiarity with the work. They were not disheartened and continued their efforts, even after some of the leaders of the movement moved from the vicinity.
Their efforts were rewarded on May 21, 1904 when M.W. Bro. James R. Killian issued a dispensation to 12 Masons to form a lodge. On September 21, 1904 the charter was granted, at which time there were 15 charter members. The lodge was constituted October 18, 1904 by W. Bro. H. T. DeLong of Mesa Lodge No. 55, acting on behalf of M.W. Bro. James.
The first Worshipful Master of the lodge was Wallace A. Merriell, who served in that office for the years of 1904, 1905, 1906 and 1907. He was buried by the lodge after his death in 1937, ending nearly 40 years of service to the organizing and maintaining of Hesperia Lodge.
On November 30,1960 the membership totalled 93
PAONIA LODGE NO, 121, A.F. & A.M.
Paonia Lodge No. 121 was granted a Charter by the Grand Lodge of Colorado, September 19, 1906. The Lodge was constituted and dedicated November 26, 1906 with Deputy Grand Master Joseph A. Davis, presiding.
Brother Judge J. H. Baxter was installed as the first Worshipful Master with Brother John McNaughton as Senior Warden, Brother Tom Duffield as Junior Warden. There were twenty-two (22) Master Masons who became Charter Members.
Our present Secretary, Brother M. H. Chrissman, was installed in his present station on December 21, 1921. He will have served continuously in that capacity for forty (40) years this coming December. He has served his Lodge as an elective or appointive officer for fifty-one (51) years.
Paonia Lodge No. 121 celebrated its Fiftieth Anniversary in 1956. Fifty different Masters have served this Lodge. In its fifty-five years of Chartered existence the Lodge has had three hundred members on the Master Mason's Degree.
The Lodge is buying, through the local Masonic Building Association, the present temple, which they now occupy.
There are at present 125 members in good standing. Our present Grand Chaplain, Brother Eric A. C. Smith, was raised in our Lodge on June 20, 1925. Our late Brother, Past Master Robert F. Rockwell, served two terms as Representative from the Fourth Congressional District. Past Master, Brother Thomas H. Wand served as Worthy Grand Patron of the Order of the Eastern Star 1957-58, and as District Governor of Rotary International in 1959-60.
At the present time the Lodge is very active with much work laid out on the Trestle Board. The younger members are quite interested. They are imbued with the proper zeal and are prepared to carry on in the true Masonic tradition.
Membership November 30,1960 119
CASTLE LODGE NO. 122, A.F. & A.M.
In late 1905 and early 1906 a group of Master Masons from various Lodges in the United States who were residing in the vicinity of Eagle organized for the purpose of obtaining a Masonic Lodge.
In the month of May, 1906, a petition was filed with the Grand Lodge of Colorado asking permission to establish a Lodge to be known as Castle Lodge. This petition was signed by 14 Master Masons and the dispensation was granted by Grand Master Charles F. Painter early in June, 1906. The first meeting was held on June 9, 1906 with Hubbard W. Goodrich as Worshipful Master; Jay L. Greene as Senior Warden: and Willey J. Frazier as Junior Warden. Fourteen meetings were held U. D. during which time six candidates were initiated, two passed and one raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.
On September 19, 1906, the Grand Lodge granted the charter to Castle Lodge No. 122, to a membership of 20.
On November 24, 1906, the Grand Lodge held an emergency communication in the Masonic Hall and constituted Castle Lodge No. 122 with:
H. W. Goodrich, Worshipful Master; A. H. Thoborg, Senior Deacon; J. L. Greene, Senior Warden; R. P. Wood, Junior Deacon; P. C. Madsen, Junior Warden; S. M. Playford, Senior Steward; J. W. Lane, Treasurer; B. N. Hackett, Junior Steward; J. O. Kenepf, Secretary; D. L. Wedmore, Tiler
The first Lodge room was in Dice Brothers Hall occupied until 1912 when the Craft moved into the Hall of the First National Bank Building.
On June 26, 1954, the Castle Masonic Temple Association was formed under the Chairmanship of Worshipful Master Ross E. Chambers. Ground was broken at that time and the work progressed until September 1, 1956 when the corner-stone was set in place.
BRUSH LODGE NO. 123, A.F. & A.M.
During the early spring months of 1906 a group of Master Masons residing in the vicinity of Brush, Colorado, assembled and organized for the purpose of forming a new Lodge to be known as Brush Lodge U. D. These brethren, 18 in number, presented their petition in June of 1906 and on the 14th day of June 1906, Grand Master Charles F. Painter issued the dispensation empowering the Lodge to assemble. The first meeting was held on June 26, 1906 with:
Cyrus H. Phelps, Worshipful Master; James L. Cameron, Junior Deacon; Wm. Ward Sickles, Senior Warden; John L. Asmus, Senior Steward; Edward Prentice Walter, Junior Warden; William E. Epperson, Junior Steward; Riley S. Joslin, Treasurer; William R. Livingston, Tiler
At this meeting nine petitions were received for the Degrees in Masonry. Brother R. S. Joslin loaned the Lodge $250.00 as working capital. A total of 16 meetings were held during this dispensation.
The Grand Lodge granted a charter to Brush Lodge No. 123 at its Annual Communication on September 19, 1906. The Most Worshipful Grand Lodge held a Special Communication on October 6, 1906 and duly constituted Brush Lodge No. 123 and installed the same officers as those who served under the dispensation. In 1911 Brush Lodge united with Akron Lodge No. 74, Wray Lodge No. 71, Julesburg Lodge No. 70, Oasis Lodge No. 67, Holyoke Lodge No 81, Sterling Lodge No. 54 to form the Northeastern Colorado Masonic Association patterned after the Intermountain Masonic Association of Colorado. The Lodge voted to withdraw from this Association in 1927.
On May 30, 1928 a Special Communication of the Grand Lodge was held in Brush for the purpose of laying the corner-stone of the new Central High School building - Grand Master John Andrew officiating.
On August 6, 1940, Ground breaking ceremonies were held for the beginning of the building of the Masonic Temple. The corner-stone was laid by the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Colorado with Grand Master Francis J. Knauss officiating, assisted by seven other Grand Lodge officers. The cost of the Building was $17,220.31. The O. E. S. donated the wan to wall carpeting, lodge members donated money for upholstered chairs and Brother John Needham donated money for the raised platforms. On March 28, 1941, a special communication was held for the purpose of receiving the official visit of the Most Worshipful Grand Master Francis J. Knauss and other Grand Lodge Officers. The principal order of business was dedicating the New Temple and presenting a 50-year button to Brother Isaac W. Epperson.
It is worthy to note that Most Worshipful Brother George C. Twombly, Most Worshipful Grand Master 1942-43 was voted Honorary Membership since he formerly was a member of Brush Lodge before dimitting to Oasis Lodge No. 67 at Fort Morgan.
Membership is 211 as of November 30, 1960
MANZANOLA LODGE NO. 124, A.F. & A.M.
On December 4, 1906 a petition was received by Grand Master Jones from fourteen Master Masons to form a new Lodge at Manzanola, Otero County, Colorado. Dispensation was issued December 10, 1906 for forming this Lodge with John Calvin Vroman, Worshipful Master, William Harvey McCaskill, Senior Warden and Friend Joseph Effner, Junior Warden. It was named Manzanola Lodge U. D.
At the Grand Lodge communication in September, 1907, the Committee on Returns and Work recommended this lodge be chartered since they had initiated 13, passed 13 and raised 13, their books were in order, and the bylaws were approved with additions and corrections by the committee. Charter was issued, naming it Manzanola Lodge No. 124, Brother John Calvin Vroman, Worshipful Master; William Harvey McCaskill, Senior Warden; and Friend Joseph Effner, Junior Warden. 28 other names were on the Charter. The committee congratulated them on their records and predicted a bright future. Grand Master Davis convened Grand Lodge on November 19, 1907 for the purpose of constituting Manzanola Lodge No. 124 and installing its officers.
Membership on November 30, 1960 69
PALISADE LODGE NO. 125. A.F. & A.M.
Early in the year 1907 Brother John D. Reeder of Glenwood Springs Lodge No. 65 assembled a body of about twenty Masons residing in the vicinity of Palisade to organize and petition the Grand Master Arthur E. Jones for a dispensation for a Lodge. The petition was granted by the Grand Master on March 29, 1907. On April 7, 1907 Brother Reeder called a meeting of those who had signed the petition to advise them of the favorable action taken by the Grand Master and appointed E. J. H. North to act as Secretary who read the letter granting the dispensation. The following officers were installed:
John D. Reeder, Worshipful Master J. H. Divine, Senior Deacon John H. Larson, Senior Warden H. G. Hottles, Junior Deacon George W. Thompson, Junior Warden C. Bower, Senior Steward C. E. Scroggins, Treasurer K. H. Cannan, Junior Steward E. J. H. North, Secretary J. E. Varner, Tiler
What is known as the Hugus Hall was rented for Lodge meetings for $60.00 per year. Furniture for temporary use was loaned to the Lodge by Mesa Lodge No. 55 of Grand Junction. Members of Palisade Lodge U. D. made loans to the Lodge which were credited to membership fees. In June, 1914, Mesa Lodge was paid $7.50 for the furniture which it had previously loaned to Palisade Lodge.
On September 14, 1907 a charter for Palisade Lodge No. 125 was granted by the Grand Lodge of Colorado.
On November 25, 1907 a special communication was held at Palisade by authority of Most Worshipful Brother Horace T. De Long as acting Grand Master in place of Grand Master Joseph A. Davis to constitute Palisade Lodge No. 125.
On February 16, 1932 the Bi-Centennial Anniversary of George Washington's birth was celebrated with Brother Wayne N. Aspinall as principal speaker giving the history of George Washington. Brother Harold C. Crick gave a talk on the George Washington Memorial.
Early in 1951 the Building Committee obtained an option to buy the Presbyterian Church for $5000. On May 15, 1951 the Lodge voted to buy the property and set up the Masonic Temple Association to consummate the deal. Payment was made from Lodge funds and a loan of $3,500.00 was borrowed from the Palisade National Bank which was liquidated on November 24, 1956. The first meeting in the new Temple was July 27, 1951. On November 3, 1951 the Temple was dedicated by Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes. Brother Barnes was present and took part in the 50th Anniversary celebration in 1957 with Grand Master D. Aubrey Spann as the principal speaker for the occasion. Brother Barnes has been voted an honorary membership in Palisade Lodge No. 125 and its records disclose that Brother Barnes donated the Chandelier over the Altar to the Lodge.
Palisade Lodge had a membership of 129 on November 30, 1960.
HAYDEN VALLEY LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 126,
The first meeting of Hayden Valley Lodge U. D. was held on May 18, 1907. The petition granted by Grand Master Arthur E. Jones named:
James E. Downs, Worshipful Master; James M. Whetstone, Senior Warden; John V. Solandt, Junior Warden
The petition submitted for Dispensation contained the names of 14 Master Masons. At the first meeting Worshipful Master Downs made the following appointments:
George H. Kleckner, Treasurer; Byron F. Shelton, Secretary; Manuel M. Burch, Senior Deacon; David L. Sellers, Junior Deacon
While under dispensation seven members were raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.
At the annual communication of the Grand Lodge on September 17, 1907, a charter was granted to Hayden Valley Lodge No. 126. On February 10, 1928, the Most Worshipful Grand Master Joseph A. Davis convened the Grand Lodge in special session and duly constituted Hayden Valley Lodge No. 126, installing the same officers who served under dispensation. Seven brethren from Craig, three from Steamboat Springs and two from Meeker were present.
It is interesting to note that thirteen of the original were still living as of December, 1955. Since the charter was granted some 180 members have been given the degrees of Masonry.
The Lodge met in rented halls until 1935 when discussion arose as to the feasibility of building its own Temple. Due to bank failures during the early '30's most of its funds were tied up. Finally about 65% of the funds were salvaged and a committee was appointed to proceed with building plans.
It was ascertained that the least possible cost of such a project would be $6,500 to $7,000 when Brother W. W. Sloan proposed to donate two lots in West Hayden for the site of a Masonic Temple. The committee obtained building materials at a bargain and labor was obtained at a cost which the Lodge was able to accept. The committee members and many of the lodge members contributed labor many days and nights. Now the Temple is complete and is occupied by the Lodge.
Members totalled 118 on November 30, 1960
KIT CARSON LODGE NO. 127, A.F. & A.M.
On May 15, 1907 the first regular communication of the Kit Carson Lodge, U. D. was held. The petition for dispensation was signed by Bros. S. A. Johnson, Wm. Hansz, George Elliot, Charles Schroyer, John White, John Rose, George Rose, John Wright, Jasper Rose, Corra Hutchens, and Edgar Hammond. Arthur E. Jones was the Grand Master at the time of the petition. Burlington Lodge No. 77 and Kiowa Lodge No. 116 recommended the petition be allowed.
The first brother to be raised in this lodge was Robert Cameron who was raised on July 31, 1907.
The lodge was named after the Indian Scout, Kit Carson, who was a Mason.
Kit Carson Lodge No. 127 was instituted on November 20, 1907 by Joseph A. Davis, Grand Master of Colorado.
The lodge was constituted on September 17, 1907 by Grand Master Arthur E. Jones with the following charter members: S. A. Johnson, Wm. Hansz, John White, John Rose, Edgar Hammond, George Elliot, Corra Hutchens, Wm. Goodson, Charles Schrayer, John Wright, Albert Blomberg, Robert Cameron, Ora Davison, David Epperson, Judd Roberts, George Rose, Joseph Rose, and Marion Saxton.
On October 2, 1915 the Grand Lodge of Colorado laid the corner-stone for the Flagler High School.
Brother Arthur Lockwood who lives in San Carlos, California, is the oldest living past master.
Brother William Emery is the oldest living Master Mason who was raised in this lodge.
Brother Claude Ervin is the next oldest living member.
Brother Hamer Shaw is the oldest member who has transferred from another lodge.
Brother John A. Thompson received a 50-year pin.
Brother Ora Davison served the lodge as secretary for some thirty years.
Brother Hal Borland, the well-known writer, has been a member of this since 1921.
Membership, November 30, 1960 84
TEMPLE GATE LODGE NO. 128, A.F. & A.M.
A number of the brethren of Center and vicinity being remotely situated from any lodge and being desirous of providing suitable quarters to practice Masonry. Petitioned Grand Master Arthur E. Jones in 1907 for a dispensation. The Knights of Pythias and the Masons in joint endeavor entered into a contract of not less than three years with the School District No. 26 of Rio Grande and Saguache Counties to provide sufficient funds to complete the upper room in the school building as their meeting place. A joint committee was appointed from the two orders to obtain sufficient funds for Lodge room furnishings to be owned jointly.
During early June of 1907 a petition was submitted by the required number of Masons, fourteen brethren. So the dispensation was granted June 15, 1908 and on June 17, 1908 the following officers were chosen :
M. M. Sutley, Worshipful Master; R. A. Sylvester, Senior Warden; A. R. Spencer, Junior Warden; Walter Eayers, Treasurer; T. E. Ickes, Secretary; W. E. Sumpter, Senior Deacon; Charles H. Carney, Junior Deacon; Charles H. Chown, Senior Steward; Fayette Germon, Junior Steward; James B. Gelwick, Tiler
On August 24, 1907 all records were surrendered to the Grand Lodge awaiting favorable action for a charter which was granted to Temple Gate Lodge No. 128 at the annual communication in September, 1907.
The Lodge was constituted November 23, 1907, at which time the following officers were installed:
M. M. Sutley, Worshipful Master; R. A. Sylvester, Senior Warden; A. R. Spencer, Junior Warden; T. E. Ickes, Treasurer; W. E. Sumpter, Secretary; W. E. Ayers, Senior Deacon; G. A. Bradburn, Junior Deacon; F. Germon, Senior Steward; T. C. Millard, Junior Steward; G. W. Ickes, Tiler
It is recorded that Temple Gate Lodge No. 128 met in two other locations before occupying its present new Temple which was completed in 1949 and dedicated by Grand Master S. Stuart Krebs on August 25, 1949. 96 visiting brethren from 24 different Lodges and 65 members of Temple Gate Lodge No. 128 were in attendance.
The Lodge records disclose that a lot north of the Post Dispatch building was willed to the Lodge by late Brother Grant E. Newmyer. It has since been sold.
Temple Gate Lodge No. 128 is in good condition financially and has established a comfortable reserve fund which has steadily increased during the last decade.
November 30, 1960 membership 156
RIFLE LODGE No. 129, A.F. & A.M.
The first systematic attempt to establish a lodge in the Town of Rifle was in 1905, the same year the town was incorporated. In January or February of that year a number of the brethren, finding that Rifle and vicinity contained about thirty Masons in good standing, took steps looking toward the formation of a lodge. After some progress was made, the work was discontinued for a while.
Resumption of the work resulted in the granting of a dispensation on March 26, 1908, the lodge being chartered on September 21, 1908 and constituted November 6, 1908, by M.W. Bro. John B. Haffy.
The corner-stone of the Temple was laid on St. John's Day, June 27, 1914. The temple was dedicated on December 11, 1914, after which the officers for the ensuing year were installed by the Grand Master, who had performed the dedication ceremonies.
According to some sources, the corner-stone of the Temple was laid twice. The inscription on the stone reads:
"LAID BY M. W. GRAND LODGE of COLORADO A. F. & A. M. 1914"
The story has it that the stone arrived from the quarry in Marble shortly before the date set for its official laying and the stone-cutter had spelled the first word "LAYED." Due to the shortage of time, the stone was officially laid. A short time later the stone was removed and shipped back to Marble and on the opposite side was cut the inscription as stated above. It is said the inscription as first cut and as the stone was laid by the Grand Master has that face turned to the inside.
From the fifteen Master Masons who signed the petition for a dispensation in 1908, the lodge has grown to a membership of 206 as of November 30, 1960. In 1944 the three principal officers of the lodge were named Rees. The Master was William R. Rees; the Junior Warden was his son, Richard. The Senior Warden was Humbert Rees, not related to the other two, but a son of Claude H. Rees, a charter member who was Worshipful Master in 1914. Humbert Rees has served the Grand Lodge as District Deputy Grand Lecturer and, in 1957, as Grand Orator. He also is a Past Grand High Priest of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Colorado.
ARAPAHOE LODGE NO. 130, A.F. & A.M.
On March 18, 1908, three men met at a recorded meeting to discuss, formulate and adopt definite plans for the organization of still another new lodge. To provide assurance for their intent, the three interviewed other Masons as to the desirability and correctness of the plans. Consequently, a larger group met March 30, 1 1908, and ultimately agreed to apply for a dispensation from the Grand Lodge.
The prayer of their petition was granted on May 18, 1908 as M.W. Bro. Joseph A. Davis issued his dispensation on the written application of 22 Masons. The first meeting was held on May 20, 1908 in the Masonic Temple, 16th and Welton Streets.
On September 21, 1908 a charter was issued and on the following night the lodge was constituted by M.W. Bro. John B. Haffy. There were 45 charter members; on November 30,1960 there were 587 members.
In 1926 the lodge moved to Colorado Consistory temple at 14th and Grant Street where meetings are still held.
The seal of the lodge is composed of two parts, the device and the inscription. The device consists of a representation of the sun with its eight sacred points, the letter G in the center; the whole expressive of God's protective power extending to all parts of the world. In the foreground, on the sinister side, sits an American Indian gazing out over the trail of the Holy Faith, along which has come the message of Brotherly Love.
The name "Arapahoe" selected as a suitable name for the lodge is peculiarly significant as it perpetuates the name of an almost extinct and ordinarily peaceful tribe of Indians which inhabited this particular locality in Colorado prior to the foundation of the City of Denver, at a time when the plains about Denver were unpeopled by white men, and when the Indian, free of life and environment, condition and action, was the reigning spirit. This Indian was cautious, keen and active, his campfire serving as his beacon light, his signal smoke as a shield, and our name Arapahoe commemorates all that was good in his make-up.
TUSCAN LODGE NO. 131, A.F. & A.M.
In 1907 a Mason living in the Collbran area and wishing to go to lodge would be required to travel from 12 to 18 miles, usually on horseback. To remedy this situation a petition to form a new lodge was submitted to but was not granted by M.W. Bro. Joseph A. Davis. He thought it would be better to have one lodge, Plateau Lodge No. 101 at Mesa, on a fair footing than to have two weak lodges.
Undismayed by this turn of events, 17 Master Masons submitted another petition the following year and on June 1, 1908 a dispensation was issued under the name of Grand Mesa Lodge U. D. While the record is not explicit on this point, it appears that the possibility of conflict between Grand Mesa Lodge and Mesa Lodge No. 55 at Grand Junction impelled the issuance of the charter, on September 21, 1908, under the name of Tuscan Lodge No. 131. The lodge was constituted on November 8, 1908 by M.W. Bro. John B. Haffy.
As was true of many Colorado lodges, the founders and early members of Tuscan Lodge were ranchers, cattlemen, farmers, bankers, merchants and school teachers.
After a little more than thirty years of existence, the lodge, through the manual labors of some of its members and by the judicious use of borrowed money, repaid punctually, acquired its own meeting place.
For some time the members have enjoyed an annual picnic for Masons, members of the Eastern Star and their families. When a month has five Mondays it has been the custom for the Masons to hold joint social meetings for entertainment with the members of the Star. Among the projects sponsored was the furnishing of a room at the Plateau Valley Congregational Hospital, to be known as the Mason's room.
No fewer than four pairs of fathers and sons have served as Masters of the lodge during its more than fifty years of life.
The growth of the lodge has not been spectacular but has been satisfactory, with the latest census showing 81 members.
CHEYENNE WELLS LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 132,
CHEYENNE WELLS, COLORADO
Cheyenne Wells Lodge No. 132, A. F. & A. M. was instituted at Cheyenne Wells, Colorado in the spring of the year 1908 with Brother James A. Jenkins, who belonged to Missouri jurisdiction as its first Worshipful Master. He also was its first Worshipful Master after the lodge was chartered on September 21, 1909. It is said that he knew the complete ritual in the Missouri work and it was often difficult for him to remember the Colorado work; and many times he would pause when giving a lecture and say, "As we say it in Missouri" and then go ahead. He was known here as Daddy Jenkins. He was an ordained Presbyterian Minister.
The minutes and correspondence relative. to the instituting and chartering of this Lodge were lost.
The Lodge held its meetings for the first two years in the I. O. O. F. Hall. It then rented the upper floor of what was then known as the Forker Building. Ten dollars per month was paid for the use of this building for a few years and then the rent was raised to fifteen dollars. During the years from 1934 to 1937 which were depression years, and also years of drouth and dust storms, the lower part of this building became vacant and badly run down. Also during this time the two Forkers had died leaving the estate to Della Forker Chrysler, wife of the late Walter P. Chrysler. Mrs. Chrysler informed us that we could buy this building by paying all back taxes and expenses of transferring title to us.
The Cheyenne Wells Lodge No. 132 was just about as destitute for money as the people in the surrounding country but the brethren of the Lodge decided to buy it. Five of the members of the Lodge borrowed fifteen hundred dollars from the Kit Carson State Bank at Kit Carson, Colorado, by giving the bank their personal notes. About three hundred dollars of this amount remained after the purchase of the building and this remainder was used for flooring and other material on the ground floor. Other supplies were donated and several of the members worked nights for several weeks remodeling. After completing the work both sections on the ground floor were leased. Since that time the debts have been paid and at the present time the Lodge has several thousand dollars on hand. So it is hoped that within a few years Cheyenne Wells Lodge No. 132 will be financially able to erect a new Temple.
Membership November 30, 1960 97
CORTEZ LODGE NO. 133, A.F. & A.M.
In the little more than half-century of its existence, Cortez Lodge has grown from 16 members signing the dispensation to a membership of 189. During this time the town has grown from an out-of-the-way village to the center of oil and uranium workings.
After the charter was issued on November 22, 1909, the Lodge was constituted and the officers installed by M.W. Bro. Jethro C. Sanford.
For several years the financial struggles of the Lodge were the main concern of the members. While the treasury was never filled to overflowing, the response to requests for donations was very good, as shown by the minutes of May 5, 1909, when dues in the amount of $12 were paid and donation receipts amounted to $244.
During these early years the Lodge would be opened and closed on all three degrees. The lack of degree work brought a pleasant and satisfying interlude; the study and discussion of the Book of Constitutions. The members were proud of their knowledge of the ritual and made strict demands of the candidates - their proficiency had to be of high order.
One interesting story of learning the Fellowcraft degree concerns a brother who learned while on horseback, as a member of a Federal posse in pursuit of a Paiute Indian wanted for murder. This is said to have been the last time the Federal government dispatched armed forces against the Indians.
The lodge is justly proud that the late John R. Clark, P.G.M., received his degrees in Cortez Lodge.
Thanks to the early endeavors of the original Townsite Company of Cortez, which in 1880 erected a large two-story stone building in the center of the business district, the Lodge from its inception was comfortably housed. In 1954 a new and attractive temple was constructed in an easily accessible location and the long occupied quarters in the business building were vacated.
BERKELEY LODGE NO. 134, A.F. & A.M.
In 1909 several Master Masons were desirous of forming a Masonic Lodge on the north side of Denver, preferably in Berkeley, a suburb of Denver. The first preliminary organizing meeting was held October 16, 1909 at which time 11 brothers were present. M. W. Bro. George W. Musser issued a dispensation on November 30, 1909 and the lodge was chartered on September 20,1910.
Between the time of the first meeting and the issuance of the charter, several members of the lodge had made the middle chamber pillars, the altar and candlesticks, the ashlars and the Wardens' columns.
The first organizational meeting was held in the Masonic Temple, 1614 Welton Street. Subsequent meetings were held at 2708 W. Dunkeld Place until January 5, 1915, at which time the 103rd stated communication was held in the Highlands Masonic Temple at 32nd and Federal Boulevard. In the latter part of 1928 the lodge moved to its present location at 3550 Federal Boulevard.
The membership of the lodge has grown from 34 on July 31, 1910 to 1,174 on November 30, 1960. A chart of the membership shows the vigor of the initial growth, and then, the results of the rugged years of the thirties, known as the depression, and depressing years they were. Petitions were few and many members were suspended for non-payment of dues, although many were reinstated in later years.
Finally the forties and fifties arrived, and brought the highest standard of living yet achieved by any civilization; colossal movie productions, coast to coast hook-up radio shows, nationwide television spectaculars, super-highways and easy riding automobiles, nevertheless, the lodge has continued a steady growth; with an influx of predominantly young members, which give us confidence that the secrets of the fraternity are still desired, and the wisdom of its teachings will be transmitted unimpaired to future generations.
No history of Berkeley Lodge No. 134 would be complete without special mention of M.W. C. Wheeler Barnes, P.G.M. "Barney", as he is known to thousands of Colorado Masons, served his lodge as Master in 1942, and was Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Colorado from September 20, 1950 to January 23, 1952. He was the first Worshipful Master of Research Lodge of Colorado. He succeeded the late Haslett P. Burke as Sovereign Grand Inspector General in Colorado in the A.A.S.R. "Barney", whose avocation is fine cabinet work, constructed the pedestals used in the East, West and South in Berkeley Lodge. The material for these was furnished by Master Masons raised in 1944.
ORDWAY LODGE NO, 135, A.F. & A.M.
Original brethren of No. 135 rejoiced in the often repeated declaration of R. W. Bro. Wm. W. Cooper that Ordway was "his" lodge. His affection originated because it was the first non-metropolitan lodge, after he became Grand lecturer, to receive instruction from him necessary to chartering.
Dispensation was granted February 3, 1910 by M. W. Bro. George W. Musser to thirteen petitioners. Twelve petitions for initiation were accepted at the first communication February 21, 1910 while two were rejected, one presumably because of character and the other due to failure to qualify under residential requirements.
The three stations were filled by James R. Thomas, W.M.; Ernest F. Greene, S.W.; and Milton E. Bashor, J. W. Their devotion is demonstrated by their personal signatures to a bank loan for $300 that the lodge might have furniture and paraphernalia to function. They initiated, passed, and raised eleven candidates while under dispensation and accepted one brother by affiliation.
Twenty-five members were named in the charter granted September 20, 1910 and signed by J. M. W. Bro. Albert B. McGaffey. Ordway Lodge No. 135 was constituted October 22, 1910 by Grand Secretary Charles H. Jacobson, Acting Grand Master.
Allen H. Thomas, first Junior Deacon and Master in 1913 was the lodge's early authority on ritualistic work. "When questions arose, all were willing to accept Brother Al's interpretation, he being a Michigan Mason and Colorado work being taken from Michigan."
Prized possessions are the Master's gavel, Altar, and Tiler's sword. The gavel was presented by Bro. Fred K. Fields, who while attending a Grand Army of the Republic reunion near Gettysburg cut a small hickory from Little Round Top from which the gavel head was "turned." The handle was made from a walnut tree near the Jefferson Davis home.
The altar was made of cherry wood brought from New York state by Bro. Greene. The sword was handmade, hammered out by a blacksmith.
George A. Walker, Master in 1925, conferred all three degrees upon his father, Norris A. Walker.
One of the last official acts of Grand Lecturer Charles L. Young was installation of No. 135's officers on December 12, 1949. Since 1918 he had visited the lodge twenty-seven times.
Membership November 30, 1960 101
ECKERT LODGE NO. 136, A.F. & A.M.
The move to start a Masonic lodge in the Surface Creek Valley was begun in 1909 by a group of Master Masons residing in the towns of Austin, Eckert, and Cedaredge. They met in the homes of Charles M. Hopson and Laurance D. King and in the old I.O.O.F. Hall in Eckert.
The petition for a dispensation was signed by 16 brethren and the dispensation was duly granted on February 10, 1910 by M. W. Bro. George W. Musser.
The charter was granted September 20, 1910 and the lodge was constituted on November 18, 1910 by M.W. Bro. N. B. McGaffey.
Some 15 years later, on August 8, 1925, the lodge voted to move from Eckert to Cedaredge. In Cedaredge the lodge met in the I.O.O.F. Hall for many years before moving to other quarters. Finally, after many difficulties during trying times, the corner-stone of a new temple was laid November 10, 1958. At this ceremony M. W. Bro. Donald W. Shaw, P.G.M., acted for the Most Worshipful Grand Master. This temple was formally dedicated by M.W. Bro. Clifford J. Gobble, assisted by others of his staff.
For many years the lodge has held an annual banquet as near to Washington's birthday as possible. Many brothers have received their 50-year Masonic pins at this meeting; many others have received other awards. Speakers from other lodges have been present; Masonic plays have been presented.
The growth of the lodge has been steady, there being 133 members as of November 30, 1960
MARBLE LODGE NO. 137, A.F. & A.M.
Dispensation granted February 21, 1910. Chartered September 20, 1910. This lodge is now extinct due to the marble quarries closing down.
SOUTH GATE LODGE NO. 138, A.F. & A.M.
Recorded in the minutes of a pre-organization meeting held on January 11, 1910, there is mentioned "a similar movement during the summer of 1906" to organize a Masonic Lodge in the neighborhood, which was later to become the location of South Gate Lodge No. 138. This notation would indicate that the action, which was consummated in 1910, was a continuation of that which started in 1906.
A dispensation was granted by M.W. Bro. George W. Musser on May 14, 1910, the result of a petition signed by 24 Master Masons. At this time Denver had a population of 231,831 and all 11 Masonic Lodges in the city had recommended the issuance of the dispensation.
The lodge was chartered on September 20, 1910 and was constituted the following day. The first regular meeting held thereafter was on October 6, 1910. The lodge was constituted by M.W. Bro. Albert B. McGaffey who also was the first Grand Master to visit the Lodge, the visitation being on the first special communication of the lodge, November 10, 1910.
Woodman Hall at East Iowa Avenue and South Broadway was first used as a meeting place on February 2, 1910, by the brethren who organized the lodge and at that meeting it was selected by hallot as the future meeting place of the lodge if and when officially formed.
The original Lodge room was used until 1931 and late in that year the present lodge room became available. Practically all the original furniture for the lodge was made by Bro. Almond H. Neff, who later became W. Bro. Neff, and who was a woodworker in a lumber mill owned by W. Bro. Edward W. Robinson, a charter member.
The South Gate Masonic Building Association was formed in 1916 for the purpose of acquiring a temple. Fifteen years later, on July 2, 1931, the members voted to accept the Association's report on the acquisition of the building in which the Lodge then met.
The Lodge has been active in charity work, the South Gate Benevolent Foundation having been formed and its articles being approved on October 16, 1930. Another important part of the work has been that of the Widows and Orphans Committee.
Many social events have been held during the years: picnics, ladies' nights and other entertainments.
At the time of the golden anniversary celebration of the lodge, on October 6, 1960, Bro. Karl W. Bauder, the sole surviving charter member gave an interesting talk about the early days.
From the humble beginning in 1910, the lodge has grown to a membership of 730 on November 30, 1960
HUGO LODGE NO. 139, A.F. & A.M.
In the early years of the twentieth century an area in the east central plains of Colorado was just beginning to be settled around the small community of Hugo.
John W. Veal, an early resident of Hugo and a Past Master of Florida Lodge No. 23 of Florida, Missouri, made inquiries among the male residents and found there were at least 14 men who were members of the Craft in Hugo and vicinity. A petition containing 14 names together with the recommendation of Kiowa Lodge No. 116, Kit Carson Lodge No. 127 and Cheyenne Wells Lodge No. 132 was dispatched to the Most Worshipful Grand Master Albert B. McGaffey praying for a dispensation enabling them to work as a regular Lodge. The dispensation was issued on March 23, 1911. The first regular communication of Hugo Lodge U. D. was held April 20,1911, ten of the signers of the petition being present.
A charter was granted to Hugo Lodge U. D. under the name of Hugo Lodge No. 139.
A special communication of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Colorado was held September 27,1911, during which Hugo Lodge No. 139 was constituted and dedicated and its officers duly installed by Most Worshipful Grand Master H. W. Woodward.
Number of members November 30,1960 99
JOHNSTOWN LODGE NO. 140, A.F. & A.M.
On October 7, 1911, upon call of H. J. Parish, fourteen Master Masons of the Johnstown community assembled in his office for the purpose of establishing a Masonic Lodge in Johnstown. The association resulting from this meeting was active and on November 17, 1911, a dispensation was granted by the Grand Master. A charter was issued to Johnstown Lodge No. 140 on September 17,1912.
The regular order of business was carried on for several years until 1925 when it was decided to purchase a site for the location of a temple. After some delays the corner-stone was laid on August 25, 1927. This was a signal triumph for many of the members of the lodge who so unstintingly gave time and money to help construct the building and payoff the debts. For a time the secretary was paid 5 % of the dues collected and for several years no salary was paid to the secretary.
The dedication of the Temple took place on March 27, 1928. All Grand Lodge officers were present and spoke briefly.
On November 30, 1960, the membership stood at 149, a gratifying increase from the pioneer 14 whose courage pointed the way to yet another Masonic lodge.
ARVADA LODGE NO. 141, A.F. & A.M.
When congratulating R. W. Bro. George E. Simonton upon his election as Deputy Grand Master of Masons of Colorado in 1911, Albert H. Barth, not then a Mason, expressed the desire that a lodge might be started in Arvada and that he might join. Later he arranged for R. W. Bro. Simonton to meet in his home with Bro. Walter R. James, a member of an Illinois lodge, to discuss the proposed lodge.
Resident Masons of Arvada consequently held several meetings but action was slow as most of them were from other jurisdictions and unfamiliar with Colorado work. Bro. Fred T. Newton of Union Lodge No.7, Denver, was finally persuaded to spearhead the organization. The first recorded meeting was in Kennedy's Store September 27, 1911.
Dispensation was obtained March 11, 1912 and Arvada, No. 141 was chartered September 17 of that year.
"The Lodge Rooms over Juchem's Store" was the meeting place until 1924. The lodge met in four locations, Barth Hall, the Bank hall, Wheat Ridge Methodist Church basement, and Lakewood Masonic Temple prior to occupancy of its own new Temple in 1949.
The original Bible used was one sent to Bro. Newton on his twenty-first birthday by his mother in London, England. The Square and Compasses were loaned by Union Lodge No.7. The first marshal's baton was a piece of three-eighths inch nickel pipe with a cap on each end. Lecture charts were used until 1916 when they were replaced by lantern slides. Later they were loaned to Edgwater No. 159 and Hudson No. 160.
Membership, 1960 588
UNITY LODGE NO. 142, A.F. & A.M.
During the year 1911 a group of Masons from various lodges and states in the Union, who were farmers, businessmen, ranchers and homesteaders in Kiowa County, gathered at Eads and decided to form a Masonic lodge.
Their petition was answered by a dispensation issued on March 12, 1912 by M. W. Bro. H. W. Woodward. The charter was granted on September 17, 1912 and the lodge was duly constituted November 23, 1912 by the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Colorado. After the close of the Grand Lodge all members present repaired to the banquet room for refreshments which were served by the mothers, wives and daughters of the members of the new lodge.
The first stated communication was held Saturday evening, December 14, 1912 and the membership has steadily increased ever since that time, except for the period between 1928 and 1938 during which there was no work recorded because of the depression. Several of the Past .Masters were reelected to the office the second time.
As of November 30,1960, the lodge had a membership of 129.
INSPIRATION LODGE NO. 143, A.F. & A.M.
Late in the year 1913 and early in the following year, a group of Masons held organizational meetings in office rooms of the Gas and Electric Building. Later meetings held in the Masonic Temple at 1614 Welton Street resulted in a petition for a dispensation signed by 42 Masons. The name selected resulted from the remark that it was an inspiration to assemble so many sojourning Masons and form a Lodge.
On March 23, 1914, M.W. Bro. William S. Pickerill granted a dispensation After the granting of a charter on September IS, 1914, the lodge was consecrated, dedicated and constituted by M.W. Bro. Charles H. Dudley on October 2, 1914. At this time there were 64 charter members.
The lodge had obtained a good start when America became involved in World War I. The Lodge survived those hectic days; the times when public gatherings were curtailed because of influenza epidemics; the times when the post-war slump was felt throughout the land.
During an even later depression. in 1932, the lodge's Welfare Fund actually increased during the year. For several years of its existence the lodge had to keep very close watch over expenses but still managed to serve the traditional refreshments and to honor requests for relief and assistance from needy brethren.
The membership has grown to 505 as of November 30, 1960.
HENRY M. TELLER LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 144,
On April 30, 1914, Grand Master Pickerill granted a dispensation to form and open a Lodge to be called Henry M. Teller Lodge U. D. located at Denver with James Marion Price, Worshipful Master; George Alfred Luxford, Senior Warden, and Charles Dickens Biggerstaff as Junior Warden. This petition was recommended by the Lodges whose territorial Jurisdiction would be affected.
The Committee on Returns and work reported favorably on the enormous amount of work done in four months. The lodge held 23 meetings, received 40 petitions, elected 37, rejected 3, initiated 30, passed 29, raised 26 and referred 7 petitions. In addition to the original 55 signers, 26 petitions had been received for charter members of which 25 were elected and one whose credentials failed to arrive was not eligible. The Committee congratulated Henry M. Teller Lodge on the work and the records, accepted the bylaws with a few changes and recommended Henry M. Teller No. 144 be chartered with Brothers James Marion Price, Worshipful Master; George A. Luxford, Senior Warden; and Charles D. Biggerstaff, Junior Warden; and 102 charter members. Of the members, only 25 were from Colorado and 5 from Denver Lodges.
On September 16, 1914, Grand Master Dudley at the close of the Grand Lodge Communication, constituted Henry M. Teller Lodge No. 144 with the assistance of several Past Grand Masters and associate officers. The officers were also installed.
Membership was 598 on November 30, 1960.
MONTEZUMA LODGE NO. 145, A.F. & A.M.
In western Colorado a little town known as Big Bend started growing, later to move upriver and become known as Dolores.
In 1913 there were two Masonic lodges in Montezuma County, No. 133 at Cortez, and No. 100 at Mancos. Since travel was slow in those days, it was very hard to go so far to lodge so the Master Masons in Dolores asked for a charter whereby they could organize a lodge.
Montezuma Lodge No. 145 was chartered on September 15, 1914. having a memhership of 24. On Novemher 30, 1960 that number had increaced to 115.
The lodge met in the Knights of Pythias Hall which burned to the ground in 1926. The lodge then purchased what was known as the old Post Office building and a few years later held a mortgage burning celebration.
In 1953 the lodge voted to build a new temple. This was dedicated October 3, 1953 by W.M. Bro. Hubert Glover. Much of the furniture and ornaments of the Lodge were made by lodge members.
LINCOLN LODGE NO. 146, A.F. & A.M.
Some 27 years after the founding of the town of Limon, on March 24, 1915, a group of Master Masons met to discuss the possibility of organizing a Masonic lodge in Limon. No one present was well versed in Colorado work and a brother from Flagler assisted in coaching the officers.
A dispensation was granted on June 24, 1915 and on November 6, 1915 the lodge was duly consecrated, dedicated and constituted by the Grand Lodge. The name "Lincoln" had been chosen as a compromise when several other names had been proposed.
The minutes of the-meeting of March 17, 1919 read in part: "Under the head of new business, the matter of building a Masonic hall in Limon was brought to the attention of the lodge for discussion. . ." A corporation was formed and its success was such that August 30 of that year the corner-stone of the building was laid. The Lodge moved into the building in January, 1920.
On November 6, 1939, Grand Master Francis J. Knauss dedicated the then unencumbered temple, the last indebtedness having been paid.
Membership as of November 30,1960 was 129.
COLUMBINE LODGE NO. 147, A.F. & A.M.
During the year 1915 a number of Master Masons, members of various lodges in Denver, feeling that the interests of Masonry required a new lodge, met informally to discuss the formation of what afterwards became Columbine Lodge No. 147. M.W. Bro. Robert M. Simons granted a dispensation on January 20, 1916.
The new lodge was named after the State Flower. In explanation of this, Emerson's words "rock-loving columbine" have been quoted to show that the lodge, like the flower, could grow and prosper despite difficulties and hardships placed in its way.
A charter was granted on September 20, 1916 and the lodge was constituted the same day, M. W. Bro. Guy V. Sternberg presiding. There were 38 charter members.
During its existence the lodge has met at the Masonic Temple, 1614 Welton Street, the Scottish Rite Cathedral, 1770 Sherman Street, Harmony Temple, 777 Delaware Street, returning to 1614 Welton Street in 1960.Membership grew to 860 on November 30, 1960.
Perhaps the most widely known tradition of the Lodge is Colorado Night, a biannual communication dedicated to honoring the Grand Lodge of Colorado and those officals of the government who are members of the Craft.
Charity of the Lodge is dispensed through the Benjamin L. Solomon Memorial Fund, established to honor the memory of the 1922 Worshipful Master of the Lodge, a man who spent his time in the diligent pursuit performance of Masonic knowledge and the performance of Masonic duties.
Edwin J. Wittelshofer, Worshipful Master of the lodge in 1927 and 1928, was the 1950 Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Colorado, the only member of Columbine Lodge to be so honored: John Kamlet, Worshipful Master in 1954, is District Lecturer of the Grand Lodge for District 3.
Many families are represented in Columbine Lodge by more than one member. Three brothers, Max, William and Samuel Zall, have been Masters of the lodge, as have been brothers Max and Ted Weinstein, and Morris and Max Rifkin.
PARK HILL LODGE NO. 148, A.F. & A.M.
For some years prior to the organization of Park Hill Lodge, that section of Denver known as Park Hill had been one of the most attractive, newest and rapidly expanding better residential areas in the city of Denver. The new residents commenced to have mutual interests as home owners and as Masons. On August 5, 1915, a meeting was held in the Montview Boulevard Presbyterian Church, and before it adjourned, a motion had been put and carried that a Masonic lodge be established in Park Hill. It is interesting to note that the Lodge issued a resolution thanking the church for the Lodge's treatment, this being done at its last stated communication to be held in the church, November 19,1925.
A dispensation was granted on January 20, 1916. On September 16, 1916 the lodge was chartered and was constituted on October 5, 1916 by Robert M. Simons, P.G.M., and associate officers. At this meeting there were 7 other Past Grand Masters present. There were 105 charter members at that time, while on November 30,1960 the membership stood at 1,159.
The first meeting of the Board of Trustees of what is now the Building Association was held on November 28, 1921. On January 6, 1953 the Treasurer's Report showed the lodge to be free and clear of all outstanding Building Fund obligations.
The period in between these two dates was one of continuous struggles, of disappointments, of narrow escapes from insolvency. The end result is one of the handsomest Lodge rooms in the entire state in a beautiful and modernized temple.
Park Hill Lodge is justly proud of its late Brother Grover C. Olinger, who was Master of the Lodge in 1934 and Grand Master of Masons in Colorado in 1946.
YUMA LODGE NO. 149, A.F. & A.M.
When a Mason moves to a new location away from his lodge home, he soon discovers that there are others in like circumstances. If there is no lodge at his new place of residence he soon finds that he, as well as others, is desirous of having a chartered lodge which he can attend, and enjoy the fellowship of Masons in lodge assembled. Such was the situation in Yuma in the year of 1916. Masons who had moved there from many parts of the nation decided to form a lodge in Yuma.
Eighteen Masons petitioned the Grand Lodge for a dispensation to hold lodge meetings and a dispensation was granted on May 9, 1916 by M.W. Bro. Robert M. Simons.
Yuma Lodge U. D. was kept busy in the conferring of degrees. Both stated and special communications were held in order to expedite the work.
At a special communication held November 11, 1916, D.G.M. L D Crain, assisted by Grand Secretary Charles H. Jacobson, presented the lodge with a charter, and it was duly constituted.
Communications were held in a rented hall suitable for the purpose. It was the desire of the lodge members, often discussed at their meetings, to purchase a suitable building. This opportunity was presented in 1924, and the building located at 217 S. Main Street was obtained. The first meeting in the new location was held in September, 1924.
Yuma Lodge has grown from a charter membership of 20 to its present membership of 113. Three charter members were recently honored by a dinner and a lodge meeting at which they were presented with appropriate lapel pins.
LIBERTY LODGE NO. 150, A.F. & A.M.
In the early part of 1918, when our country was engaged in World War I, when our President, our statesmen and our armed forces were endeavoring to exemplify to the world the significance of the word "Liberty", a group of Master Masons conceived the idea of a Masonic lodge in the northwest part of Denver. The petition for a dispensation was signed by 20 Masons.
A story has it that a more or less friendly race to Fort Collins, the home of the then Grand Master, determined the order in which the dispensations asked for were issued. That the men of Liberty won the race over the members of Palestine Lodge is shown by the number 150 as compared to number 151.
The dispensation was granted March 17, 1918 and on March 18 a meeting held in Lovell Hall, at W. 44th Avenue and Lowell Boulevard. This was the first meeting of Liberty Lodge U. D.
On September 26, 1918 the Grand Lodge 150, with M.W. Bro. Clarence M. Kellogg granted on September 17.
On June 26, 1919 the lodge took the first steps to secure a temple. Nearly two years later, on January 27, 1921 the lodge voted to change the meeting place to the Highlands Masonic Temple, then at 3220 Federal Boulevard. In July of that year it was voted that the Lodge join others in the construction of a new temple. March 12, 1927 the Grand Lodge met to lay the corner-stone of that new building at 3550 Federal Boulevard. This temple was dedicated on October 30, 1928 and on November 22 of the same year Liberty Lodge held its first meeting in that ne temple.
On November 30, 1960 the membership of the lodge was recorded as 706, highly satisfactory growth from the days of 1918.
PALESTINE LODGE NO. 151, A.F. & A.M.
The first meeting when any definite action was taken toward the formation of Palestine Lodge was held January 2,1918. On December 11,1917 General Allenby leading the British army, had entered Jerusalem, which event led to the naming of the lodge. General Allenby was later informed of this and his letter in reply is one of the lodge's treasures.
A dispensation was granted on June 1, 1918 and the lodge was chartered on September 18, 1918. The lodge was constituted on September 30, 1918 by M.W. Bro. Clarence M. Kellogg. There were 58 charter members and on November 30, 1960 the membership had increased to 471.
Meetings were held at 1614 Welton Street until 1925 when the lodge moved to the temple at 1470 Grant Street, where it has been meeting ever since.
The lodge is very proud of its furniture. The Holy Bible is a Geneva, or "Breeches" Bible, printed in London, England, in 1599. This translation of the Bible was made by a group of Protestant scholars who fled from England to Geneva to escape persecution by Queen Mary. The version was first published in 1560 and was called the "Breeches" Bible because of its substitution of the word "breeches" for "aprons" in Genesis 3:7.
This Bible is 89 years older than that on which George Washington was obligated as an Entered Apprentice by Fredericksburg Lodge of Virginia on November 24, 1752. It is 148 years older than that owned by St. John's Lodge No.1, A. F. & A. M. of New York City, on which George Washington took the oath of office as President of the United States.
The Bible was presented in a memorable ceremony on December 29, 1921, with M.W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet consecrating the gift. About one year later the lodge was presented with a silver square and compasses and a month after that with a container for the three great lights.
Palestine Lodge is proud of its member Thomas F. Vardie, who was raised under its dispensation, was Worshipful Master in 1925, is now Secretary of the lodge for the second time, and who also is Grand Treasurer of the Grand Lodge of Colorado.
BYERS LODGE NO. 152, A.F. & A.M.
That the first attempts to secure a dispensation for a lodge in this town named for a well known Colorado pioneer were unsuccessful is shown by an excerpt from the address of M.W. Bro. Guy V. Sternberg on September 18, 1957: "I received application for the establishment of a lodge at Byers, Colorado. After giving this matter due investigation, I determined that a lodge could be supported at that place and advised the brethren interested that I would favor a lodge there and would be pleased to grant a dispensation, provided the proposed petitioners complied with all the necessary requirements. This correspondence took place in February and March, and it appears that the brethren interested did not thereafter diligently proceed with the matter, and consequently, I have received no petition for a dispensation."
Later attempts were successful and on February 12, 1919 the lodge was instituted by M.W. Bro. Clarence M. Kellogg. In his address for the year the Grand Master was pleased to say: "The lodge is to be congratulated upon having provided for it such a commodious meeting place."
M.W. Bro. Kellogg installed the officers of the lodge on May 5, 1919. The charter was granted October 8, 1919 and the lodge was constituted by M.W. Bro. Frank L. Bishop on November 8, 1919. There were 27 charter members and 146 members on November 30,1960.
DOUGLAS LODGE NO. 153, A.F. & A.M.
CASTLE ROCK, COLORADO
A dispensation was issued on May 5, 1919 to form a lodge at Sedalia, Colorado. This dispensation was granted by M.W. Bro. Clarence M. Kellogg and the lodge was known as Sedalia Lodge U. D. The lodge held 12 regular communications before the next Grand Lodge session and was congratulated by the Committee on Returns and work for the neat and careful keeping of required records.
The charter was granted under the name of Douglas Lodge No. 153. The date of the charter was October 8, 1919, at which time there were 32 charter members. Constitution of the lodge was on October 20, 1919, M.W. Bro. Frank L. Bishop officiating.
Membership in the lodge rose to 121 on November 30, 1960.
EMULATION LODGE NO. 154, A.F. & A.M.
With an idealist occupying the Grand Master's Chair, in 1921 a group of Denver Masons who desired to form an exemplary lodge received enthusiastic approval of their application for dispensation.
The Grand Master was Hazlett P. Burke. Chairman of the petitioners was Dr. Harry L. Baum.
The group had high objectives: proficiency in ritual, simplicity of authentic degree work, careful selection of members so Masonic principles of fellowship would be practiced constantly.
These standards delighted M. W. Bro. Burke who advised the group of his opinion that it was impossible for healthy Masonic growth to take place rapidly. The dispensation was signed February 5, 1921 and delivered to the 41 signers three days later in the hall of South Denver Lodge No. 93.
The name "Emulation" was chosen from the passage in the Monitor which reads: "brotherly love and affection; that cement which unites us into one sacred band, or society of friends and brothers, among whom no contention should ever exist, save that noble contention, or rather emulation, of who best can work and best agree."
Though the old English Lodge No. 21 in London, England had been named Emulation, there were few lodges in America having the name which to the petitioners signified the epitome of Masonry.
Dr. Baum was appointed first Worshipful Master. Brother Harry S. Finney cooperated with Dr. Baum for several years in establishing the lodge. During dispensation R. W. Bro. W. W. Cooper labored diligently and untiringly to perfect the officers in their work so perfection could be obtained.
Seven months later, September 21, 1 1931, the Grand Lodge chartered the lodge as Emulation No. 154.
Emulation has continued since to maintain a strict control over character of its members by judicious approval of the ballot. The largest membership was 211. Despite the comparatively small membership in a metropolitan city, the lodge has furnished two outstanding Grand Masters, Dr. Bamn and Charles A. Mantz.
R. W. Bro. Luther VanBuskirk, a member of the lodge and its tiler for 35 years, is regarded by many Emulation members as "Mr. Mason" of Colorado.
There were 220 members of the lodge on November 30, 1960.
SAN ACACIO LODGE NO. 155, A.F. & A.M.
SAN ACACIO, COLORADO
M.W. Bro. Haslett P. Burke issued, to a group of 18 Master Masons, a dispensation on March 23, 1921 for the organization of San Acacio Lodge U. D. The lodge held 20 regular communications between that time and the following September and elected 10 to receive the degrees of Masonry.
No fault was found with the records of the lodge and a charter was granted on September 21, 1921. The charter lists 24 members which number had increased to 64 by November 30, 1960. The lodge was constituted October 7, 1921, M.W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet presiding.
AURORA LODGE NO. 156, A.F. & A.M.
On April 7, 1922, M.W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet issued a dispensation to 28 Master Masons to hold a lodge under the name of Aurora Lodge U. D. From that time until September, 1922, Aurora Lodge held 14 regular communications and elected 14 to receive the degrees.
A charter was granted to the lodge on September 20, 1922, at which time there were 32 charter members. On November 30, 1960 the membership had grown to 781. The lodge was constituted on October 10, 1922 by M.W. Bro. Edward P. Hufferd.
OLATHE LODGE NO. 157, A.F. & A.M.
Some attempts were made to organize a Masonic lodge in Olathe prior to the year of 1922 but without success. On February 16, 1922 a number of Master Masons residing in or near Olathe met and discussed the possibility of forming a lodge. Subsequent meetings were held and on June 9, M.W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet arrived to examine the principal officers on their proficiency. A dispensation was granted the following day, June 10, 1922.
On November 4, 1922, M.W. Bro. Edward P. Hufferd constituted the lodge. At this time it met at Scheck's Hall which continued to be the meeting place until December, 1929 when the lodge moved to the American Legion Hall, its present home.
The first Worshipful Master of the lodge, Thomas Harvey Cox, was Grand Master of Masons in Colorado for the Masonic year 1939-40.
As of November 30, 1960 there were 58 members of the lodge.
SPRINGFIELD LODGE NO. 158, A.F. & A.M.
The dispensation for Springfield Lodge was issued on May 13, 1922 by M.W. Bro. Marshall H. Van Fleet, at which time there were 17 Master Masons who had decided to form the lodge. The proceedings of the Grand Lodge show that during the period of the dispensation the lodge held 18 regular communications and elected 22 to receive the degrees of Masonry.
The progress of the lodge was such that a charter was granted that year and on December 2, 1922, M.W. Bro. Edward P. Hufferd constituted the lodge.
There were 242 members on November 30,1960.
EDGEWATER LODGE NO. 159, A.F. & A.M.
While several of the craft were attending a P.T.A. meeting at Edgewater in the Little Red School House on the Hill, one of them advanced the brilliant idea: "Say fellows, why wouldn't this room make a good place to hold a Masonic Lodge?"
Accordingly, on the night of December 27, 1923, thirteen Master Masons met at the home of James H. Hopkins in Edgewater, where a committee was appointed to request a dispensation to form a Lodge in Edgewater. The dispensation was granted by Most Worshipful Brother Jesse c. Wiley on April 9, 1924 and was signed by thirty-four Master Masons with Leslie D. Bruce as Worshipful Master.
The first regular communication of Edgewater Lodge U. D. was held in the Edgewater School House, April 18, 1924, with thirty members and thirty-three visitors present.
A petition for a charter, signed by 37 members was presented to the annual meeting of the Grand Lodge, September 16 and 17,1924, and on September 17, 1924 a charter was granted to Edgewater Lodge No. 159 with Leslie D. Bruce as Worshipful Master. The first Stated Communication was held in the School House October 3, 1924 with thirty members who signed the petition for this charter and forty-four visitors present.
Up to March 4, 1932, the Lodge met in the Edgewater School House. Subsequently, it became necessary to obtain more suitable quarters and on March 18, 1932, it moved to the I. O. O. F. Building, West 25th Avenue and Eaton Street.
Special recognition should be given to Brother James H. Hopkins, the first Secretary of the Lodge, for his clear and copious minutes covering the early days of the Lodge.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 gives the present membership as 429.
EAST DENVER LODGE NO. 160, A.F. & A.M.
East Denver Lodge No. 160 had its beginning as a Masonic Club which was formed on October 3, 1923 and met in the basement of the Clayton Community Church at 28th and York Streets. Eventuaily the gymnasium of the church, after a few necessary alterations, became the home of the lodge.
A petition for a dispensation was drawn up and signed by seventy Master Masons before February 22, 1924 and granted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Jesse C. Wiley on May 8, 1924.
East Denver Lodge U. D. with Charles I. Grier as Worshipful Master, held its first meeting May 8, 1924 and conferred its first Entered Apprentice Degree on May 23, 1924, the candidate being Harry J. Potter. The first class of Master Masons was raised, July 24, 1924.
In due time a charter was granted and East Denver Lodge No. 160 was constituted on September 19, 1924 by Most Worshipful Grand Master William N. Vaile and his associate officers with Charles I. Grier as Worshipful Master; seventy names were on the charter.
"East Denver" was selected as the most suitable name for the Lodge because of its geographical location. Until 1930 the Lodge continued to meet in the church gymnasium but later rebuilt and remodeled the room. During 1954 it became apparent that they could meet there no longer because of church complications and the meeting place was moved to Lawrence N. Greenleaf Lodge and later to Aurora Lodge No. 156.
On August 31, 1957, the corner-stone for a new Lodge Hall at 34th and Albion Streets was laid by Grand Master Aubrey Spann and Worshipful Master James Collier. The building was completed during the winter and on March 4, 1958, the new building was dedicated by Grand Master Glenn Van Fleet assisted by Worshipful Master Clarence V. Peterson.
The Grand Lodge record as of November 30, 1960 shows a membership of 514 in East Denver Lodge No. 160.
GEORGE WASHINGTON A.F. & A.M. LODGE NO. 161,
Grand Master Vaile granted a dispensation to 43 Master Masons in Denver on January 15, 1925, to open and form a Lodge to be called George Washington Lodge U. D. This was one of four lodges that were granted dispensations at this time.
The Committee on Returns and Work reported that 22 regular communications were held, 20 petitions received, 18 elected, 2 rejected, 17 initiated, 16 passed, 16 raised, 12 examined on proficiency in Master Mason Degree. It recommended the bylaws be approved with changes and complimented the neatness of records.
Charter was granted to George Washington Lodge No. 161 with Brothers Joseph McHard Blee, Worshipful Master; William A. Simmons, Senior Warden; and Frank H. Weick, Junior Warden, with 57 names on the charter.
On September 28, 1925 Grand Master Mirick convened Grand Lodge in George Washington Masonic Hall and constituted and installed the officers of George Washington Lodge No. 161.
In 1960 George Washington moved into its own Masonic Temple at 1470 So. Holly, Denver.
The cornerstone was laid by Grand Master Carlton M. Rayon.
December 10, 1960. Membership now 582.
PAUL REVERE LODGE NO. 162, A.F. & A.M.
Until 1925, there were only three Masonic Lodges in the North Denver area, and a growing need was frequently expressed for an additional Lodge in this community.
On February 8, 1925, Brother Walter E. Tufford, Secretary of Berkeley Lodge No. 134, invited Brothers Blakely, Aldrich and Harvey B. Anderton to his home for the purpose of discussing tentative plans for the formation of a Masonic Club.
As a result, a petition for a new Lodge under dispensation, signed by fifty-two Master Masons, was submitted to Grand Secretary William W. Cooper on May 7, 1925 and granted by Grand Master William N. Vaile on May 16, 1925 with Brother Arthur E. Aldrich as Worshipful Master.
The first meeting of Paul Revere Lodge U. D. was held in Highlands Masonic Temple on May 20, 1925, and on June 3, 1925, the first third degree was conferred on James A. Owenby. During the months of May, June, July and August, 1925, twenty-six petitions were received.
On August 19, 1925, stock was purchased in the Highland Masonic Temple Association, so that Paul Revere Lodge might share part ownership in its future Masonic Home.
August 25, 1925 was the last regular communication of Paul Revere Lodge U. D. as a charter had been granted to Paul Revere Lodge No. 162 and on September 29, 1925, it was consecrated, dedicated and constituted by Grand Master Frank G. Mirick with Arthur E. Aldrich as Worshipful Master.
The first meeting of Paul Revere Lodge No. 162, under its Charter, was held on October 7, 1925. The first Past Master's night was on April 29, 1926.
A new set of officers jewels, purchased by the first officers of the Lodge, was presented on May 19, 1926.
The first lodge picnic was held July 11, 1926 at Shadow Mountain. A ladies night was celebrated on April 17, 1926.
Paul Revere Lodge officers and members were quite active in these early days on the Fitzsimons Hospital Committee.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960, gives the present membership of Paul Revere Lodge No. 162 as 1,043.
MOUNT WOLFORD LODGE NO. 163, A.F. & A.M.
Stimulated by the interest expressed by the brethren of Breckenridge Lodge No. 47, several Masons residing in Grand County met in the fall of 1922 in the Bank Building in Kremmling to consider the feasibility of organizing a Masonic Lodge in Middle Park. This gathering met with such enthusiastic response that Brother Phillips of Breckenridge Lodge was commissioned by the Grand Master to institute a new Lodge to be known as Mount Wolford Lodge No. 163 at Kremmling, Colorado, with eighteen charter members and William H. Bloom, Worshipful Master.
The first regular communication was held May 21, 1925 in the Bank Building and a committee was appointed to install electric lights and put the hay loft over Pat Martin's Livery Stable in good order, presumably for the Lodge Hall.
At the 6th Special Communication on May 21, 1927, the authority was given to purchase the Alpert Building which is the present home of the Lodge.
From 1925 to 1953, the membership increased from 18 to 132.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 gives the membership of Mount Wolford Lodge No. 163 as 149.
HAXTUN LODGE NO. 164, A.F. & A.M.
In the spring of 1925 a number of Masons in and around Haxtun met in the First National Bank Building in Haxtun to discuss the possibility of forming a Lodge. Frank L. Wilkins, a Past Master of Dewitt Lodge No. 11 of Nebraska jurisdiction was appointed Worshipful Master; Roy F. Fleming, Senior Warden; Tom C. Crist, Junior Warden; Emil J. Anderson, Secretary; and Harry W. Hartman, Treasurer.
The Secretary was instructed to write to the Grand Master and request instructions as to the necessary procedure to form a Lodge at Haxtun. The instructions were received and the officers proceeded to prepare themselves for the task at hand.
A petition in due form was sent to the Most Worshipful Grand Master William N. Vaile, who granted a dispensation June 13, 1925.
The Grand Master appointed Frank L. Wilkins, Worshipful Master; Roy Fleming, Senior Warden and Tom C. Crist, Junior Warden, to serve as officers U. D.
A preliminary meeting was held in the Odd Fellows' Hall at 8:30 P.M., June 26, 1925 at which time Worshipful Master Frank C. Wilkins appointed H. W. Hartman, Treasurer; Emil J. Anderson, Secretary; Z. R. Spaur, Senior Deacon; C. O. Hedstrum, Junior Deacon; J. B. Ghent, Senior Steward; R. D. Jordan, Junior Steward, and N. S. Crow, Tiler.
The hour of 8: 00 P.M. and 2nd and 4th Fridays were set as the hour and day of Stated Communications. This was changed to the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays on January 14, 1927. On February 28, 1928, the hour and date changed to 7:30 P.M., from October 1 to April 1, to 8:00 P.M., from April 1 to October 1 on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month.
The furniture of the Lodge was donated by Colorado Springs Lodge No. 76.
Haxtun Lodge U. D. initiated four and passed and raised two in the interim from June 26, 1925 to August 28, 1925, at which time all the papers and dispensation were sent to the Grand Lodge with a request for a charter.
After sending the dispensation and papers to the Grand Lodge the brothers continued to hold meetings, confer degrees and ballot on candidates, all of which was unlawful. This was not an intentional breech of the constitution but was done through Jack of knowledge and familiarity with the constitution. The Grand Master, however later, "healed" this unlawful work.
A charter was granted and Haxtun Lodge No. 164 was constituted on Friday, October 30, 1925, by Most Worshipful Grand Master Marshall H. Van Fleet, and other Grand Lodge officers. The Grand Master then proceeded to install officers U. D. as officers of the newly constituted Lodge. These officers were re-elected on December 11, 1925, to serve the Lodge for a full year. It is interesting to note that Sterling Lodge No. 54 received petitions and conferred degrees on two persons living in Crook, Colorado, which was in the Haxtun Jurisdiction. After discovering their error, the Sterling Lodge requested and were granted waivers covering these two brothers by the Haxtun Lodge.
The minutes mention many instances of fraternal relations with Sterling Lodge No. 54, Logan Lodge No. 70, Holyoke Lodge No. 81 and Yuma Lodge No. 149.
In 1943 the Haxtun Lodge bought the Lutheran Church and converted it to a Lodge room which it occupied in September 1944. In 1949 this property was sold and lots purchased for a new home. The corner-stone for this new temple was laid October 1, 1949 by the Grand Lodge of Colorado. The new Temple was occupied on May 4, 1950 with a dinner and the conferring of the Master Mason Degree by the Past Masters.
In 1953 Masons and Eastern Star members joined to celebrate the burning of the notes on the Temple and carpet which were held by members of the Lodge.
There are many instances of donations by Haxtun Lodge to other Lodges in time of tribulation as well as donations to other worthy causes.
RAMAH LODGE NO. 165, A.F. & A.M.
On February 8, 1925, five Master Masons, Lem Gammon, Harry Gammon, Robert Cameron, Ira R. Woodward, William Kloster, went to the ranch of Brother T. H. Smith, about 16 miles north of Ramah, to discuss the possibility of organizing a Lodge at Ramah. Several similar meetings followed with the result that on October .31, 1925 a request for a Dispensation was taken to Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank G. Mirick who granted a dispensation for a Lodge at Ramah, with Abram D. Garriott as Worshipful Master and dated December 25, 1925. The State Bank of Ramah was enlarged to provide quarters for the new Lodge which held its first regular communication on January 13, 1926. Twenty-seven Master Masons signed the petition for a dispensation and ten petitions were received at the first meeting.
A charter was granted to Ramah Lodge No. 165 on September 21, 1926 and the Lodge was constituted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank J. Reinhard on October 25, 1926 with Abram Dale Garriott as Worshipful Master.
On December 12, 1929, Brother William Kloster was elected Secretary and still serves in that capacity after 31 years of continuous service.
On October 22, 1951 the Lodge celebrated its 25th Anniversary with 30 members and 12 visitors present. Most Worshipful Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes and Grand Lecturer Giles N. Alkire presented inspiring addresses.
Worshipful Brother Abram J. Garriott, the first Master of Ramah Lodge No. 165, passed away on February 21, 1957 at the age of 85 years and was laid to rest in Evergreen Cemetery in Colorado Springs.
There were 42 members who signed the charter.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 gives the present membership of Ramah Lodge No. 165 as 102.
ENGLEWOOD LODGE NO. 166, A.F. & A.M.
In Englewood, Colorado, a small city on the southern edge of the Capital City of Denver resided a number of Master Masons most of whom were members of Denver Lodges. The feeling among these brethren was that there were a sufficient number of Masons residing in this small but rapidly growing community to support a regular lodge. Early in the year 1926 a group of fifty Masons petitioned the Grand Lodge of Colorado for a dispensation which was granted on April 12, 1926 by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank G. Mirick, designating Brothers Harley W. Patton, Worshipful Master, James E. Abbott, Senior Warden and Arthur E. Furguson, Junior Warden. During the interim between receiving the dispensation and the Grand Lodge session of 1926, the records show that 18 Communications were held at which 17 petitions were received, 16 elected and 1 referred. Sixteen were initiated, passed and raised to the degree of Master Mason.
The Committee of the Grand Lodge on Returns and Work recommended a charter be granted as Englewood Lodge No. 166. On September 22, 1926, a charter was granted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank J. Reinhard. Sixty-three names appear on the charter as charter members.
On October 21, 1926, the Grand Master convened a special session of the Grand Lodge for the purpose of constituting Englewood Lodge No. 166 and installing the officers.
Membership as of November 30,1960 667
OAK CREEK LODGE NO. 167, A.F. & A.M.
OAK CREEK, COLORADO
>Due to the fact, that the nearest lodges to Oak Creek were either Egeria Lodge No. 106 at Yampa, twelve miles to the South, or Elk Mountain Lodge No. 118, twenty miles to the north at Steamboat Springs, the Masons in Oak Creek met on April 7, 1923 at the office of Brother Norlin to form a Masonic Club. The Club was approved by Most Worshipful Grand Master Edward P. Hufferd on April 17, 1923. Requests for a Lodge Under Dispensation were made in 1924 and again in 1925, both of which were refused, but on May 21, 1926 the petition was granted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank G. Mirick. The petition was signed by 23 Masons.
The charter was granted September 22, 1926 by Grand Master Frank G. Mirick and was signed by twenty-three Master Masons.
The first regular meeting of Oak Creek Lodge U. D. was held May 26, 1926 at Bell Hall. Nine petitions were received at this time.
The first Master of Oak Creek Lodge U. D. was Howard H. Hyde in 1926.
The first stated communication of Oak Creek Lodge No. 167 was October 27, 1926. Because of a fire in Bell Hall, the Lodge was forced to move to Piercen Hall on January 23,1929. On June 25, 1930, the Lodge moved to its owm building on Capitol Hill Addition, the hall being dedicated by Most Worshipful Grand Master Reuben W. Hershey, with George H. Berg as Worshipful Master.
In 1950, the Lodge sold its building on Capitol Hill and returned to Piercen Hall and held its first meeting June 22, 1950 with Robert J. Gilbert as Worshipful Master.
Because of difficulty in heating Piercen Hall, the Lodge moved to Legion Hut, May 30, 1955 where it still meets.
George W. Hageman was the first Master Mason raised in Oak Creek Lodge U. D.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 gives the membership of Oak Creek Lodge No. 167 as 90.
HUDSON LODGE NO. 168, A.F. & A.M.
A group of Masons living in the vicinity of Hudson and Keenesburg met in 1925 to consider the possibility of organizing a Masonic Lodge in that area. After due consideration, plans were made in 1926 to petition the Grand Lodge to grant a dispensation to Hudson for a Lodge. This request was signed by twenty-six Masons.
The Dispensation was granted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank G. Mirick, on June 16, 1926 with Brother George A. Twomy as Worshipful Master.
Hudson Lodge U. D. held its first regular meeting on June 21, 1926 at which time three petitions for the degrees were received.
On October 20, 1926, Hudson Lodge No. 168 received its charter and was duly constituted by Most Worshipful Grand Master Frank J. Reinhard with Brother George A. Twomy as Worshipful Master.
The first meetings of the Lodge U. D. were held on the third floor of the Hudson School. In 1953 it became necessary to give up the quarters in the School Building. Subsequent meetings were held in Lupton Lodge No. 119 Hall and also in Brighton Lodge No. 78. Later in 1953 the V. E. Grange Hall became available and after some remodeling, the Lodge held its first meeting here on December 2, 1953. This move was to be only temporary and after several votes were taken it was finally decided in January, 1959 to move the lodge to Keenesburg, where the old Hardware Building was purchased for a Lodge Hall.
On April 15, 1959, the first meeting was held in the new Keenesburg home and on March 16, 1960, the building was dedicated by Most Worshipful Grand Master Carlton Ray.
In 1951 the Lodge celebrated its 25th Anniversary with a banquet in the basement of the Keenesburg M. E. Church.
Due to drouth and hard times in the 1950's the dues of the brethren were remitted for two years.
There have been a total of 190 applications for membership since the beginning of the Lodge to August 30, 1960.
The records of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 give the membership of Hudson Lodge No. 168 as 79.
LAWRENCE N. GREENLEAF NO. 169,
A.F. & A.M. LODGE DENVER, COLORADO
On January 12, 1926, a meeting of Master Masons was called by Edd B. Willson for the purpose of forming a Masonic Club in Montclair. A committee was appointed to draw up bylaws for the Club.
The next meeting was held on the second Tuesday in February, 1926, and the following officers were elected: President, Edd B. Willson; Vice-President, Ernest S. Johnson; Secretary, Raymond F. Hammer; Treasurer, Noel G. D. Boissier. The bylaws for the club were adopted, fixing the dues at $2.00 a year for charter members; $3.00 for new members for the first year and $2.00 thereafter.
Regular meetings were held monthly at the Montclair Civic Building and social meetings were held during the winter. The membership of seven, who met the first night of the club, was increased to 33 by September, 1927.
It was voted to ask the Grand Lecturer of Masons in Colorado, Brother Charles L. Young, to meet with us and give a talk on the subject, "How to Form a Masonic Lodge". On November 21, 1927, the Grand Lecturer came and answered many questions relative to the forming of a Masonic Lodge and brought with him a petition for a dispensation for a new Lodge. Eleven of the Club members signed the petition that night. All the members were very enthusiastic about the proposed new Lodge and when the petition was closed on March 1, 1928, forty-two had signed it, twenty of whom were sojourners holding their membership in Lodges outside of Colorado.
On March 1, 1928, we presented a copy of our petition to the twenty-three lodges of Denver, who, after due consideration and investigation, recommended us unanimously.
On June 12, 1928, with the recommendations of the Lodges, we presented our petition, together with our dues cards and dimits, to the Grand Secretary, who checked them to see if everything was in order.
On June 13, 1928, Brothers Edd B. Willson and John Oelerich took the dispensation given them, already filled in with the exception of the Grand Master's signature, to the Most Worshipful Grand Master, John Andrew, at Longmont, Colorado, who granted us a dispensation until the thirty-first day of August, 1928.
Our charter was granted on September 18, 1928, and we were instituted a Lodge on October 2, 1928. The officers named in the charter were: Edd B. Willson, Worshipful Master; William B. Moore, Senior Warden; Raymond F. Hammer, Junior Warden; John Kyde, Treasurer; Stewart M. Heberling, Secretary.
Our first petition for the degrees of Masonry was received from James W. Richey on the second meeting in October, 1928.
We have had a slow but steady growth since we started and now own our Temple, free of debt, located at 4th and St. Paul Streets, Denver, Colorado.
Membership November 30,1900 372
LAKEWOOD LODGE NO. 170. A.F. & A.M.
In early 1945 because of a growing and flourishing community west of the city limits of Denver known as Lakewood, a group of Masons gathered together to discuss the needs of a Masonic Lodge. Meetings were held at homes, offices, schools until organization.
In April, 1946, Most Worshipful Brother Frank D. Allen, Grand Master of Masons of Colorado granted a dispensation to work. In the same month the first meeting U. D. was held over what was then the Jefferson County Bank at 7314 West Colfax. At this meeting the Grand Lodge Officers present were Right Worshipful Brother Grover C. Olinger, Right Worshipful Brother Tom Vardie, Right Worshipful Brother Harry W. Bundy, Worshipful Brother Edwin J. Wittelshoffer, and Worshipful Brother C. Wheeler Barnes. These Grand Lodge Officers participated in the installing of the new officers of Lakewood Lodge No. 170, A. F. & A. M., who were the following:
Wor. Brother Perry H. Elder, Master (Past Master of Idaho Springs No. 26); Genoa S. Zollinger, Senior Warden; Harry D. Duston, Junior Warden; Willis F. Kraemer, Treasurer; War. Brother Robert Bigham, Secretary (Past Master from Kansas) Fred J. Lebsack, Senior Deacon; Frank A. Dunn, Junior Deacon; Irwin A. Hunter, Senior Steward; George Rex Okel, Junior Steward.
There were 40 members and 102 visitors present at this first meeting. Friendship Court No.7, Order of the Amaranth (Lakewood), presented the new Lodge with its first aprons.
Mr. Stephan Kilian was the first candidate of Lakewood Lodge No. 170 and was obligated by Worshipful Brother William Proctor, Past Master of Edgewater. On September 24, 1946 Lakewood Lodge No. 170, A. F. & A. M., was consecrated and constituted. This proved to be quite an event because Lakewood No. 170 became the first Lodge to be formed in 18 years of Colorado Masonry.
Within the next few years talk of a new Temple became the topic of conversation in the newly formed Lodge. Brother Byron Kaufman -- Architect and member of Lakewood began the plans, Brother (Dr.) George Bailey donated the land at 1440 Independence Street and on November 26, 1949 , Worshipful Brother Fred Lebsack broke ground for the new Temple, and shortly thereafter the new Temple began to take form. June 20, 1950 under the leadership of Worshipful Brother John E. Jenkins the corner-stone of the Temple was laid by Most Worshipful Brother Edwin J. Wittelshofer -- Grand Master, and his Grand Lodge Officers.
On March 27, 1951 the first Lodge meeting was held in the unfinished basement of the new Temple. It proved a memorable night for all in attendance. Not only was Charles W. Duddleston the first candidate obligated by Worshipful Brother Ernest W. Hamilton, but during the evening eight inches of snow fell on the bare ground. As there was no pavement or blacktop, many members and visitors had a real rough night of it before getting home to a warm fire to thaw and dry out.
On July 31, Most Worshipful Brother C. Wheeler Barnes dedicated the new Temple. Brother Conrad Sikes, honorary member, presented the new Ashlars. The Ever Jolly Club was organized to raise money for different Temple projects, without credit to any individual. The first (annual) Antelope and Venison dinner was served, donated by Ernest W. Hamilton, Junior Warden, and Worshipful Brother Harry Duston. The first (annual) dinner dance program was established. The first Christmas Party was held, which has since become an annual event. Our annual Lodge picnic was also started.
On January 13, 1953, Worshipful Brother Loren Seyfer (affiliated) together with his two sons, Brother Loren, Jr. and Brother Bill, presented the Lodge with a beautiful Altar together with three candle holders and pedestals for the Master, Senior Warden and Junior Warden stations. This furniture has been the admiration of all members and visitors alike. Worshipful Brother Ernest W. Hamilton - 1954 Master _ was also responsible for the attainment of a voice recording machine on which all Lakewood Masters have recorded their voices and highlights of their year for our Lakewood Masonic History. These voices are heard together with a picture of the Master projected on a screen. The gift of the Lodge to Worshipful Brother Hamilton, a big beautiful blue Masonic Bible, was turned back as a gift to the Lodge. On it has been obligated every newly made Mason in Lakewood.
In 1954, Worshipful Brother Lowell Dunlap served as Master. This year we were presented with the large carpet by the members of the other bodies meeting in the Temple, primarily the Ever Jolly Club, Eastern Star Chapter No. 139, Friendship Court No.7, Order of the Amaranth, Jobs Daughters Bethel No.8 and Lakewood Chapter Order of DeMolay. The parking lot was also black topped this year.
On December 11, 1956, Worshipful Brother George Reisbeck was presented with the Warranty Deed from the Lakewood Temple Association, making Lakewood Lodge No. 170, the legal owner and holder of the property.
In 1957 under the leadership of Worshipful Brother Howard Wertz, the Temple Association purchased the land on the south of the Temple, 200 x 300 ft. bounded by 14th Avenue from Iris to Independence.
The 1960 Master, Worshipful Brother Jack Steacy was the first Master of a Lodge outside of the City of Denver to become President of the Masonic Officers Association of Metropolitan Area. This year marked the first time the Jefferson County District Lodges; Golden City No.1, Arvada No. 141, Edgewater No. 159 and Wheatridge No. 187 met together at Lakewood No. 170 to confer the Fellow Craft Degree on a candidate from each Lodge. This joint communication provided the spark to the area Lodges for an annual meeting, promoting much needed fraternal fellowship for the Masons in this area.
So, in 1961 with Worshipful Brother Gerald Vollmer as Master, the property on the south purchased in 1957 was sold (at a profit) making it possible to payoff the mortgage on the Temple, thus culminating the eventful first fifteen years of history of Lakewood Lodge No. 170, A. F. & A. M.
Membership November 30, 1960 489
JACQUES DEMOLAY LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 171,
On December 21, 1948, a dispensation was issued by Most Worshipful Grand Master Stuart Krebs to 33 Master Masons, most of whom were young men and former members of the Order of DeMolay. They felt the need of a Masonic Lodge where they might continue the companionship of former years.
After receiving the dispensation they started to work immediately holding 22 communications, receiving 18 petitions. They initiated, passed and raised all 18 petitioners before Grand Lodge in 1949. The Grand Lodge Committee on Charters and Dispensations, after inspecting the reports, bylaws and records of Jacques DeMolay U. D. recommended a charter be granted as Jacques DeMolay Lodge No. 171. A charter was granted by Most Worshipful Master Edwin J. Wittelshofer on September 14, 1949. The names of 43 brethren appeared thereon.
On September 26, 1949 a special session of the Grand Lodge was convened by Most Worshipful GrandMaster Edwin J. Wittelshofer for the purpose of constituting and installing the officers of Jacques DeMolay Lodge No. 171.
Membership as of November 30,1960 127
WILLIAM W. COOPER LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 172,
William W. Cooper Lodge No. 172 owes its beginning to the interest of four brethren in forming a new lodge. After giving the matter considerable publicity, the first preliminary meeting was held on January 19, 1949 at the home of Worshipful Brother T. Harold Toy. After several subsequent sessions, it was decided to form the William W. Cooper Lodge Club and request a dispensation to form a new Lodge.
The Club was to meet in the Washington Park Community Church, but later this was changed to South Gate Masonic Temple.
The petition for William W. Cooper Lodge, U. D. was granted on May 26, 1949 signed by Most Worshipful Grand Master S. Stuart Krebs and fifty-eight Master Masons with Brother Algot E. O. O. Olson as Worshipful Master.
The first regular communication of the Lodge U. D. was held June 3, 1949.
A request for a charter was made on August 5, 1949 and on September 30, 1949, William W. Cooper Lodge No. 172 was constituted by M. W. Grand Master Edwin J. Wittelshofer, with Brother Algot E. O. O. Olson as Worshipful Master. The charter was signed by 74 Master Masons.
The first stated communication was held October 7, 1949.
At the time the lodge was constituted, grateful appreciation was expressed by the family of Brother Cooper for naming the lodge after him and as a humble token of this recognition, they presented the brethren with a Bible for the Altar.
On March 19, 1958, the Lodge was honored with the presence of Brother O. Otto Moore, who gave an inspiring address.
On December 2, 1960, Most Worshipful Brother C. Wheeler Barnes installed the officers of the Lodge for the thirteenth consecutive time.
The record of the Grand Lodge as of November 30, 1960 gives the membership of William W. Cooper Lodge No. 172 as 209.
GRAND JUNCTION LODGE A.F. & A.M. NO. 173,
GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO
The formation of a new Masonic lodge is always news to a certain group of people. More newsworthy, perhaps, is when an informal meeting of Masons is presided over by the Worshipful Master of another lodge in the same town. Such was the case on November 3, 1950, when a group of Masons met to discuss the possibility of forming another lodge in Grand Junction and the presiding officer was the Master of Mesa Lodge No. 55.
Three months later, on February 2, 1951, a dispensation was granted by M. W. Bro. C. Wheeler Barnes. That the lodge flourished during the next few months is shown by the membership roll. When, on April 12, 1952, the Grand Lodge met to constitute the lodge, there were 92 charter members of whom 15 had been raised under the dispensation. M. W. Bro. Olin P. Lee officiated at the constitution of the lodge and all five of the Grand Lodge officers whose names appeared on the charter were present at that time. According to P.G.M. C. Wheeler Barnes, this was the first time in 20 years that such a thing had happened.
Also present that night was the first Master of Tinsin, China, Lodge, which operates under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
Events enjoyed annually include the Mother's Day church service and breakfast, a picnic, and a fellowship night with Joppa Lodge No. 26 of Price, Utah. Joint meetings with other lodges have heen held in the past.
On November 30, 1960 the membership totaled 232.
JOPPA LODGE NO. 174, A.F. & A.M.
The early history of Joppa Lodge is closely identified with the Bureau of Reclamation, U. S. Department of the Interior, at Denver. That Bureau has had engineering, technical, clerical and other professional employees from all parts of the United States and from some foreign countries.
It is only natural that when more than 400 Masons are at one time employed by one employer they should form a Masonic club, particularly when all are working in a fairly closely knit group. The Bureau Masons were originally known as the Reclamation Club, and later as the Reclamation Craft.
Finally, after many years of degree work by the club members, on May 10, 1950, an organizational meeting was held at 1614 Welton Street. Nearly a year later.. on April 13, 1951, M.W. Bro. C. Wheeler Barnes presented a dispensation to Joppa Lodge U. D. before a large crowd. A charter was granted on January 23, 1952.
Again P.G.M. C. Wheeler Barnes was present, acting as Grand Master in lieu of M.W. Bro. Olin P. Lee who was attending the Grand Masters' Conference in Washington, D. C. The lodge was duly constituted before a very large assemblage of Masons. There were 65 charter members.
The lodge has enthusiastically supported its St. John's Fund, its Blood Bank, it has a good start toward a Masonic library, and is proud of its Choral Society. Appearing on the trestleboard and on the letterheads is a drawing depicting three men accosting another at the port of Joppa, in Israel. This drawing was the work of one of the members of Joppa Lodge.
At the time of the charter, 89 percent of the members were employees of the U. S. Bureau of Reclamation, while in August, 1960, only 47 percent were so employed.
On November 30,1960 there were 134 members.
RANGELY LODGE NO. 175, A.F. & A.M.
The early organizational meetings in Rangely, aimed at forming a Masonic lodge, resulted in the assembling Masons into a High 12 Club. This club actually came into existence with its charter on April 26, 1947 and its members renewed their efforts to form a lodge. At that time Rangely was the only town in the state to have a High 12 Club but not a Masonic lodge.
In December, 1948 the club acquired the use of the second floor of what was known as the DeQuasie Building. The members started fixing up that floor for a lodge room and everything was progressing nicely until the morning of February 10, 1949 when the building burned to the ground.
On July 3, 1951, M.W. Bro. C. Wheeler Barnes presented the lodge with a dispensation, consummating five years of work on the part of many of the members. On January 23, 1952 a charter was granted to Rangely Lodge No. 175, at which time there were 42 members. The lodge was constituted on March 29, 1952 by M.W. Bro. Olin P. Lee.
A. J. "Jack" Bloomfield, District Lecturer, made over 100 trips from his home in Meeker to Rangely to help this lodge get started. Though handicapped by the loss of a leg so he needed other brethren to drive for him, he traveled over 12,000 miles to aid and assist the Rangely brethren.
The Rangely Temple Association was formed in 1949 and in the fall of 1952 the foundation for the temple was poured. Finally, on June 11, 1956 the first meeting of the lodge was held in the new temple.
The membership roll showed 78 members on November 30, 1960.
WESTMINSTER LODGE NO. 176, A.F. & A.M.
Master Masons residing in Westminster, a growing community on the northwest city limits of Denver, were desirous of forming a regular lodge in that location. Therefore a number of them petitioned the Grand Lodge of Colorado for a dispensation. Most Worshipful Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes issued a dispensation September 7, 1951 as Westminster Lodge U. D. During the 11 communications under dispensation, eleven petitions for the degrees were received, eleven were initiated and passed and five were raised to the degree of Master Mason.
At the Grand Lodge Session, in January, 1952, the lodge petitioned for a charter.
The Grand Lodge Committee on Charters and Dispensations, after study of the returns of the lodge recommended the granting of a charter as Westminster Lodge No. 176. Most Worshipful Grand Master C. Wheeler Barnes granted the charter as recommended on January 23, 1952. The charter contains the names of 35 brethren with Brothers Lewis W. Gilley as Worshipful Master, Elmer K. Hoover, Senior Warden and Orville F. McNatt, Junior Warden.
Membership as of November 30,1960 189
CHARLES L. YOUNG LODGE NO. 177, A.F. & A.M.
DOVE CREEK, COLORADO
In 1949 a number of Master Masons residing in the Dove Creek area formed the Acacia Club for the purpose of meeting in Masonic fellowship. Meetings were held in the Civic Club and officers according to Craft Lodge procedure were elected.
As attendance and interest at these meetings grew, the idea of forming a lodge in Dove Creek gained momentum. A great inspiration and ever available help in evolving the idea and plan for such a lodge came from our late brother Charles L. Young, who for 29 years was Grand Lecturer of the Grand Lodge of Colorado.
The first regular communication of the lodge under dispensation was held on October 22,1951. On January 23,1952 the charter was granted.
The lodge was constituted by M.W. Bro. Olin P. Lee on March 8, 1952 when there were 153 Masons present, of whom 26 were members of Charles L. Young Lodge. M.W. Bro. Lee also installed the officers of the lodge.
A picture of the late Grand Lecturer was presented to the lodge by M. W. Harry W. Bundy on behalf of P.G.M. Frank D. Allen. Many other fine and useful gifts were received, among which was a Holy Bible presented on behalf of Mrs. Charles L. Young and daughters.
On July 14, 1952 a Temple Board was estabbhed to investigate possibilities and expedite fulfillment of the plan to acquire a temple. The success of the Board's efforts is shown by the fact that the first meeting in the new temple was held on May 11, 1953. M.W. Bro. Hubert Glover dedicated this temple on July 13, 1953. Since that time there has been steady progress in the improvement and beautification of the property.
The lodge showed a membership of 52 on November 30, 1960.
MALTA LODGE NO. 178, A.F. & A.M.
At a Grand Lodge communication, February 6, 1952 in the Masonic Temple, 16th and Welton, Most Worshipful Brother Olin P. Lee presented a dispensation to 47 brethren to open and form a lodge of Master Masons to be called Malta Lodge U. D. with M. James O'Reilly, Worshipful Master; Gifford Sorensen, Senior Warden; and Andy V. Lindblom, Junior Warden. Eight petitions were read for membership and referred to committees. The Lodge received many gifts, among them a large Masonic Bible 75 years old, which had been given to Brother Le Fever the Treasurer by a Masonic Friend. The jewels and square and compass were cast by one of the brethren, Albert J. Turner. He also made the staffs. The columns were made by Jack H. Morrison, Jr. and gavels by Brother Foster.
The Committee on Charters and Dispensations reported favorably on finding the Lodge had held 26 communications, initiated 19, passed 14 and raised 14 to the sublime degree of a Master Mason.
The Lodge was duly chartered Malta Lodge No. 178 with Brothers Michael James O'Reilly, Worshipful Master, Gifford Sam Sorenson, Senior Warden and Murray Chenoweth Snively, Junior Warden. The Charter was granted at .the Grand Lodge Sessions in January, 1953 but the Lodge was not constituted until March 18, 1953 by Most Worshipful Hubert Glover, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado. Membership November 30, 1960 122
EVERGREEN LODGE NO. 179, A.F. & A.M.
On the evening of November 29, 1947, a group of Master Masons from in and about Evergreen gathered informally with the express purpose in mind of forming some sort of Masonic club for the present, but with the long time purpose in mind of the eventual establishment of a lodge in Evergreen to serve Masonic interests in this area. The club was active in charitable and social events for several years.
On October 6, 1953, M.W. Bro. Hubert Glover presented the dispensation to the lodge, giving 39 Masons the right to form the lodge. Officers were installed at this meeting.
On March 20, 1954, M.W. Bro. Glover constituted the lodge in due and ancient form, with 204 Masons in attendance. Past Grand Masters Glover, C. Wheeler Barnes and Donald W. Shaw were later made honorary members of the lodge.
An unusual event occurred April 16, 1957 when a brother was raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason by his son.
On November 30,1960 the lodge membership was 102.
REVELATION LODGE NO. 180, A.F. & A.M.
On September 9,1953 a group of nine men met at the home of one of the number to discuss the possibility of forming a Masonic lodge. In the course of the evening it was moved that". . . this group be formed to establish a Masonic Lodge in the State of Colorado to be known as the Sojourner's Lodge, using whatever number may be assigned by the Grand Lodge of Colorado."
There followed nearly a year of work until August 31, 1954 when the Grand Lodge met in session to present a dispensation. D.G.M. Charles A. Mantz presided in the unavoidable absence of M.W. Bro. Donald W. Shaw. James R. Hoffmann, the host at the September 9, 1953 meeting, was installed as Worshipful Master of Revelation Lodge, U. D.
To the 25 original members of the lodge were added 12 new members raised under dispensation. These 37 signed the petition for a charter which was granted on January 26, 1955.
The lodge was duly constituted by M.W. Bro. Charles A. Mantz on February 1,1955. More than 150 Masons were present at this meeting.
On May 31, 1955, P.G.M. Grover C. Olinger had the pleasure and honor of initiating his grandson, Richard S. Olinger, in Revelation Lodge. The raising of Bro. Olinger (who had been in the Navy) took place on the first Past Masters' Night, June 24, 1958, at which time P.G.M. Olinger was again in the East.
During 1955 the lodge began a program of Masonic education and started its Blood Bank. The Benevolent Foundation Fund was established on October 27, 1959.
Bro. Avery T. Smith, Treasurer elected in December, 1955, passed away in May, 1959. The first Worshipful Master, James R. Hoffman, a Past Grand Commander of Knights Templar of Colorado, died in March, 1960. In his memory, Mrs. Hoffman presented a set of officers jewels and collars for the funeral kit to the lodge. A 50-star flag was also received from Mrs. E. W. Bornmueller in memory of her late husband.
April 25th, 1961 W. Bro. Orville C. McGrath submitted a resolution to change the meeting place to the Aurora Masonic Temple. Favorable action by the lodge was approved by M. W. Bro. Leon H. Snyder. The first gathering in the new quarters was August 2, 1961 in joint communication with Aurora No. 156 to celebrate the centennial of the organization of the Grand Lodge of Colorado.
Membership November 30, 1960 84
HIGH COUNTRY LODGE NO. 181, A.F. & A.M.
In the spring of 1957 a group of Master Masons from the area of Grand Lake, Granby, Fraser, Hideaway Park and Winter Park met at the American Legion Hall in Granby for the purpose of discussing the feasibility of forming a Masonic lodge in Granby. Present at this meeting was M.W. Bro. D. Aubrey Spann.
As a result of the meeting it was decided to form a Masonic study group and hold further meetings for the purpose of petitioning the Grand Lodge for a dispensation. The name of the lodge was selected with the idea that it should be appropriate to the area served by the lodge.
On October 25, 1957, M.W. Bro. Spann presented the dispensation to the lodge. The furniture of the lodge then consisted of various makeshift items, including a gavel and candle holders cut from the same pine tree, the letter G and the square and compasses being made from aluminum, and the staffs of the Stewards and Deacons being brooms and hoes.
For a time the lodge met in the warehouse of Mountain Parks Electric Company. A suitable building was finally located and the first meeting in the new hall was held on February 3, 1958.
On February 20, 1959, P.G.M. Spann constituted the lodge and installed the officers.
High Country Lodge cooperated with Starlight Chapter OES in forming Faith Assembly, Order of the Rainbow for Girls.
On November 30, 1960 there were 68 members of the lodge.
MIRACLE LODGE NO. 182, A.F. & A.M.
The Thornton Masonic club was formed at a meeting in April, 1958, attended by approximately 60 Masons. These men had met with the definite plan to form a lodge to keep Masonry at a pace with the expansion of Colorado.
Formal and informal practice sessions were held throughout the summer, resulting in a petition for dispensation being prepared. The dispensation was granted and presented in person by M.W. Bro. Glenn B. Van Fleet on October 31, 1958.
A charter was granted on January 28, 1959 and the lodge duly constituted on February 5, 1959 by M.W. Bro. Clifford J. Gobble, at Arvada Temple, Arvada, Colorado. There were 29 charter members, while on November 30, 1960 there were 56 members.
ESTES PARK LODGE NO. 183, A.F. & A.M.
ESTES PARK, COLORADO
On October 20, 1958, Most Worshipful Brother Glenn B. Van Fleet issued a dispensation to 80 Master Masons to form a Lodge in Estes Park, Colorado to be called Estes Park Lodge U. D. with Brothers Elbert Merritt Shideler, Worshipful Master; Cole Charles Tremmel, Senior Warden; and Rollon Sutter, Junior Warden. The Grand Master paid especial tribute to Wm. J. Finlay and Robert R. Morrison for their untiring efforts in starting this Lodge.
Upon examining the records of Estes Park Lodge the Committee on Charters and Dispensations recommended that a charter be granted and Estes Park Lodge No. 183 be constituted. Grand Master Gobble convened a special communication of the Grand Lodge at Estes Park on February 2, 1959 for the purpose of constituting Estes Park Lodge No. 183 and installing Brothers Elbert Merritt Shideler, Worshipful Master; Cole Charles Tremmel, Senior Warden and Rollon Sutter, Junior Warden. Brother Lloyd Hagen of Collins Lodge No. 19 made the presentation of the altar, pedestals, kneeling pad and candlesticks all of which had been hand wrought by members of No. 19. District Lecturer Brother Morrison made 51 trips to Estes Park to help establish this Lodge.
Membership November 30, 1960 94
MOSAIC LODGE NO. 184, A.F. & A.M.
Mosaic Lodge had its beginning April 17, 1958, when 40 Masons met in the Broomfield Methodist Church for the purpose. of forming a Masonic club. At a meeting held on June 18, 1958, the name of Centennial Masonic Ciub was adopted. About four months later, 36 members of the club petitioned for a dispensation, naming Victor Collins, Past Master of South Denver No. 93 as W.M.; Leslie L. Cottrell, S.W.; and Walter S. Gibbs, J.W.
At a meeting held May 18, 1959, M.W.G.M. Clifford J. Gobble presented the dispensation authorizing Centennial Lodge U. D. During the dispensation period of Centennial Lodge the officers established what is said to have been recognized by the Grand Lodge as a level of proficiency never previously exceeded by any lodge in the Colorado jurisdiction.
On January 6, 1959 a petition for a charter under the name of Mosaic Lodge was made. The name Mosaic was recommended by W. Bro. Collins and approved by the members of the lodge to replace the name of Centennial.
The lodge was constituted February 5, 1960, and the officers were installed by M.W. Bro. Carlton M. Ray with Leslie L. Cottrell as first Worshipful Master, Walter S. Gibbs, Senior Warden, and George W.Brooke, Junior Warden. The lodge had 36 charter members and 44 members on November 30, 1960.
Mosaic Lodge has taken a very active part in the observance of Public Schools Week by awarding prizes to students for outstanding posters commemorating this event, and encouraging the adult members of Broomfield to participate in this observance.
FRIENDSHIP LODGE NO. 185, A.F. & A.M.
Although many realized the need for a new lodge in rapidly expanding Southwest Denver, no action was taken until 1958 when the Southwest Masonic Club was formed November 24th at the home of Bro. Charles Tecklenburg of Berkeley Lodge No. 134.
Brother Tecklenburg and Brother G. F. Bateman of Lawrence N. Greenleaf Lodge No. 169, who had been obtaining information about the steps necessary to start a new lodge, were assisted by M. W. Bro. Harry W. Bundy, Grand Secretary, in explaining the procedures.
Interest mounted rapidly so that seventy-five Masons attended a meeting January 7th, 1959 in the social hall of the Brentwood Methodist church. R. W. Bro. Albert E. Jameson, Grand Lecturer, presided temporarily.
Officers elected were: President: Bert O. Musser, P.M., Western Star No. 174, Smith Center, Kans.; Senior Vice President: James R. Watson, P.M., College View No. 320, Lincoln, Nebr.; Junior Vice President: Charles Tecklenburg; SecretaryTreasurer: G. F. Bateman.
The name "Friendship" was chosen for the proposed lodge. M. W. Bro. Barnes complimented the group on the selection as Lord Nelson, famed British admiral, had been Master of Friendship Lodge No. 100 of England and later had called his flagship "Friendship".
Later the Brentwood Grange Hall, 1120 South Irving Street, was selected as the temporary meeting place.
Brother Tecklenburg presented the club with a Masonic Bible April 15, 1959 to start the acquisition of lodge equipment. His resignation as an officer, for personal and business reasons, was accepted with regret. Succeeding him was Robert Reynolds, P.M., Boaz Lodge No. 669, Toledo, Ohio.
Many brothers and lodges contributed lodge furniture and paraphernalia. Englewood No. 166 donated fine officers' chairs; Miracle No. 182 of Thornton, the altar, candle holders, and projector they had received from Arvada No. 141 to help Miracle get started.
Columns were built by Ralph materials contributed by Joe Karl. and a set of candle holders.
There were forty-four signers to the prayer for dispensation which was granted and delivered by M. W. Bro. Clifford Gobble September 14,1959.
Officers named were W. Bro. Musser, Worshipful Master; W. Bro. Watson, Senior Warden; W. Bro. Reynolds, Junior Warden; Clair Sherman, Sutherland No. 299, Sutherland, Nebr., Treasurer; Bro. Bateman, Secretary; Robert Joseph, Alamosa No. 44, Senior Deacon; John Henry, Berkeley No. 134, Junior Deacon; Ralph Waldron, Jr., Laramie No.3, Laramie, Wyo., Senior Steward; Burnas Kissell, Atwood No. 164, Atwood, Kans., Junior Steward; Donald Wheat, Walter Frensh No. 557, Lansing, Mich., Tiler.
Seven brothers were raised to the Sublime Degree while the lodge was under dispensation.
The charter was granted by the Grand Lodge on January 26, 1960 and delivered by M. W. Bro. Carlton M. Ray February 2, 1960. The presentation was made in spacious Englewood lodge room so the crowd of 160 could be accommodated.
Officers under charter were the same as under dispensation except Ken L. Evers became Chaplain; Bro. Wheat, Marshal, and Carl McAnally, Tiler.
CHERRY POINT LODGE NO. 186, A.F. & A.M.
The history of Cherry Point Lodge begins with a meeting held in September, 1958, at which time an impromptu talk about the possibility of organizing a Masonic club for the express purpose of applying for a dispensation to create a new Masonic lodge was had. At this meeting was Cecil E. Ransom, later the first Worshipful Master of the lodge. A later meeting with Albert E. Jameson, Grand Lecturer of the Grand Lodge of Colorado, strengthened the proposed endeavor.
On February 25, 1959, 15 Masons met to form Cherry Point Masonic Club. On September 28, 1959 at the Lawrence N. Greenleaf Lodge Hall, M.W. Bro. Clifford J. Gobble presented the dispensation to the lodge and installed the officers. There were 36 members and 119 visitors present at this meeting.
On February 3, 1960, M.W. Bro. Carlton M. Ray constituted the lodge and installed the officers. At this time there were present 34 members and 102 visitors.
The charter shows 47 members and this number had increased to 73 on November 30, 1960.
WHEAT RIDGE LODGE NO. 187, A.F. & A.M.
WHEAT RIDGE, COLORADO
On Thursday evening, August 13, 1959, a meeting was held of the Wheatridge Masonic Club to plan for a new Lodge. The last day for signing the dispensation was set for August 26, 1959. This Club had been meeting since spring and was now formally asking for a dispensation. Brother W. C. Leonard was the President of this Club.
Dispensation was issued to open and form a Lodge to be known as Wheat Ridge Lodge U. D. on September 29, 1959 by Most Worshipful Brother Clifford M. Gobble with Brothers William Orville Kingston, Worshipful Master, George Louis Behen, Senior Warden and Kenneth Case Gray, Junior Warden. There were 41 names of Master Masons on the dispensation. The Lodge formally received the dispensation on October 8, 1959.
The Committee on Charters recommended that Wheatridge Lodge U. D. be given its charter since they had held regular meetings, the by-laws were approved and other requirements had been met.
On Saturday, February 13, 1960, Wheat Ridge Lodge No. 187 was chartered by Most Worshipful Brother Carlton M. Ray, Grand Master of Masons in Colorado at the Arvada Masonic Temple. The following officers were installed: K. S. Gray, Worshipful Master; W. C. Leonard, Senior Warden; H. L. Hamil, Junior Warden; L. C. Lewan, Treasurer; and O. C. Milburn, Secretary.
Present membership 90
CENTURY LODGE U.D., A.F. & A.M.
Century Lodge Under Dispensation, the second lodge in Greeley, was so named because its dispensation was signed by Grand Master Leon H. Snyder on August 2nd, 1961, just a century to the day after the Grand Lodge was organized.
Worshipful Master was James A. Collins, a Past Master of Eagle No. 43 and recently a member of Occidental No. 20 in Greeley. Senior Warden was David Webber from Lupton No. 19 , Junior Warden Calvin Eugene Staley of Great Light Lodge No. 1064, Decatur, Illinois. All of the petitioners except W. Bro. Collins were Masons living in Greeley but holding their membership elsewhere. Masters and Past Masters from other Weld County lodges occupied stations and places not filled by the regular occupants when Grand Lodge was convened August 4th for the dispensation exercises.
Two petitions were tendered at the first communication. On August 10, 1961, the third degree was conferred on two candidates from Occidental Lodge No. 20, the sponsoring lodge, to demonstrate the qualifications of the new officers.
Research Lodge of Colorado
The Research Lodge of Colorado developed from persistent recommendations of Grand Secretary Harry W. Bundy to the Grand Lodge.
In 1950 he reported: "Regular Lodges are devoting their entire time in most instances to the conferring of degrees. . . . Numerical strength is needed, but intellectual strength even more so. . . . It will be necessary to go elsewhere than to the Lodge of initiation for an explanation of what we have glibly promised to support and attempt to do. We need another type of meeting place where the history of the Order may be reviewed and its developments logically traced. . . . Ritual, legend, and liturgy must be clarified, and their use justified in binding men to the fraternity. The degree Lodges must be relieved of the 'all-work' program which makes for dullness."
The Research Lodge movement was supportcd wholeheartedly by the Masonic Education committee and was chartered by the Grand Lodge in 1953 "to promote, encourage, and foster Masonic research and study for the purpose of spreading Masonic light and knowledge."
There are four classes of membership: active-limited to Master Masons of Colorado jurisdiction; associate-for Master Masons of other grand jurisdictions; corresponding-available to Lodges, Masonic bodies, clubs, libraries, etc.; and honorary.
Stated communications are held quarterly in Denver, though specials on invitation have been held in Fort Collins, Kremmling, Colorado Springs, La Junta, Pueblo, and Greeley. Travel to outstate meetings is by chartered bus-generally at Lodge expense.
The January meeting is held the evening after the close of the annual Grand Lodge session so brethren from a distance may participate. A tradition has started that the new Grand Master visits Research Lodge that evening and as his first official act outside of Grand Lodge, installs the officers of Research Lodge.
Usually two or three illuminating papers are read at each communication. They have covered a wide variety of Masonic subjects. All suitable papers are printed and distributed to the entire membership. Many have been repeated throughout the jurisdiction by members other than the authors.
The officers have been studious and well-versed members of the craft from all over the state. They include Past Grand Masters, Past Illustrious Grand Masters, Past Grand High Priests, members of the Masonic Education committee, etc.
Membership in the Lodge is welcomed. Dues are nominal. Currently each new member is receiving copies of all papers presented up to the present.
MEMORIAL LODGE NO. 1, A.F. & A.M.
The need for better Masonic Burial Services for sojourning Masons prompted the suggestion to the newly formed Fraternal Relations Committee of the Denver Masonic Officers Association, that they formulate some plan whereby a Lodge could be formed for the sole purpose of courtesy services for Lodges outside the area. The committee gathered information from other Jurisdictions to serve as background then met with the people most likely to be concerned with the formation and workings of such a Lodge. The result of this work was presented to the Masonic Service Association and the Masonic Officers Association for their approval and support and happily met with both. The necessary amendments to the Rook of Constitutions were formulated and filed with the Grand Secretary for presentation at the Grand Lodge session in January, 1961. The Bylaws of the Lodge were written and a campaign for membership was begun. A meeting of the members was held in December, 1960, and Officers were elected to represent the petitioning group. The Officers elected were Alan E. Hatfield, P.M. (Harmony No. 61), Worshipful Master; Raymond G. Schaeffler, P.M. (South Gate No. 138), Senior Warden; J. B. Steacy, P.M. (Lakewood No. 170), Junior Warden; Robert C. Reynolds, P.M. (Friendship No. 185), Treasurer; Edward G. Neumann, P.M. (South Gate No. 138).
The petition for Charter was granted on January 25, 1961 when the Grand Lodge vote was found entirely favorable. The amendment which was necessary to make membership in this Lodge possible in addition to membership in a regular Lodge was also passed. The Grand Jurisdiction of Colorado proceeded to present the Charter with the longest list of Charter Signers in the history of Colorado Masonry the number being 170. The Charter was presented and the Officers installed at a Special Communication of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Colorado on Saturday March 18, 1961 at Harmony Temple in Denver. Right Worshipful Bro. Clarence L. Bartholic represented the Grand Master on this occasion clue to a death in the family of the Grand Master. An organizational meeting was held on March 31, 1961 at Lakewood Temple and the assignment of duties being made it was announced that all Courtesy funeral services would be taken over by Memorial Lodge No. 1.
The first service was requested on Tuesday, April 11, 1961 and was accompanied by request number two on the same day. The first service being at 1:45 P.M. at Fort Logan National Cemetery and the second being at 3:45 P.M. at Fairmount Cemetery. On a more recent occasion two funerals were conducted at the same hour in the same cemetery. The formation of this Lodge has resulted in more than doubled attendance at courtesy funerals and awakening of interest throughout the jurisdiction it serves.
Memorial Lodge No. 1 of Denver is unique in that it does not confer Masonic work other than the funeral service.
1961 0UR CENTENNIAL YEAR
The Centennial of organized Masonry in Colorado is being celebrated in three phases - historical reviews in the Lodges by Grand Master Leon H. Snyder, simultaneous communications of all Lodges on August 2nd, the actual anniversary, and a Grand Lodge Commemorative observance on September 16th and 17th.
The Grand Lodge is fortunate to have a patron of historical projects as Grand Master during its Centennial year. M. W. Bro. Snyder was largely responsible for the simulated "Lodge Room Over Simpkins Store" in South Park City near Fairplay. He visited all four of the historical Masonic monuments during the summer months. His itinerary of official visits included every Lodge in the state. At each he has related some of the history of the community and has touched upon the founding and development of the host Lodge.
The simultaneous communications of all Lodges in their own halls at 7: 30 p.m. Wednesday, August 2nd, emphasized the importance of Masonry to each member and to each constituent Lodge.
A specified program, including prayers written by Grand Chaplain Eric Smith and an Appreciation of Masonry by Grand Lecturer Albert E. Jameson, started the meetings. This was followed by local festivities of diverse nature.
An historical booklet and commemorative pocket piece were presented each Mason in attendance. Incomplete returns show 9000 were present.
Honored guests at the Special Communication of the Grand Lodge on September 16th in Denver will include a member designated by each constituent Lodge as well as Grand Masters and Secretaries of other Grand Jurisdictions. An historical tableau of 16 scenes will be presentcd by a cast of over 200 characters. Copies of this book will be presented those present.
On Sunday, September 17th, guests will be taken on a tour to the site of Gold Hill No.3 near Boulder and then through the Cradle of Colorado Masonry in Gilpin County. The final event will be a western barbecue at the site of Golden City Lodge No.1 where the Grand Lodge came into being a century ago.
How poor the speech, how scant the phrases seem
With which to clothe the Craft of ancient time
To tell in words, or line, in story clear
The Plan that Judah's mighty king inspired.
BRO. J. V. SKIFF
Grand Lodge of Colorado A.F. & A.M.
1130 Panorama Drive,
Colorado Springs, Colorado. 80904
Main Telephone Number:
Fax Number: (719) 484-8993
January 22, 23 and 24, 2015